Customer Reviews for

Homer's Odyssey: A Fearless Feline Tale, or How I Learned about Love and Life with a Blind Wonder Cat

Average Rating 4.5
( 206 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(142)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

An Odyssey well worth the trip

When I first heard of Homer's Odyssey I was thoroughly intrigued, however wary. I had been sent copies of a number of previous books about animals (herein unnamed) and read them voraciously only to discover the animal always died at the end. Because of that singular (...
When I first heard of Homer's Odyssey I was thoroughly intrigued, however wary. I had been sent copies of a number of previous books about animals (herein unnamed) and read them voraciously only to discover the animal always died at the end. Because of that singular (and depressing) fact, I put out the word that I did NOT want to receive any more books about wonderful animals and how they changed people's lives only to find that as the book ended, so did the animal in question.
Therefore, I was more than a little surprised to be sent a copy of Homer's Odyssey. I immediately went to put the book aside, when I saw a piece of paper stuck inside the cover. I opened the book and pulled out a small handwritten note which simply read "Don't worry. He lives."
Homer is an exceptional cat, blind from an early age, and his real life adventure absolutely enthralled me. Far better written than most books in this genre, I found myself as amazed as the author as she learns that Homer is not only unencumbered by his blindness but is actually more capable in other areas because of it. The episode wherein the author discovers Homer's ability to catch flies in mid-air is worth noting.
I definitely recommend this book. All in all it's a fine read and with that in mind I pass on my own note to you...

"Don't worry. He lives."

posted by Robert_C on September 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

for all cat lovers

This was so good, but you have to be a cat lover to enjoy it...this cat was unbelievable....and such a sweet story....kept my interest, fast read....cat lovers you wont be able to put down....have passed it on to other cat lovers.

posted by pindian on September 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 207 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An Odyssey well worth the trip

    When I first heard of Homer's Odyssey I was thoroughly intrigued, however wary. I had been sent copies of a number of previous books about animals (herein unnamed) and read them voraciously only to discover the animal always died at the end. Because of that singular (and depressing) fact, I put out the word that I did NOT want to receive any more books about wonderful animals and how they changed people's lives only to find that as the book ended, so did the animal in question.
    Therefore, I was more than a little surprised to be sent a copy of Homer's Odyssey. I immediately went to put the book aside, when I saw a piece of paper stuck inside the cover. I opened the book and pulled out a small handwritten note which simply read "Don't worry. He lives."
    Homer is an exceptional cat, blind from an early age, and his real life adventure absolutely enthralled me. Far better written than most books in this genre, I found myself as amazed as the author as she learns that Homer is not only unencumbered by his blindness but is actually more capable in other areas because of it. The episode wherein the author discovers Homer's ability to catch flies in mid-air is worth noting.
    I definitely recommend this book. All in all it's a fine read and with that in mind I pass on my own note to you...

    "Don't worry. He lives."

    22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    Curl up your pets and settle in!

    Better yet, walk them first, fill the food and water bowls, gather treats near you, and share them generously as you read.
    This book is about the incredible abilities of pets, and while yours or mine will never be as incredible as Homer, you will look at them differently.
    I believe this book should be cross referenced in self improvement, for it is not only about a cat that others saw as too challenged to commit themselves. It is about a woman with the guts and intuition to risk herself, and learn that when you do you may find untold riches for your soul.
    Well written, it is both a book I could not put down, then delayed finishing. I simply did not wish it to end.
    Like "The Odyssey" by Homer, "Homer's Odyssey" will be a classic.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Warning - Homer will steal your heart.

    This is a wonderful book for cat lovers and any one who has adopted a rescue animal. Being blind, Homer had to overcome much more than usual but any rescued animal has special issues to deal with and I know I have learned a lot about trust, acceptance and gratitude from my own rescued cat. Even if you are not an "animal person" you should read this book. The two chapters about the World Trade Center attack is a very moving eye witness account of 9/11 and its aftermath. And hopefully you will see animals in a different light after hearing Homer's tale. Cooper is a talented journalist - open, honest, engaging and insightful. Reading her book is like sitting down with a friend and discussing life over a cup of coffee.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A special tale

    Her vet asked Gwen Cooper if she would be willing to adopt a one month old blind stray cat. Gwen planned to say no as she had two other adopted felines living with her while she temporarily resided in a friend's bedroom, not making much money, and her relationship with her boyfriend just ended. She especially did not want to be labeled the cat lady. However, when she picked up the kitty, he purred and she was hooked. Homer, as she called him, moved with her six times, was there for her with more breakups while each time figuring out his new area. He taught her to love as he gave her his totally.

    This is a terrific memoir mindful of Marley as Homer teaches Ms. Cooper what love is all about and how to live life with zest. Though I am biased as one of my cats went blind, this is an easy to read well written tale that not just cat lovers but readers who appreciate a well written inspirational autobiography will love.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Should Be Best Book of The Year

    I am an avid reader and I will vote this book as Best of The Year. It is extremely well written, funny, touching, and genuinely "feel good." Homer can teach us all about the joy of life and using the gifts we have been given. I think everyone should read this book as we can all learn from this triumphant little cat about how to lead a great life and make the most of it. What an amazing little guy!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Wonderful!

    Very impressive and moving story. Homer is an inspiration. I would recommend to anyone with or without cats.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What a GREAT book! Very inspirational!

    I bought this book when I was looking for another non-fictional "cat book". I had arrived at the local B&N in search of one book but came across this one. I was instantly intrigued by the cover. I opened it up the read the inside sleeves. I was hooked!

    For anyone looking for a truly inspirational story about a wonderful cat with a heart of gold, this book is for you. I just couldn't put this book down. This book helped open my eyes to the fact that a blind cat is never really blind. He can see the world better than you could have ever imagined!

    I would most definitely recommend this book to anyone looking for a GREAT "cat book". I would even recommend this book to any hard-core dog fans.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm a sucker for a cute cat

    I often hesitate to read 'animal' books anymore, becoming so attached and suffering through such sad endings. But, Homer pulled me in and I was rewarded with an amazing story that was written extremely well (and bonus... Homer is still with us). Gwen Cooper has masterfully woven the touching story of Homer, the blind cat with amazing insight, and the story of her own journey, marked with all the drama of major moves, finding what you want to be when you grow up, surviving 9/11, and taking leaps of faith. Even "dog people" will find their inner-puppy with Homer's Odyssey.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2009

    Moving and joyful

    I received an advance reviewer copy of this book from LibraryThing and having just finished it, I feel like I have to review it everywhere I can. Homer's Odyssey is truly an epic tale about a little cat, blind since he was two weeks old, that nobody believed in or wanted to take home. Homer is nothing short of inspirational and equally affecting is the story of how Homer changed the life of Gwen, his "mom" and the author of this book. I lost my job recently and this wonderful, joyful book reminded me how important persevearance and optimism are. The writing is also very beautiful and detailed. Parts of it will make you laugh, parts will make you cry. Homer is an amazing cat and Gwen Cooper is an amazing person. I highly recommend this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    "Handicapped" Homer heart-warming

    I really enjoyed this book. Until the last few chapters, it was engrossing and inspiring. When the author took the focus away from her blind cat and onto herself, she lost her purpose and my interest.
    But this book provided great insight not only into a blind cat, but also into our views of those who are handicapped and into our own handicaps, and how the handicaps we place on ourselves can often be lifted away.
    Though I could identify with the author because I also had a blind cat, I think many others can revel in the escapades and heart of Homer.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Homer's Odyssey is a Beautiful Journey

    If you love animals, especially cats, you will find "Homer's Odyssey" to be a beautiful, enthralling story. Homer comes into Gwen's life unexpectedly, but wins her love almost immediately. Homer joins Gwen's other two cats Vashti and Scarlett and their adventures are delightful. The two chapters in the book dealing with Gwen's personal experience during 9/11 and her courage and determination to find her cats in its aftermath will touch your heart. The book describes in many ways that Homer knew how to live. Gwen was Homer's eyes and he was her heart.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Remarkable Cat Story

    I was not sure this was a book I would enjoy. I love cats and this cat sounded amazing but I still wasn't sold. Homer's story drew me in at once. How would poor Homer survive as a blind cat? A curious cat needs to see, right? Wrong! Homer has no problem getting into michief like other cats. Homer's antics really make this book worth reading. He is quite the character and is truly fearless. I can see why Gwen was so taken with him from the start. What Homer lacks in being able to see he makes up for with spunk. Together Gwen and Homer make a terrific team. Gwen is Homer's eyes but Homer teaches Gwen a thing about love and trust. It's a nice light read for cat lovers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    amazing book!!!

    loved it, loved it, loved it!!! anybody who likes cats, or pets in general, or has a soul should buy and read this book immediately. this is the greatest story about an animal that I've ever read, and the only pet book I've seen that has a happy ending. I'm still laughing and crying. buy this book now!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    for all cat lovers

    This was so good, but you have to be a cat lover to enjoy it...this cat was unbelievable....and such a sweet story....kept my interest, fast read....cat lovers you wont be able to put down....have passed it on to other cat lovers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Loved it

    I am a massive cat lover, and having three cats of my own really helped me relate to this amazing story

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    This Book Is Wonderful!

    I cannot believe how amazing this cat is. Gwen Cooper has truly captured the essence of Homer and all that he is able to do. I feel inspired by their story and their journey together. I could not put this book down and I want everyone I know to read it. The writing is clear and crisp and wonderfully descriptive. I feel like I can "see" their world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    For all Cat Lover's

    I loved this book! It was amazing how this cat was able to adapt to every situation. I can totally relate to so much of the author's trials being a 3 cat household myself. It can be tough and for her to take on the huge responsibility of caring for a blind cat was truely heartwarming. I recommend this book to all animal lovers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Anonymous

    I had a black cat named kiki, and so i really can connect with the authors love of cats. All three of her cats's personalities were uniquely portrayed in this novel. Cats have a special social order that's not that different from ours, minus the facebook and twitter networking. More people with special cats need to step up and write a book about their muse. I have several ordinary cats but because i love them they are special to me just like homer is to gwen. Id write a book but i am only 12. I would also recommend Huck and Dewey to all that loved Homer, i have cats and a poodle and a special miw doggie all whom i luv very much and if ur anything like me you will love these books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    What a great book!

    I read this book in just a few days. As a true story, it is a real page turner. I have never read a first-hand account of someone who experienced 9/11. It really brought things home. I would recommend this book to everyone, even if they don't have a cat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    Heart Warming!

    I loved this book! Being a cat lover, I am a little biased, but I really enjoyed it. Homer is a amazing, lovable cat. At times the parts about 9/11 were hard to read, very emotional. But what that cat could do (the flies)! Gwen is a wonderful writer and really keeps your interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 207 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11