Customer Reviews for

Home to Holly Springs (Father Tim Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Reconciling ones past with the present

This is a wonderful addition to the Father Tim stories! We get to see the events that made Father Tim the man he is. We also have the opportunity to see that negative events in our lives can lead to good instead of being used as excuses for failure and lack of ambition....
This is a wonderful addition to the Father Tim stories! We get to see the events that made Father Tim the man he is. We also have the opportunity to see that negative events in our lives can lead to good instead of being used as excuses for failure and lack of ambition.

posted by 363129 on May 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Father Tim's next challenge

I opened "Home to Holly Springs" with such anticipation! I finally had Jan Karon's new book, it was a cold and rainy Sunday afternoon, I was in heaven. As I read, turning each page eagerly, I kept saying to myself, "Something exciting will happen soon, the next chapte...
I opened "Home to Holly Springs" with such anticipation! I finally had Jan Karon's new book, it was a cold and rainy Sunday afternoon, I was in heaven. As I read, turning each page eagerly, I kept saying to myself, "Something exciting will happen soon, the next chapter will be more exciting." I was expecting this book to be like the Mitford books, but those familiar characters were not appearing. The new characters were not as likeable, and I didn't care too much about them. I tried to like them, but I found them a bit tiring. Two major characters with the same name! Who was who? Jan Karon, why? I struggled with the book, determined to finish it. Finally, Cynthia showed up and things began moving along! I was not surprised with the final "secret"; nor was I surprised with Father Tim's decision. Of course, he would! I do look forward to more Father Tim books. I just hope they will be more fun to read!

posted by yellowroseBCD on May 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    Home to Holly Springs

    Great book. I enjoyed the Mitford series so much I was glad to see Father Tim's life continue in another series. Ms Karon is a great author and knows how to keep your interest in her books. Can't wait for the next book in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Jan Karon continues to keep our attention!

    This book was terrific! Jan Karon has done it again-- only this time there is a mystery for the reader to solve! The new characters are entertaining and we still have some of the old characters showing up from time to time which is great. As always, I could not put the book down and once finished, cannot wait until for the next one in the series to be on bookshelves!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    Fresh and engaging

    I found this reader to be incredibly engaging with his use of different voices and dialects-I really got into the world of Ms Karon's wonderful books through his varied and dynamic interpretations. My sister's and I LOVED it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2008

    This extended my world of Father Tim.

    Ms. Karon took a risk and it worked. She went back and let Father Tim answer so many questions that were so beautifully written. As a child we see things so differently than as an adult. Father Tim had so much fun, as we did, on this trip. Meeting new people and connecting with old friends. I wish I had been with him. It was neat that Cynthia and the gang did not go along for this adventure. It was better this way. I loved the entire book and have read it for a third time recently just for the flow of the words. She's done it again. Another great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    Another fantastic Jan Karon book

    I wasn't sure if I would like this book after thoroughly enjoying the Mitford series. I always appreciated Jan Karon's real portrayal of characters--she keeps it real both to what she believes and to also what she knows happened in the past. I like how she sets the story in a real town and mentions real existing places--it makes the story that much more believable. I agree that the book started slowly, but Karon always likes to develop characters and she probably felt she needed to do this in a new series. She did a better job of this in the beginning of 'At Home in Mitford' in introducing new characters along the way while getting right in to the action. Two different stories, though. Karon has kept just enough tied from the Mitford series to keep those readers thirsting for more. Many readers may have felt cheated, for example, for not knowing how Dooley and Lace ended up. We can continue to see how that develops. I always wondered about Peggy, the former servant, and what happened to her. Now I know, and in hindsight, it makes sense. I was just as surprised at the revelation 2/3 into the book, but also just as surprised when Father Tim just happens to meet his old friend Tommy Noles. That, I admit, stretched it a bit. I am now ready to see what Jan Karon does in her next novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2007

    Home to Holly Springs

    I have read all of the Mitford books and believe me, this one about Father Tim's childhood was the BEST! I loved every page of it. It was great to put the past to rest (as we all must do at some time in our lives) with Father Tim, and rejoice in the surprises that evolved in this novel. I cannot wait till the 2nd Father Tim books come out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2008

    Another Disappointed Audioreader

    I really like the book, but as an audioreader, I,too,am disappointed that John McDonough is not the reader of this book as he was in all the other Mitford books. Mr. McDonough would have done a superb job as usual. I hope whomever makes these decisions will use John McDonough for the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    Another Great book from Jan Karon

    Jan Karon entered a new era with the Father Tim Novels. You have to have read the Mitford books before starting on this one. I think Jan Karon hits a home run with this book. It is not what would be expected of her and she did a beautiful job writing it. I highly recommend anyone who has read the mitford books to pick this one up too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    I got started reading the Jan Karon books about three and a half years ago thanks to my boyfriend's mother. I had considered reading them for a while before that but I had just never gotten around to it. Also, other women I had worked with in my church library said I was too old to read the books. But my BF's mom told me I would really like them. So I broke down and read the first Mitford book. And I loved it. Since at this point all the books were out I proceeded to read all 9 books in 3 months. When I finished the last book, I was delighted to hear that there would be a new series with Father Tim and I was eagerly awaiting the release of it. The book is a bit slow in the beginning. Since this novel is focusing almost entirely on Father Tim, there is little mention of all the Mitford characters we've grown to love. And that is a little difficult at first because you miss hearing about all the familiar names and going ons in Mitford. Luckily Father Tim does have frequent calls with Cynthia so we still get to hear from her and he brings along Barnabas as well, so there is a familiar doggy face with us. The story is interesting because we get to learn more about a man that we thought we knew everything about. I liked the flashbacks as we learn more about Father Tim's childhood, his relationship with his parents, and what it was like for him growing up in the south. There was a bit of confusion for me because there were two characters named Peggy. I could not figure out for a couple of chapters which one was which. There is also some mild cursing in this book so be prepared for some peppery language sprinkled throughout. There is a shocking revelation at the end, one that I found very surprising. It will be interesting to see how this will be played out in future books especially with interaction from the Mitford crew. If you are a Mitford fan, then I would definitely recommend picking up this book. I thoroughly enjoyed it and am looking very forward to when the next book comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2007

    The Best Karon Yet!!!!

    I read this book in one sitting!!1 I cried through parts of it, a good cry though.Absolutely wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2007

    Sensational

    This is a first for me by this author and I found the prose to be exceptional, if not outright interesting. The human natures told about in this lovely tale is just what the doctor ordered, just what the heart needs. There was enough suspense to keep the pages turning for sure. It was also nice to feel the homemade atmosphere as all the scenes unfolded. In general, I felt this book was satisfying and it kept my interest to the end. With a fine plot and a non-prosaic pulse, the reader is swept up in the vivacity of the characters. No regrets. Looking for more great adventure? Check out the titles below too...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2007

    Never disapointed

    I wanted this book to last but read it in one sitting. As all the other Father Tim books I will be rereading. All the characters in all the books have become friends. Thank you Jan Karon for another great read. I will be looking forward to more of the same.I found the technique great,The present and past intermingled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    This may be my favorite Father Tim story yet

    I was so happy to hear that Jan Karon was writing about Father Tim's early life. After all, he came to us fully grown, without much back story. Enjoying retirement and his life in Mitford, North Carolina, Father Tim receives a letter postmarked from his home town. The letter contains only two words: Come home. Although it's been 38 years since he was in Holly Springs, Father Tim and his loyal canine companion Barnabus set out from Mitford, to the small Mississippi town of his childhood. The book is lovely. Like the Southern town in the title, the story moves along at its own pace and we're the better for it. Getting to know the people from Father Tim's home town is both satisfying and fulfilling. I fell in love with each one. Karon is a great storyteller and a keen observer of human nature. As each scene plays out, we get the feeling that Father Tim is wrapping up a lot of unfinished business. We meet his first love. We learn why there was so much friction between Father Tim and his father. We learn why Father Tim's mother was sad. We learn how Tim found his way to the priesthood. When the 'big reveal' comes, and Father Tim learns the purpose behind the letter, the emotions of all the parties just leap off the page and into your heart. I could see the sitting room in Peggy's house and I could taste the homemade lemonade she served Father Tim as she poured her heart out. Some professional reviewers have chastised Karon for a 'Hollywood' ending. To me, it played out perfectly. Karon is a master of sweet, gentle fiction and she is on top of her game here. I will be re-reading 'Home to Holly Springs' again soon. It's that good. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    Just as good as Mitford

    I was afraid that I wouldn't like this series as well as the Mitford series, because I loved it so much, but I did. It's a wonderful book in its own right. I very deep and thoughtful book about growing up in the south.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2007

    Another winner for Jan Karon

    I have read everything Jan Karon has ever written, including her newsletter! I am never disappointed......the love and warmth and Godliness that Father Tim shows means so much to her readers. Can't wait for the next one in the new series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    I enjoyed this read very much and will definitely buy this authors works again. Yes it was a fairly-tail ending but why not? We have enough doom and gloom in life. I have recommended another read below and if any-one get to read that book then you will understand what I mean by doom and gloom. I will be reading Home to holly-wood springs again I enjoyed is immensely

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2007

    Another beautiful heartwarming story

    Having read all of the Mitford series, I couldn't wait for Home to Holly Springs to come out. Each of these books takes us all home to our childhoods and all the memorys come rushing back to us. What a special lady to write such wonderful warm stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4