Customer Reviews for

Home to Holly Springs (Father Tim Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 133 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Reconciling ones past with the present

This is a wonderful addition to the Father Tim stories! We get to see the events that made Father Tim the man he is. We also have the opportunity to see that negative events in our lives can lead to good instead of being used as excuses for failure and lack of ambition....
This is a wonderful addition to the Father Tim stories! We get to see the events that made Father Tim the man he is. We also have the opportunity to see that negative events in our lives can lead to good instead of being used as excuses for failure and lack of ambition.

posted by 363129 on May 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Father Tim's next challenge

I opened "Home to Holly Springs" with such anticipation! I finally had Jan Karon's new book, it was a cold and rainy Sunday afternoon, I was in heaven. As I read, turning each page eagerly, I kept saying to myself, "Something exciting will happen soon, the next chapte...
I opened "Home to Holly Springs" with such anticipation! I finally had Jan Karon's new book, it was a cold and rainy Sunday afternoon, I was in heaven. As I read, turning each page eagerly, I kept saying to myself, "Something exciting will happen soon, the next chapter will be more exciting." I was expecting this book to be like the Mitford books, but those familiar characters were not appearing. The new characters were not as likeable, and I didn't care too much about them. I tried to like them, but I found them a bit tiring. Two major characters with the same name! Who was who? Jan Karon, why? I struggled with the book, determined to finish it. Finally, Cynthia showed up and things began moving along! I was not surprised with the final "secret"; nor was I surprised with Father Tim's decision. Of course, he would! I do look forward to more Father Tim books. I just hope they will be more fun to read!

posted by yellowroseBCD on May 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    Confused how can you have a new series just because the town name changed?

    Same old same old story and plot sorta like witness protection program but all in same jobs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    A bit of a disapointment after the Mitford Series

    This book contained too much content about Tim's bitterness and hurt toward his long deceased father. I thought that had already been dealt with in a previous book of the Mitford Series. This story contained more scandal than was usual for the Father Tim series and lacked some of the warm-heartedness. The ending was satisfactory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Disappointing

    I'm only half way through and can't make myself finish. I thoroughly enjoyed the author's Mitford series, but this is nothing like it. I find it to be slow, and the transitions from the present and past are sometimes hard to follow. The tone of the book is melancholic and rather depressing. Maybe the second half will redeem it but I'm not wasting my time to find out. Sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    *yawn*

    This was the first Jan Karon book I have read. I had heard that her books were a bit more captivating. Everything was predictable and it made for a long read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2008

    I'm disappointed in Karon

    This book is fair - it gives information about Tim's past, too much in ways. As he's from the south, I expected there would be information about racism, etc. in the past - and of course there was. Sadly, in many places that still exists today in some portions of the south. But that made this yet another novel about the old days of slavery, racism, etc. and it disturbs me reading that, especially as I've already read about it more than enough times already.//What I'm really disappointed about is I never thought of Tim as being one to use curse words, even when able to use the sorry excuse of quoting someone else. When he was a child, at least his mother knew enough to correct him. Too bad it didn't sink in enough for him to not use someone else's wording, and to not just stand there and not speak up when someone else is cursing, especially since he's a 'reverend.' I don't see how 'born again Christians' can possibly think it's okay to use such cursing, Vietnam vet, etc. or not.// I noticed this decline in Karon's writing style beginning in Light From Heaven, although it may have been bad before that and I didn't notice. But there was even more cursing in this book. When reading a book using the main character of a preacher, even if it's one whose beliefs I don't completely agree with, I still expect a clean, decent speech. Saying that one cursed, such as 'he/she cursed' as even the bible has in it, is enough, gets the point across, without having the filthy language in my face.// I've noticed at least a few authors - such as Nancy Atherton, Lilian Jackson Braun, etc. have decreased or completely put an end to the foul language in their books as they progressed. Sadly, Karon's books are progressing in becoming like Nora Roberts' books to me - the cursing became so bad that I had to stop reading them. I realize that cursing is pretty much the way society is going these days, but that doesn't make it right. To quote a REAL preacher I heard years ago, 'To kids, cursing is cool. To adults, cursing is just a sign of immaturity.' Too bad all adults don't feel that way, especially those who are writing or producing television shows and movies, etc. that billions of children and adults are reading and watching and being influenced by. Before anyone makes a comment about this, yes, there are plenty of books, etc. I avoid because of the cursing. A few words are bad enough, a lot, especially in a 'Christian' novel, is terrible.// There was one highlight about Home to Holly Springs: the typo at the beginning of Chapter 27 was a hoot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2008

    Oh come on now!

    This story was totally unbelievable. I was deeply disappointed. Jan Karon could have done much better with Father Tim and his past. This must have been a very quick idea and not well thought out. I do not think I have any interest to read any earlier stories about Father Tim's past if they are going to be as ill thought out as this story. Come on now no one knew about Peggy's pregnancy in such a small town? In Mitford everyone know's about everybody including Father Tim!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    disappointed in Jan Karon

    I was astonished in the first half of the book, by the use of the N-word with Tim's boyhood chums. Didn't he have any white kids to play with? The last half was interesting. If the stem cell information is correct, it is something we need to know. I was excited when I heard Jan Karon was starting a Father Tim series. I will not purchase any more of this series, until I have read them from the library

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1