Customer Reviews for

The Homecoming: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Heartwarming and moving

Dan Walsh has outdone himself in his new book, Homecoming! I'm so thankful to have received a review copy of a story taken from a slice of American life when the world was so torn up and forever changed by war. The Unfinished Gift, the first book by this author, has Sha...
Dan Walsh has outdone himself in his new book, Homecoming! I'm so thankful to have received a review copy of a story taken from a slice of American life when the world was so torn up and forever changed by war. The Unfinished Gift, the first book by this author, has Shawn Collins missing in action and his son Patrick goes to live with his estranged Grandfather. Homecoming starts at the same place the Unfinished Gift leaves off. Everyone is waiting for Shawn's homecoming.

I loved how the author put me back in WWI. Dan made the time period come alive as his characters go through different aspects of the war in England and the States. Dan's description of what Shawn, Patrick and Katherine went through was riveting. I felt their highs, their lows and the heart breaking blows of war, like I've never experienced before. I rejoiced with these characters triumphs, felt tears in my eyes and a knot in my throat when they shared tender moments in the middle of uncertain times.

I enjoyed this story written mainly in Shawn Collin's point of view and all he experienced in and out of war. Shawn survived a plane crash and was sent home for some rest. The media made him out to be a hero-he didn't feel like one, he was a guy just doing his job like anyone else. Then the next thing he knows he's on a USO Bond tour away from his family again, and in the spot light, the one place he didn't want to be. I enjoyed how Dan Walsh showed the affects of the war from many different angles. I felt I was there, seeing what happens to families and how it plays havoc with their faith in God. I enjoyed Patrick, Shawn's son so much and was thrilled by his relationship with Katherine. I admired Shawn and all he went through to do his duty and try to be there for his family as much as the government would let him. I can't wait to read another story by this author. His characters and story touched my heart deeply.

Nora St.Laurent
The Book Club Network www.bookfun.org
Finding Hope Through Fiction www.psalm516.blogspot.com

posted by TBCN on July 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It was just, Okay.

I first saw The Homecoming on the publisher's website and thought it sounded like a great book . And from what I had heard, It was full of details of WWII and a sweet romance story. But, I thought, wait! A man writing romance?This I had to read. So when Revell was offer...
I first saw The Homecoming on the publisher's website and thought it sounded like a great book . And from what I had heard, It was full of details of WWII and a sweet romance story. But, I thought, wait! A man writing romance?This I had to read. So when Revell was offering this up for review, I had to sign up.

The Homecoming is the sequel to The Unfinished Gift, and centers around the return of the, now widowed, Patrick Collins. I love WWII novels and I liked the insight I got when I read The Homecoming but, I think I would have enjoyed the book so much more, if I had read the first book, The Unfinished Gift. I felt detached from the characters and I didn't fully understand their background with each other. I also felt like their was un-important dialogue between the characters and that we never really get "inside" the main character's head and understand things from that character's POV. Although I would have liked the romantic relationship between Shawn and Kathrine to be stronger, again I have the feeling that had I read the first book, I could have understood it all better. But, besides all that, I loved the mini history lesson I got, plus the exciting WWII action and that little dash romance added in. Overall, if you love WWII, I think The Homecoming would be the perfect read, I just highly recommend you read the first book in the series, The Unfinished Gift, first:)


*Many thanks to Donna Hausler @ Revell Books for sending me a review copy of The Homecoming. The review is my honest opinion on this book and is no way influenced by the publisher and/or the author.*

posted by Ibreathe2read on June 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Worthy Sequel that Stands Alone

    The Homecoming is a continuation of the Unfinished Gift. For those who read the first book, you will love seeing the fulfillment of all your hopes and dreams for Patrick and his dad. Kathleen Townsend, Patrick's social worker, is back as well as his Grandpa and Italian neighbor. But where the first book is Patrick's story, this one is his father Sean's.

    Through the pages, you will experience the war through his eyes. Everything from being shot down over Europe to traveling with USO stars throughout the eastern US and back to England in time for the second blitz. You get to experience the further healing of his relationship with his father, but wonder if you will make good decisions in all areas of his life. I hesitate to tell you more, because this is a book you should read.

    The characters are rich and three-dimensional. The author's writing will transport you to World War II and its impact on the homefront. And through it all you will close the book with a contented sigh, sorry to leave the characters behind, but richer for your journey with them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Heartwarming and moving

    Dan Walsh has outdone himself in his new book, Homecoming! I'm so thankful to have received a review copy of a story taken from a slice of American life when the world was so torn up and forever changed by war. The Unfinished Gift, the first book by this author, has Shawn Collins missing in action and his son Patrick goes to live with his estranged Grandfather. Homecoming starts at the same place the Unfinished Gift leaves off. Everyone is waiting for Shawn's homecoming.

    I loved how the author put me back in WWI. Dan made the time period come alive as his characters go through different aspects of the war in England and the States. Dan's description of what Shawn, Patrick and Katherine went through was riveting. I felt their highs, their lows and the heart breaking blows of war, like I've never experienced before. I rejoiced with these characters triumphs, felt tears in my eyes and a knot in my throat when they shared tender moments in the middle of uncertain times.

    I enjoyed this story written mainly in Shawn Collin's point of view and all he experienced in and out of war. Shawn survived a plane crash and was sent home for some rest. The media made him out to be a hero-he didn't feel like one, he was a guy just doing his job like anyone else. Then the next thing he knows he's on a USO Bond tour away from his family again, and in the spot light, the one place he didn't want to be. I enjoyed how Dan Walsh showed the affects of the war from many different angles. I felt I was there, seeing what happens to families and how it plays havoc with their faith in God. I enjoyed Patrick, Shawn's son so much and was thrilled by his relationship with Katherine. I admired Shawn and all he went through to do his duty and try to be there for his family as much as the government would let him. I can't wait to read another story by this author. His characters and story touched my heart deeply.

    Nora St.Laurent
    The Book Club Network www.bookfun.org
    Finding Hope Through Fiction www.psalm516.blogspot.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Any one who likes history

    Loved the ending it will spruise you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    ANOTHER WONDERFUL BOOK BY DAN WA? ANOTHER WONDERFUL BOOK BY DAN WALSH!!!!! ANOTHER WONDERFUL BOOK BY DAN WALSH!!!!!!!

    MCELWOLF :o)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Compelling!

    Excellent. I want to read everything by him!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    Great Book

    Excellent book, a must read for all baby boomers,romantics or history buffs. I enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    Excellent book!

    I have not read something this touching in a long while. Everyone should read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    Wonderful sequel to the Unfinished Gift

    Don't miss the continuing story of The Unfinished Gift. Wonderful, heartearming and a tearjerker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    After reading "The Unfinished Gift", I couldn't wait to read "The Homecoming" and it was worth the wait for the book to be published.

    Dan Walsh has a true gift of writing and keeping me in suspense of what will happen next. I loved the way this book ended and I hope to read many more of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Homecoming

    I think Dan Walsh must own stock in the company that makes Kleenex because he sure can write a tear-jerker! I read The Unfinished Gift last year and fell in love with Dan's storytelling and the family he created. I could not wait to read the sequel, The Homecoming. This book was written in the same tender and heart-warming way, but it also had a much more romantic feel to and the historical details made for an all-around delightful book. Patrick was his usual adorable self and I enjoyed spending more time with this wonderful cast of characters.

    I think I said this about The Unfinished Gift, but it also applies to The Homecoming. This is a book to be savored and enjoyed. The story moves very quickly, so it is easy to read it fast, but it really is so much better to take your time, relax and enjoy. I don't know if the author has any plans for continuing this story, but I would love to read more about Patrick as he grows up. I love the concept of mixing history in with the story and I would be very interested in reading more stories like that by Dan Walsh, he does it so well.

    Overall, The Homecoming is another outstanding story by a very talented author. I am now a fan of Dan Walsh and will anxiously look for more of his books in the future. I highly recommend this book, but it is much more enjoyable if you read The Unfinished Gift first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My Kind of Book!

    What a great read! I'd like to see a movie created from this novel. The parts involving Mama's Kitchen would make for good action; other parts would please the chick-film-loving-crowd.

    This talented author did extensive research to bring WWII history alive; the train station send-off actually brought tears to my eyes! In addition, there were a few other areas that required a tissue.

    When I turned the final page, I sighed in contentment; this is my kind of book! The characters make easy connections, the plot engages from the beginning and continues to the satisfying ending, and history is taught in a palatable manner.

    Although this novel picks up where The Unfinished Gift ends, it is a stand-alone book; it can be easily followed without having read the first. A big thank you to Donna Hausler of Baker Publishing Group for my review copy of this historical Christian fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    A Sweet Inspirational Historical Fiction and A Sweet love story!

    THE HOMECOMING by Dan Walsh is a Inspirational Historical Fiction set in 1944-1945 in England and USA. It the sequel to The Unfinished Gift but can be read as a stand along. It is well written with detail and depth. It has drama, romance, family, war, foregiveness, faith, moving forward with you life after tragic events, and broken hearts. The characters are easy to relate to and will capture your heart. They will stay with you long after the story ends. They are strong, determined and hopeful for a wonderful bright future. I would highly recommend this story. This is such a sweet love story.This is a keeper and a must read. This author is one to watch for in the future. This book was received for review and details can be found at My Book Addiction and More and at Revell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2