BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Homegrown Democrat: A Few Plain Thoughts from the Heart of America

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 10 of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Starts Out Good, Then Becomes Preachy

    Not bad. At first, I really liked the slow, home-spun tempo of the prose. It had a simple honesty about it. And, I also liked the author's perspective on Social Responsibility: Neighbors should help neighbors. However, as I drew deeper in the book, I came to a sudden realization that the author has his views, and we all do, but that doesn't necessarily mean I want to kill an entire afternoon reading what one person thinks is wrong with the World. I felt the book became preachy and monotonous.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2006

    Heartwarming!

    This book isn't actually about being a Democrat. It's about being a humane American. Keillor does indeed believe that Democrats are more humane than Republicans, and he gives us many examples. I converted from being a Republican a couple decades ago. May I live up to Keillor's description of being a Democrat.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2004

    Easy Read, But Deeply Flawed

    Garrison is surely a talented writer full of humor and wit, and that makes Homegrown Democrat an enjoyable read. However, Mr. Keillor laments the bitterness of modern politics with one breath and then bitterly demonizes republicans with his next. He also fails to address the reality that the democratic party is guilty of many of the same things for which he curses republicans. I am also stunned that a 'man of the people' like Keillor is unable to understand southern voters. The book is an enjoyable read because of style, but its substance is nonexistant.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2004

    Homegrown Democrat: A Few Plain Thoughts from the Heart of America

    This is the best compilation of Democratic principles I've ever read. I've been wondering how my own parents, now deceased, would have catalogued their reasons for the rules by which they raised my sister and me. We didn't know we were considered 'liberals' until the last four years have separated us so far from the thinking of our Republican friends. I thank God every day that 'you are your brother's keeper' was the foundation of our Christian upbringing, and I thank Keillor for putting it in a concise framework that I can share with my own children and like-thinking friends. Would that those who criticize us would open their minds enough to consider Garrison's book. They don't seem to have the backbone to see 'Fahrenheit,' but this book is a gentler version of the same story. Thank God and Goodness for the backbone of GK!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2004

    being your brother's keeper, on the other guy's dime

    As other reviewers note, Keillor is a sparkling writer, and he's also a great story teller, so listening to the 'News from Lake Woebegon' is usually a pleasant passtime. His political views, however, are pure dedicated worship of the messianic welfare state and virulent hatred for any who blaspheme against it's claims on all of our wealth in the name of 'taking care of the needy neighbors'. It's a great religion for those who like to pontificate about the greediness of the productive, and play pretend 'Good Samaritan' with other people's wealth, while hanging on tightly to their own. A great talent prostrated before a false deity. Pity.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2004

    Thank you Mr. Keillor

    This book shows what a nice and kind man Garrison Keillor is. He truly has core values unlike some that wear their values on their sleeve. Lake Wobegon may be fictional but non-fiction like this is very enjoyable. After reading this book, I want to sit down and share a cup of coffee with Garrison. Thank you Mr. Keillor

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2004

    View from Lake Wobegon

    I was in Minneapolis when I picked up this book on a friend's desk. Read the whole thing in a couple days. It's wonderful. It's Keillor gone mad in the spirited, conservative, controlled Lake Wobegon way. You'll laugh alot! Badly edited for punctuation. I sense this was hurried to be at the the bookstores before the election.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2004

    Pretentious, evasive, GREAT FUN

    Wow! America's favorite sleepy-voiced, ersatz-homespun, less-incisive Mark Twain from the North has absolutely blown his cool. Drawn, no doubt, to penning this first deliberately political tome by the 'reign of terror' in the current white house, Keillor moans, whines and even moans while he whines. It's a wonder to behold! I checked it out from the library-- just couldn't justify buying it-- and read the whole thing. It's hiralious!! Not mildly amusing in his usual NPR way, but absolutely hiarious! The best chapter: the one on Republicans he has condescended to LIKE over the years. To the reader with the eyes to see it, it the nastiest look inside a democrat's mind to come along in years! Indispensable. I read a review on-line once where a book was said to be from the viewpoint of 'mock-tolerance.' I didn't understand that at the time, but I think I do now. Really, Republicans, ya gotta read this one! Yow!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2004

    Homegrown Democrat: A Few Plain Thoughts from the Heart of America

    One of the better thinkers of our times has captured what it means to be a liberal - the politics of kindness. Entertaining and inspiring to be the best we can be for ourselves and others.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 10 of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1