Customer Reviews for

Home to Holly Springs (Father Tim Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 128 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Reconciling ones past with the present

This is a wonderful addition to the Father Tim stories! We get to see the events that made Father Tim the man he is. We also have the opportunity to see that negative events in our lives can lead to good instead of being used as excuses for failure and lack of ambition....
This is a wonderful addition to the Father Tim stories! We get to see the events that made Father Tim the man he is. We also have the opportunity to see that negative events in our lives can lead to good instead of being used as excuses for failure and lack of ambition.

posted by 363129 on May 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Father Tim's next challenge

I opened "Home to Holly Springs" with such anticipation! I finally had Jan Karon's new book, it was a cold and rainy Sunday afternoon, I was in heaven. As I read, turning each page eagerly, I kept saying to myself, "Something exciting will happen soon, the next chapte...
I opened "Home to Holly Springs" with such anticipation! I finally had Jan Karon's new book, it was a cold and rainy Sunday afternoon, I was in heaven. As I read, turning each page eagerly, I kept saying to myself, "Something exciting will happen soon, the next chapter will be more exciting." I was expecting this book to be like the Mitford books, but those familiar characters were not appearing. The new characters were not as likeable, and I didn't care too much about them. I tried to like them, but I found them a bit tiring. Two major characters with the same name! Who was who? Jan Karon, why? I struggled with the book, determined to finish it. Finally, Cynthia showed up and things began moving along! I was not surprised with the final "secret"; nor was I surprised with Father Tim's decision. Of course, he would! I do look forward to more Father Tim books. I just hope they will be more fun to read!

posted by yellowroseBCD on May 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    Reconciling ones past with the present

    This is a wonderful addition to the Father Tim stories! We get to see the events that made Father Tim the man he is. We also have the opportunity to see that negative events in our lives can lead to good instead of being used as excuses for failure and lack of ambition.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    Jan Karon's books are always a good read

    I loved getting to know Tim and his background. It was a very enjoyable book and I look forward to the next installment.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    superb

    This was just a wonderful book. Father Tim goes back to Holly Springs at age 70, and his boyhood suddenly comes alive in flashbacks to the deep south. A wonderful escape to another time and place, beautiful love story, wonderful surprise ending. Loved it, highly recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    If you loved Mitford, you'll love this book!

    I felt bereft when I finished the last novel in the Mitford series. So I was elated to discover that Jan Karon has continued Father Tim Kavanagh's adventures in a new series. If you read the Mitford novels, you know that Father Tim at times referred to an uneasy relationship with his own father. In this novel, Father Tim goes home to Holly Springs and confronts some demons from his past. This journey has mystery, humor, and characters that come to life on the page. I'm looking forward to reading more books in this series...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Just finished reading" Home to Holly Springs"for the 3

    Just finished reading" Home to Holly Springs"for the 3rd time! I Love it more and more! Miss Cynthia,but realize Father Tim needs to have this be his time.Having been born and raised in the south,I felt at home with the sights and smells so beautifully described.I read it again after finishing"In the Company of Others" for the 3rdtime as well! Can't wait for another "Father Tim"novel. Love them all!!!Thanks Jan Karon

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    audio book "reader"

    I love the audio books of the Mitford series and couldn't wait to listen to the next round of Father Tim. But I was very disappointed that a new reader was doing the book. The series really needs the other guy to do this series (and any other books on disc that he can, he is WONDERFUL)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    The best book since To Kill a Mockingbird!

    Hands down, the best book since To Kill a Mockingbird!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Best of the series.

    My favorite of all the Mitford books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Pleased with another Jan Karon book

    I always enjoy Jan Karon's books and this one was no exception.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    What a good book A truly good story and emotional read. I highl

    What a good book

    A truly good story and emotional read. I highly recommend all the books in this series. I feel so good after reading these stories containing Father Tim. Some even make you want to shed a tear or two but you always leave the stories feeling like part of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Wonderful

    If you've read the Mitford series, this will give you a more indepth understanding of Father Tim.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    When the town of Mitford came into my life,I felt like all the c

    When the town of Mitford came into my life,I felt like all the characters where a part of my family.I started reading it around the 90's.I laughed till I cried, and cried till I laughted. I grieved for those I lost in Mitford and  those who found  love I cheered.After the first book ,I was hooked and wanted to meet the people who were fictitious.That was a town that I belonged in.I wanted to be with Father Tim in his church and rejoiced in his marriage along with Barnabas along with Dooley
    .Please bring Mitford back Please!!! I am 73 and i lived on those in Mitford.I told my husband before He passed that if Mitford were real I would have moved there after the 1st book . Please bring Mitfrod back Jan the world needs it and so do i. God Bless you and all the ones you were blessed with to help write the series about my dream town .I'll be looking for it in the best book shops  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    X

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    This is a very good book and it is so nicely written.

    I enjoyed the story of Father Tim's life as a child and all that went on with him. It really seems almost like he is a real live person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Great book!

    A mysterious two word note sends Father Tim back to his home town after many years. He finds old friends and solves a mystery from his past, and learns more about himself. This is a great addition to Jan Karon's world!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    Wow!

    I loved this book. If everyone could behave like Father Tim and Henry Winchester, the world would be a much better place. I am eagerly awaiting more in the future regarding their relationship as it develops.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    a must read

    I just finished this book and to tell you the truth,I took my time because I dreaded finishing.I thought it was her last in the series.I was wrong .Just as I finished I got a bookstore flyer and her new book was on the front page.
    I can't wait to get it,yet I hope there will be another to follow.
    If you decide to read this series,be sure to get the list and read them in order.They are a delight.....each and every one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    I Really Liked It

    I listened to this book on audio, and really enjoyed it. I loved the reader. He clearly captured the personas of the characters. I have read nearly all of Jan's books. I am in my 70th decade, as well. I fully identified with Tim's history --- The reader did an excellent job of conveying the ethnicity and regional nature of the people in Holly Springs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    My Hearts in Holly Springs

    I love the simplicity of Jan Karon's Father Tim novels. I have a home away from here that I love to escape to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    KARON IS WONDERFUL AS IS ALL OF HER BOOKS. THANK YOU JAN KARON

    I HAVE READ ALL OF FATHER TIMS BOOKS. NEVER DISAPPOINTED, WAITING FOR THE NEXT ONE. I HOPE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4