BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Home to Big Stone Gap

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2007

    Wonderful book to sit by the fireplace!

    I thought the book was outstanding. The characters are very real and the small town is charming. So often life has a way of throwing you curve balls and this one tells you how deal with it in a ever so charming way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Home to Big Stone Gap by Adriana Trigiani is the final novel in

    Home to Big Stone Gap by Adriana Trigiani is the final novel in the Big Stone Gap Series. For me this was an introduction to some great characters. I certainly hope that you will enjoy them too!
    Synopsis:
    Ave Maria has recently returned from Italy and her daughter’s wedding. How will life continue now that the nest is empty? Memories resurface about her son Joe who died of Leukemia. All of sudden she receives a call from her husband’s work stating he has had a heart attack. Ave Maria rushes to the hospital and finds this list or a bucket list her husband has written. Can she let him know that she has found it? Ave Maria suddenly finds herself with obligations to the town theater and as well as her friends. What surprises are in store for both Ave Maria and Jack?
    My Thoughts:
    This is my second Adriana Trigiani novel. I very much enjoyed it. I listened to this novel. I thought the narration was excellent. It left me with feeling quite contented. I feel that this is what truly makes a novel great!
    The only major negative for me is that this novel is the last in the series. I knew more of the story then I would have liked to because the previous novels were mentioned. I still very much enjoyed the story.
    The characters were well developed. Ave Maria has grown over the previous novels to include her current doubts and fears. The author in the plot uses a major incident with Jack to change her. Jack is the calming force behind the gusto of Ave Maria. Then there is the rest of the town that adds great color to the story. by Jencey Gortney/Writer's Corner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Highly recommended!!

    This book in the Big Stone Gap series is just as superb as the other three. Excellent story by a super author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Home to big stone gap

    Boring read nothing to hold my interest just a bad retelling of the original .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2013

    Loved this series! Thrilled that the author allowed the characte

    Loved this series! Thrilled that the author allowed the characters to continue on through their lives and telling us their story. Sometimes it got a bit much reading the "reminders" of what happened in the previous books, but then again I read them straight through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    totally awesome series

    I have read all the big stone gap stories and have fallen in love with all the characters. These books also inspired me to visit big stone gap and attend the trail of the lonesome pine outdoor drama. I got to talk to some of the towns people and find out a little about Adriana. I recommed this book and that you go to visit big stone gap.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2007

    Dissapointing

    This story turned out to be extremely week, mediocre story, no depth, a waste of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2007

    Loved it!

    I was so sad to get to the last page. I'm already looking forward to the next book from this talented writer....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    Massively Disappointed Fan

    Love the series, hated this book. It was as though the author forgot how the last book ended. I felt the plot was totally from left field, petty, small minded, and judgemental. This book did not leave me with the warm, happy feelings the others did. I would not recommend this to anyone other than to read it to form your own thoughts. TRULY disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    BRAVO!

    What a nice visit with our friends and neighbors in Big Stone Gap! I have missed them. If you are new to the neighborhood you might want to read BIG STONE GAP first but I do think you would enjoy them if you started with this one. The author has done a great job of filling in the blanks as you read all the new adventures of these lovable old friends while not giving up too much of the first three books. It is a winner! I am already looking forward to the next one from my favorite author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    Wonderful to visit!!

    It's wonderful to have another visit at the Big Stone Gap. I have enjoyed all of this author's books (minus Roccoco) and didn't think there would be another sequel in this series. It was a real bonus to just pick up the book and immediately feel immersed into the life of Ave Maria and co. You feel like a part of the story because you know everybody so well. The cast of characters remains interesting even after this fourth installment. Will there be more? I hope so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2006

    Professional Reviewer???

    Apparently the Kirkus reviewer has a bone to pick with Trigiani or he/she is merely a bitter person. Review to your heart's content but leave out the venom - mediocre dross? Ave Maria - self-absorbed? I saw her as a concerned, loving wife, mother and friend. Meddling? If you saw her as meddling I saw her as interested, caring and helpful. Scotland given 'short shrift'? Just how many chapters would you have liked? Ave Maria's and Jack's trip to Scotland was greatly detailed, i.e. points of interest, scenery, customs, culture, food, etc. 'So many men swooning over her' - Just who are the 'many men'? Pete Rutledge and of course, her husband but they don't count as 'many'. Your review really makes me wonder about your ability.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2006

    Avid Fan, Disappointing Read!

    I have read all of Adriana Trigiani's books and I have loved all of them, with the exception of her last two... I was very disappointed in Home to Big Stone Gap. Ava Marie spent more time self-loathing herself and the decisions she has made in her life that we never got to re-visit some of our old, favorite characters. I never felt like the book come together and I was never able to get into it. I hope she has a reunion book with a better outcome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2006

    Home again for Adriana!

    After Rocco, I was disappointed but with Home to Stone Gap, she has once again captured me. I bought it and read it in one day. I could not put it down! I want to hear more of the family and she has left us with many openings to continue with Ave Marie and her family!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2