Customer Reviews for

The Homecoming (Shelter Bay Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Shelter Bay police procedural romantic suspense stars is rotally fantastic

Former Navy SEAL Sax Douchett survived being wounded and alone presumed dead by his mates as the Taliban assassins went after him in the Hindu Kush region. He survived, but even more harrowing was his few weeks of "incarceration" at Bethesda Naval Hospital. Finally he...
Former Navy SEAL Sax Douchett survived being wounded and alone presumed dead by his mates as the Taliban assassins went after him in the Hindu Kush region. He survived, but even more harrowing was his few weeks of "incarceration" at Bethesda Naval Hospital. Finally he is allowed to return home to Shelter Bay, physically healed but mentally questionable as he still suffers flashbacks.

While walking with his dog Velcro, the Irish Wolfhound mutt deposits a human bone at his feet. As he thinks of the fickle finger of fate, Widow Sheriff Kara Conway receives the dispatcher's excited call re his dog finding the bone. Kara is upset as she left the Oceanside PD to raise her eight years old son Trey in a safe environs following the death of his dad her beloved Jared in the line of duty as a cop handling a domestic dispute. As she works the case, someone wants the inquiry ended. At the same time Kara and Sax fall in love; he knows he loved her as a teen and never stopped while she has a list of reasons not to get involved with the middle Douchette sibling starting with Trey though Sax is so good with her son.

The Shelter Bay police procedural romantic suspense stars two likable lead characters and a strong support cast which obviously including Kara's son; but also SEALs, the memory of Jared, and the townsfolk. The investigative story line is character driven by Kara and Sax who have a myriad of reasons for not getting involved.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good read...

After reading the High Risk series I was glad to see that Ross was extending her stories of military heroes. I enjoyed the story between Sax and Kara but wish there had been more plot development like her previous books. I recommend reading the previous series before s...
After reading the High Risk series I was glad to see that Ross was extending her stories of military heroes. I enjoyed the story between Sax and Kara but wish there had been more plot development like her previous books. I recommend reading the previous series before starting this one... you will have background on some of the characters that headlined the other stories.

posted by DoB77 on August 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read...

    After reading the High Risk series I was glad to see that Ross was extending her stories of military heroes. I enjoyed the story between Sax and Kara but wish there had been more plot development like her previous books. I recommend reading the previous series before starting this one... you will have background on some of the characters that headlined the other stories.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    You have got to read this Book!!!

    This is JoAnn Ross at her best! It is an exciting yet sweet love story surrounding a very interesting town. Want more of Shelter Bay!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A keeper

    The Homecoming by JoAnn Ross is another incredible story of love and the path to happiness.

    Former Navy Seal Sax Douchett has returned home to Shelter Bay, Oregon. He is determined to put his war years behind him and start a much more simpler life. It seems everyone in town wants to honor the war hero at every turn, this is making things that much harder for Sax. His quiet life is disturbed when a long ago buried bone is found on his property. This brings the local law around, which is his high school crush Kara Conway.

    Sheriff Kara Conway moved back home to take over as Sheriff after the sudden death of her father. She also is brought home her young son Trey. Both Trey and Kara are learning to rebuild their lives without Jared Conway. Jared was killed in the line of duty and Kara believes Shelter Bay will help them both heal.

    Kara sees Sax as a great role model for her young son. He needs a positive male influence in his life. Spending time with Sax involving the bones found on his property has her seeing Sax as more then someone to influence her son.

    Sax always had a soft spot for Kara during high school. But he always knew she was Jared's girl. Now he sees her as a strong woman and someone that he wants to get to know on a more personal level.

    The Homecoming is stellar. The characters are complex and are dealing with real emotions. Their relationship isn't easy but the journey is well worth any stops along the way. The secondary romance of Kara's mother Faith and her deputy John O'Roarke is exceptional as it deals with love the second time around. You can't go wrong in picking up any JoAnn Ross novel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Shelter Bay police procedural romantic suspense stars is rotally fantastic

    Former Navy SEAL Sax Douchett survived being wounded and alone presumed dead by his mates as the Taliban assassins went after him in the Hindu Kush region. He survived, but even more harrowing was his few weeks of "incarceration" at Bethesda Naval Hospital. Finally he is allowed to return home to Shelter Bay, physically healed but mentally questionable as he still suffers flashbacks.

    While walking with his dog Velcro, the Irish Wolfhound mutt deposits a human bone at his feet. As he thinks of the fickle finger of fate, Widow Sheriff Kara Conway receives the dispatcher's excited call re his dog finding the bone. Kara is upset as she left the Oceanside PD to raise her eight years old son Trey in a safe environs following the death of his dad her beloved Jared in the line of duty as a cop handling a domestic dispute. As she works the case, someone wants the inquiry ended. At the same time Kara and Sax fall in love; he knows he loved her as a teen and never stopped while she has a list of reasons not to get involved with the middle Douchette sibling starting with Trey though Sax is so good with her son.

    The Shelter Bay police procedural romantic suspense stars two likable lead characters and a strong support cast which obviously including Kara's son; but also SEALs, the memory of Jared, and the townsfolk. The investigative story line is character driven by Kara and Sax who have a myriad of reasons for not getting involved.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    A good love story and well written.

    I enjoyed reading the Homecoming enough to entice me to buy the 2nd book in the series, One Summer. Enjoying that as well. I like to read about a good romance novel, but not the light porn erotica that's so popular now and making the best seller's list. This story did not offend me with too much sexual information. Just enough to give you the idea.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Excellent, Riveting

    Couldn't put down. Once the story starts Kara and Sax just keep you going, you can't wait until the conclusion to see how it will all end. And on the side, there's the romance of Kara's mom Faith and John. Everthing just keeps coming, a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Loved it

    Ms. Ross is a new author to me and I really enjoy her style, I will be ordering each of her novels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Haley Kasper

    Name••Haley Kasper••Gender••Female••Age••18••Hairc Color••Dirty blond••Eye Color••a breathtaking teal only person known to human kind to ever have it. The doctors say it was a miracle and will never naturally happen again••Other info on Looks••long tan legs. Usually wears mini skirts or short dresses to show them off. High cheekbones. If not wearing hot mini skirts and dresses she wears tight skinny jeans and a half shirt with no tank under. Sometimes short short sport shorts and a loose fitting v neck•• Sports••Cheer, modeling, gymnastics, dance, soccer, volley ball, soft ball, basket ball, and karate. ••Habits••Twirls hair when talking bites lip and makes a really innocent duck face.••Body type••hour glass shape cute booty perfect hip figure.••Other things you need to know•• can get fired up. Flirty. Not shy what-so-ever. Sassy. Will not back down. ••Thanx 4 reading- Haley...call me hal.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Cameron

    Jey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Hope Young

    Name-Hope Young. Gender-female. Age-14. Parents-i never knew my mom, dad is Ben Young, grandparents raised me after my dad died in hurricane and my grandma died the following year and my grandpa died a month ago from an airplane crash. Description- a girl of 5.7 with blonde hair and stormy blue grey eyes. I have a tan and Southern accent. I wear jeans and tee shirts all the time. Personality-quiet, smart, often feels lonely, and nice.~Hope Young
    (Other- I have a older sister, Summer Young. Ps- if u rp with her do not tell me, i no where ur sister is!, or stuff like that i rp both sisters!)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Olivia

    Name: Olivia Wood. Age 15. Hair color: curly brown, short. Eye color: Hazel. Pesonality: Friendly, protective, sometimes sassy, hi tech. Clothes: White mickey mowse t shirt and skinny jeans with black converse shoes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Hawk

    Name Hawk[•_•]Age 4 moons[•_•]Description golden fur like a hawk[•_•]Powers can fly and shapeshift into a hawk[•_•]Wings golden like a hawks[•_•]Personality kind and caring loveing[•_•]Parents unknown[•_•]

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Olive

    Hazelnut color curly long hair and green eyes. Pale skin. Totally random and can be snippy and fiery at some times, or tangy and cool at others. She wears a neon green tank top, a rainbow and grey striped over the shoulder, blue jeans, and black leather heeled boots. She is a vegetarian girlytom who is ten years old. Not a pink, cheerleading and makeup girl. Actually an orange, gymnastics and video games girl.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Amy

    Stares at him wow dude u need to cool your dumb drams about having social life everyone hates me ok we all got issues so drop it got tht ur an @ss alot and really annoying at times soo cool it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Dj Suri

    Sure thing. *she coughs into a tissue, then quickly tosses the red spotted kleenex away.*

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    DJ REQUEST ROOM

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Jake

    Mercy

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Courtney

    Hnmmm American Idiot by Green Day xD.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Kobe to Dj

    Play a 2-chain song

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Boring

    Too boring to finish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5