Customer Reviews for

Homeroom Diaries

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

After waiting so long for this book to be released I'm exited to

After waiting so long for this book to be released I'm exited to say I was NOT disappointed. I pretty much loved Cuckoo right away, she's cool, she's funny and totally loyal to her friends and humanity despite having gone through some really bad stuff.
As always James P...
After waiting so long for this book to be released I'm exited to say I was NOT disappointed. I pretty much loved Cuckoo right away, she's cool, she's funny and totally loyal to her friends and humanity despite having gone through some really bad stuff.
As always James Patterson has delivered :) What I was amazed at was the brilliant artwork - I've never seen anything quite like this in a book before and it really worked for me, Keino's artwork is amazing. I can't wait for  the next book in the series.

posted by Anonymous on July 21, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I only red sampel but....

Not as good as some of his other books:(

posted by Anonymous on August 27, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    After waiting so long for this book to be released I'm exited to

    After waiting so long for this book to be released I'm exited to say I was NOT disappointed. I pretty much loved Cuckoo right away, she's cool, she's funny and totally loyal to her friends and humanity despite having gone through some really bad stuff.
    As always James Patterson has delivered :) What I was amazed at was the brilliant artwork - I've never seen anything quite like this in a book before and it really worked for me, Keino's artwork is amazing. I can't wait for  the next book in the series.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    Wow

    I litterally could not put this book down it took me onan emotional rollercoaster with the characters in this book. James patterson made thecharacters very relatable and they seem like regular people and I can't wait until the second one comes out

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Cool

    Can relate to my life in a few ways

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Awesome

    Awesome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Excellent plot with some great characters and amazing illustrati

    Excellent plot with some great characters and amazing illustrations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    I only red sampel but....

    Not as good as some of his other books:(

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2015

    Im going to read it

    Hope its good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2015

    Book

    This book is terrible for kids13 and under. It has cuss words, suicide, depression, and a sexual attack on a girl. Do not read if your parents disapprove. There is also very inappropriate and disturbing pictures on every page.
    From a disapproving parent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2015

    Great book

    This is the first book i have read from james patterson and im gonna read more. It is very hard for me to find a good author. I just found the perfect author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2015

    Awesome book!

    I only got the free preveiw but going to get the full the full version! Had a great plot and good story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2015

    Good Book

    Such a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2015

    I Also Recommend:

    This just might be one of James Patterson's most creative idea y

    This just might be one of James Patterson's most creative idea yet. Having an illustrated novel for teens
    was definitely a stroke of genius! The story is good too. Cuckoo has a voice that draws you in and keeps you hooked throughout
    the entire book. It was heartbreaking, it was hilarious, I think this book was very well written.
    James Patterson has done it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Kristine Hall for Readers' Favorite In Homeroom Dia

    Reviewed by Kristine Hall for Readers' Favorite

    In Homeroom Diaries, authors James Patterson and Lisa Papademetriou cover some heavy material in the very believable voice of main character, Maggie Clarke. It's junior year of high school, and Maggie "Cuckoo" Clarke has chosen optimism as her modus operandi. It doesn't matter that she had a mental breakdown after her mother abandoned her (hence the nickname Cuckoo), that the school counselor anxiously and almost enthusiastically awaits a relapse, that she and her "Freak Show" friends are bullied by the school's haters, or that even those who seem to have it together are teetering on the edge. Oh, and she may have a crush on her teacher and the feeling might be mutual. Despite the odds, Cuckoo and her Freak Show friends will choose happiness for not only themselves, but for the entire school -- come hell or high water.

    "Even trees go through sad times, but then they burst back to life. That will be me. THAT will be me." Cuckoo Clarke, as she prefers to be called, is an amazing narrator. (And on that note, Lauren Fortgang does an excellent job of reading, though as is often the case, her male voices sound a lot like Rudolph with his fake nose on his face.) Through Cuckoo's diary entries, readers are taken straight into the battlefields of high school, where even the teachers and school staff can be the enemy. Cuckoo navigates it all and strives to accept herself, faults and all, embracing what makes her unique, in part because she has the support of an incredible foster mother, Mrs. Morris. Patterson and Papademetriou quickly establish the deep love and respect between Cuckoo and Mrs. Morris, setting the stage for even more heartache. There are a few parts that are unrealistic -- two quick examples are a seventeen-year-old protégé being hired as a high school teacher and a student who attempted suicide being right back in school just days later -- but the writing is vivid and the messages are powerful. Cuckoo Clarke reminds readers that the bad doesn't have to define who you are, and that happiness -- even if you have to rewrite endings to find it -- is a life choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2014

    not so good. very boring

    not so good. very boring

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    HNunhub. Hhnun xj nudn h ujhuunu h yy

    Uh unh nhb i nhh nnhnunuhj u hu u. Ju yhnunhhh unuubuhn aun m j nuunyu u hn uhnh ynu ininnbjjjjbuhnnhqxu. Nuujjbnn nnnbuhjuhnnhhnu. hhuh buun. U u.uhhhnbhj nujnun mui j. hu un jy j. Ubynhuhny

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1