Customer Reviews for

Home to Holly Springs (Father Tim Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Reconciling ones past with the present

This is a wonderful addition to the Father Tim stories! We get to see the events that made Father Tim the man he is. We also have the opportunity to see that negative events in our lives can lead to good instead of being used as excuses for failure and lack of ambition....
This is a wonderful addition to the Father Tim stories! We get to see the events that made Father Tim the man he is. We also have the opportunity to see that negative events in our lives can lead to good instead of being used as excuses for failure and lack of ambition.

posted by 363129 on May 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Father Tim's next challenge

I opened "Home to Holly Springs" with such anticipation! I finally had Jan Karon's new book, it was a cold and rainy Sunday afternoon, I was in heaven. As I read, turning each page eagerly, I kept saying to myself, "Something exciting will happen soon, the next chapte...
I opened "Home to Holly Springs" with such anticipation! I finally had Jan Karon's new book, it was a cold and rainy Sunday afternoon, I was in heaven. As I read, turning each page eagerly, I kept saying to myself, "Something exciting will happen soon, the next chapter will be more exciting." I was expecting this book to be like the Mitford books, but those familiar characters were not appearing. The new characters were not as likeable, and I didn't care too much about them. I tried to like them, but I found them a bit tiring. Two major characters with the same name! Who was who? Jan Karon, why? I struggled with the book, determined to finish it. Finally, Cynthia showed up and things began moving along! I was not surprised with the final "secret"; nor was I surprised with Father Tim's decision. Of course, he would! I do look forward to more Father Tim books. I just hope they will be more fun to read!

posted by yellowroseBCD on May 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 128 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Great book!

    A mysterious two word note sends Father Tim back to his home town after many years. He finds old friends and solves a mystery from his past, and learns more about himself. This is a great addition to Jan Karon's world!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    Very Disappointing

    After such a great series -- I read and enjoyed them all -- this book was a huge disappointment. Jan Karon should have left Father Tim in Mitford!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Nice, entertaining book.

    A very easy read and quite an interesting story. Language was decent
    and not embarrassed to be seen reading this. Had actually ordered
    "In the Company of Others" after seeing a review in a magazine and
    when I realized it was #2 of a series I got this to be sure it was
    read first. Then read the second and am now looking forward to
    others. Usually read bios and history so these are a light
    relief in between heavier subjects.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    *yawn*

    This was the first Jan Karon book I have read. I had heard that her books were a bit more captivating. Everything was predictable and it made for a long read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    Didn't Enjoy

    I liked the Mitford books much better. This book kept switching around and was difficult to figure out who was talking and what was going on. Two of the characters even had the same name. It was just too confusing. It just didn't hold my interest. I finally gave up on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If you liked the Mitford series you'll like this too!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted May 2, 2011

    Wow!

    I loved this book. If everyone could behave like Father Tim and Henry Winchester, the world would be a much better place. I am eagerly awaiting more in the future regarding their relationship as it develops.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Okay...

    I read the Mitford series because they remind me of my grandmother and the time I spent with her in the small town in which she lived. This book was a little too much for me. It seemed a little preachy about white/black relationships - like the author was trying to convince us that African Americans are people, too. Do people still need that lesson?? At the same time, there were some "concerns" by Father Tim that seemed VERY out of date.

    It was nice to hear from Father Tim again, but the book was unrealistic and everything wrapped up a little too perfectly in the end. Also, this book seemed more "religious" than the other books. I appreciate that the author is not afraid to talk about something as uncool as religion and faith, but I couldn't understand all of the religious sayings.

    I don't know if I'll continue reading the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    a must read

    I just finished this book and to tell you the truth,I took my time because I dreaded finishing.I thought it was her last in the series.I was wrong .Just as I finished I got a bookstore flyer and her new book was on the front page.
    I can't wait to get it,yet I hope there will be another to follow.
    If you decide to read this series,be sure to get the list and read them in order.They are a delight.....each and every one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    I Really Liked It

    I listened to this book on audio, and really enjoyed it. I loved the reader. He clearly captured the personas of the characters. I have read nearly all of Jan's books. I am in my 70th decade, as well. I fully identified with Tim's history --- The reader did an excellent job of conveying the ethnicity and regional nature of the people in Holly Springs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Father Tim goes home

    While reading Jan Karon's Mitford series I couldn't wait to read what was happening next in Mitford. I love the way these books are written. The characters are great and I loved to escape into their lives, especially Father Tim. I love him! I feel at home reading about this small town and care about the people in it. I enjoyed learning about Father Tim's past in Home to Holly Springs, just wasn't as good to me as the rest of the books. These characters weren't as entertaining to me as the ones in Mitford. Still liked the book and can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    My Hearts in Holly Springs

    I love the simplicity of Jan Karon's Father Tim novels. I have a home away from here that I love to escape to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    Father Tim continues on

    I found this book alittle difficult to get into at first. I have loved the Mitford series and hoped it would continue to delight. It did but not until I had read 1/2 the book. Would buy the next one as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    KARON IS WONDERFUL AS IS ALL OF HER BOOKS. THANK YOU JAN KARON

    I HAVE READ ALL OF FATHER TIMS BOOKS. NEVER DISAPPOINTED, WAITING FOR THE NEXT ONE. I HOPE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    Home to Holly Springs

    Great book. I enjoyed the Mitford series so much I was glad to see Father Tim's life continue in another series. Ms Karon is a great author and knows how to keep your interest in her books. Can't wait for the next book in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Jan Karon continues to keep our attention!

    This book was terrific! Jan Karon has done it again-- only this time there is a mystery for the reader to solve! The new characters are entertaining and we still have some of the old characters showing up from time to time which is great. As always, I could not put the book down and once finished, cannot wait until for the next one in the series to be on bookshelves!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    Fresh and engaging

    I found this reader to be incredibly engaging with his use of different voices and dialects-I really got into the world of Ms Karon's wonderful books through his varied and dynamic interpretations. My sister's and I LOVED it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2008

    Can hardly wait for sequel.

    Even though some of the chapters are a little hard to follow, e.i. hard to determine where Father Tim is in the story, it is still a great read. I think I need to read the book again. I will be waiting for the next 'chapter' to Father Tim's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    A reviewer

    I was so looking forward to this book being published. I even had the date on my calendar. I am totally in love with the Mitford Series. First, I too was disappointed that the audio books were read by a different person. I missed hearing Mr. McDonough. Second, I was disappointed in the books content. After listening to the whole book I wondered if this story was first conceived as a single book. Ms. Karon ties up so many lose ends in the end and finding the last few friends was so 'out there' it was laughable. If Ms. Karon does continue with this series I will read it just out of pure curosity and faith in her writing skills. I will however wait until it is available in my local library rather than invest in my own book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2008

    I'm disappointed in Karon

    This book is fair - it gives information about Tim's past, too much in ways. As he's from the south, I expected there would be information about racism, etc. in the past - and of course there was. Sadly, in many places that still exists today in some portions of the south. But that made this yet another novel about the old days of slavery, racism, etc. and it disturbs me reading that, especially as I've already read about it more than enough times already.//What I'm really disappointed about is I never thought of Tim as being one to use curse words, even when able to use the sorry excuse of quoting someone else. When he was a child, at least his mother knew enough to correct him. Too bad it didn't sink in enough for him to not use someone else's wording, and to not just stand there and not speak up when someone else is cursing, especially since he's a 'reverend.' I don't see how 'born again Christians' can possibly think it's okay to use such cursing, Vietnam vet, etc. or not.// I noticed this decline in Karon's writing style beginning in Light From Heaven, although it may have been bad before that and I didn't notice. But there was even more cursing in this book. When reading a book using the main character of a preacher, even if it's one whose beliefs I don't completely agree with, I still expect a clean, decent speech. Saying that one cursed, such as 'he/she cursed' as even the bible has in it, is enough, gets the point across, without having the filthy language in my face.// I've noticed at least a few authors - such as Nancy Atherton, Lilian Jackson Braun, etc. have decreased or completely put an end to the foul language in their books as they progressed. Sadly, Karon's books are progressing in becoming like Nora Roberts' books to me - the cursing became so bad that I had to stop reading them. I realize that cursing is pretty much the way society is going these days, but that doesn't make it right. To quote a REAL preacher I heard years ago, 'To kids, cursing is cool. To adults, cursing is just a sign of immaturity.' Too bad all adults don't feel that way, especially those who are writing or producing television shows and movies, etc. that billions of children and adults are reading and watching and being influenced by. Before anyone makes a comment about this, yes, there are plenty of books, etc. I avoid because of the cursing. A few words are bad enough, a lot, especially in a 'Christian' novel, is terrible.// There was one highlight about Home to Holly Springs: the typo at the beginning of Chapter 27 was a hoot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 128 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7