Customer Reviews for

Home to Harmony

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2003

    comfort food for your mind

    What a wonderful book. If you love to watch the Andy Griffith show, if you love comfort food, or anything that gives you that warm feeling that you get around good friends and family, this is a must read. It just makes you feel good, as do many of Philip Gulley's books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    True to the word

    My father was a Methodist minister, mostly in small towns. This book brought back a rush of memories of both small town living and church life. Just like the settings, Gulley's 'Harmony' books are filled with humor and warmth. I regularly found myself calling my siblings to read aloud a portion of the book because Gulley had so perfectly captured a person or a moment exactly like those with which we had grown up. Gulley's easy-reading writing style adds to the intimate feeling you have with the characters, especially Pastor Sam. And the gentle way Gulley lays in his faith and common sense messages is comfortable and unthreatening, even for those not looking for a lesson. I'm sure cityfolk who understand that their community is like a small town will appreciate the down home flavor of the book. People are people. However, I'm not certain the unchurched would find the book very appealing. That, of course, leaves them two options. Get to church and get to know Gulley's people. Or, miss some really enjoyable reading.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2004

    one of my all-time favorites

    This book leaves you smiling, laughing out loud, and pondering what ministers actully have to put up with in our churches. It is a real 'feel good' book that left me loving visiting Harmony.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Kitchen

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    It will make you smile.

    This, as all the books in Gulley's Harmony Series, contains subtle, delightful messages about the human condition. Broad appeal! I have given it as gifts or loaned my copy to a diverse group of people, and all want to read more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2004

    Wonderful audiobook!!

    I rented the audiobook from the library and listened to it in the car while on a trip with my cousin. It was wonderful, we are from a small Iowa town, and wish our pastors had been so wise. This is priceless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2003

    What a great book

    I enjoyed this book so much, at times funny, touching and full of good, biblical truths this book is a breath of fresh air in today's hectic world. I only wish that I could live in Harmony, although I could do without Dale Hinshaw, I know his double!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2014

    Harmony- I've been there!

    This is the best book I've read in a long time. It's so easy to get into. It is funny, as the other reviews say. But it's so real. We used to live in a small town 30 years ago and as I read, I can put a name or a place from that town on every chapter I read. I'm only half way thru the book and can't put it down. Worth every penny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Rirrioka

    Struggles

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Z

    Gets up off her anduts his pants back on and befire he leaves her says "enjoy the kids"

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    Laugh out loud funny and a book I couldn't put down. It's on my

    Laugh out loud funny and a book I couldn't put down. It's on my "best books" list.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Loved it!

    Reminds me of places and parts of my childhood insightful and funny touches the heart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2002

    Loved It!!!!

    A joy to read! Gave me many laughs, and thought provoking at the same time. I have read 2 of Philip Gulley's books, and bought 2 more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2002

    What A Wonderful Book!

    I think I just finished a new 'all-time favorite'. This book will make you forget your problems and count your blessings. Mr. Gulley has a wonderful way with telling a story. You will laugh; you may cry. I guarantee you will have a lot to think about after this one. Please come to Harmony and spend some time there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2002

    Terrific book

    I read this book and the other (Just Shy of Harmony) and thoroughly enjoyed both of them. They were very much like the Jan Karon 'Mitford' series. I certainly hope that the author continues this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2000

    Sam Gardner is a true Joy!!

    This is a fabulously funny, warm and wonderful audio tape. My husband and I couldn't wait to get back in the car to listen. It will restore your faith in the basics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1