Customer Reviews for

Homecoming

Average Rating 4.5
( 192 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(122)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

MY HOMECOMING REVIEW

This novel is all about four kid's journey to find where they belong in the world. It all starts when their mother, Mrs. Tillerman, leaves them behind in their family's car as she walks away into their crowded local mall's parking lot. They are now left to survive with ...
This novel is all about four kid's journey to find where they belong in the world. It all starts when their mother, Mrs. Tillerman, leaves them behind in their family's car as she walks away into their crowded local mall's parking lot. They are now left to survive with the guidance of their oldest sister, Dicey, who is thirteen. All they have to live off of for several weeks is the seven dollars Dicey had in her pocket, one bagged lunch for each child, and a small suitcase that their mother packed them before she left. Because Dicey's parents were divorced when she was very young, Dicey is only aware of one living family member. This is her Aunt Cilla, who she knows nothing about. With the help of her Aunt's address that Dicey's mom made her memorize, the Tillerman children travel for weeks in search of their future guardian.
This book is very good,and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading realistic books.

posted by TAG16 on May 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Homecoming-Cynthia Voigt

it was an okay book little boring and slow in some parts but okay i had to read it for 7th grade and i probably wont read it again....not alot of action

posted by Anonymous on September 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    Homecoming-Cynthia Voigt

    it was an okay book little boring and slow in some parts but okay i had to read it for 7th grade and i probably wont read it again....not alot of action

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    not that good

    Well... I had to read Homecoming for one of the three books I had to read for the seventh grade. It got pretty borring in the middle cause their just walking then camping, walking then camping. I mean, come on. A good book should be interesting all the way through.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    It was okay I guess

    At my school we have to read four books over the summer, so I chose this one. It was pretty good, but towards the middle/end, it got slow. I actually put the book down for two weeks. It was that bad. So I finally finished it. I thought that was a terrible ending. I would recomend this book to people that could easily read through slow parts. I dont plan on reading the second book because it'll probably be worse.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2008

    It gets kind of boring...

    For my school we had to pick 3 books out of a list to read for the summer. I picked this book as one of them. It was ok. It gets VERY slow, but once you get through it, it's over. Overall, I did not like this book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2008

    boring

    i liked the book but it was hard to read. i was bored and forcing myself to finish.it had a good plot and i liked the idea of it but the auther didnt pull it off. it was too long and tedious

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2007

    Umm, it's ok I guess

    This book was very um, Ok I mean it did go into alot of detail 'ok too much'but the part about the four children traveling alone was the most heart touching of all. I think this book could of been better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    It's Still True

    People have always thought that Dicey Tillerman¿s family was crazy. Her father left her family when she was younger. Everyone¿s crazy concern¿s were confirmed when Dicey¿s mother abandoned her children in the car at the mall parking lot. After Dicey decides that Mama isn¿t coming back, she decides to take the children, James, Sammy, and her sister. The children, led by Dicey, make their way, mile by mile, to Bridgeport, Maryland to see their Great-aunt Cilla. Dicey underestimated how long it would take to travel all that way. The Tillerman¿s face many setbacks, like James falling on his head, and running out of money to buy food. They also meet a lot of nice people along the way, many who help them out more than could ever be expected. At long last, they reach Great-aunt Cilla¿s house, but find that Great-aunt Cilla has died, and in her place is Cousin Eunice. Cousin Eunice takes the children in, but they never settle. Everyone thinks that Dicey¿s little sister is crazy and little Sammy is always getting into fights. Eventually, Dicey decides to go visit their eccentric grandmother, who everyone says is evil and mean. Dicey starts the trip alone, but James catches her, so the Tillerman children are on the road again. This trip isn¿t so hard, but when they arrive at their grandmother¿s farm, she doesn¿t seem to want the children at all. Will the children stay with their unwilling grandmother, or will they have to go back on the road? Read Homecoming to find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2006

    An Alright Book

    My review of the book is it was suspensful and your all wondering if the Tillerman children will make it. I give it a seven out of ten because the vocabulary is pretty easy and it didn't take me that long to finish. I personally found the story boring because the author goes into way too much detail about what the children do and what the weather is and if they go to the bathroom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2005

    Interesting....yet GAY

    the Tillerman family never gave up and always stuck together! it was a good book over all but, i didnt like the fact that it dragged on about everything i would of enjoyed it if it didn't give out so much detail and let a little thinking to the reader but it was good over all. Even though im only 12 i still read it but honestly i wouldn't have read this book if it wasn't that i HAD to read it for a summer reading project. There are a little too many places that the book included it made it boring, sometimes it should just be left to the reader to figure it out and then continue on solemnly and have a fun time i mean the solution to everything is always right away but always too far away with detail. uhm it was OKAY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2000

    A pretty good book.

    I think that it is a good book,not the best but good.It was boring in the begining but ones I got in to it I could not put it down. I am looking forward to reading Dicey's song.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2000

    my opinion..

    I liked tha book ok...but i failed a test i took on it... i wuz lookin 4 a answer 2 a question i have about it..its a ok book... its kinda boring at tha beginning...Izzy Willy Nilly and The Runner r good books by her also..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1