BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Homer's Odyssey: A Fearless Feline Tale, or How I Learned about Love and Life with a Blind Wonder Cat

Average Rating 4.5
( 207 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(143)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

An Odyssey well worth the trip

When I first heard of Homer's Odyssey I was thoroughly intrigued, however wary. I had been sent copies of a number of previous books about animals (herein unnamed) and read them voraciously only to discover the animal always died at the end. Because of that singular (...
When I first heard of Homer's Odyssey I was thoroughly intrigued, however wary. I had been sent copies of a number of previous books about animals (herein unnamed) and read them voraciously only to discover the animal always died at the end. Because of that singular (and depressing) fact, I put out the word that I did NOT want to receive any more books about wonderful animals and how they changed people's lives only to find that as the book ended, so did the animal in question.
Therefore, I was more than a little surprised to be sent a copy of Homer's Odyssey. I immediately went to put the book aside, when I saw a piece of paper stuck inside the cover. I opened the book and pulled out a small handwritten note which simply read "Don't worry. He lives."
Homer is an exceptional cat, blind from an early age, and his real life adventure absolutely enthralled me. Far better written than most books in this genre, I found myself as amazed as the author as she learns that Homer is not only unencumbered by his blindness but is actually more capable in other areas because of it. The episode wherein the author discovers Homer's ability to catch flies in mid-air is worth noting.
I definitely recommend this book. All in all it's a fine read and with that in mind I pass on my own note to you...

"Don't worry. He lives."

posted by Robert_C on September 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

for all cat lovers

This was so good, but you have to be a cat lover to enjoy it...this cat was unbelievable....and such a sweet story....kept my interest, fast read....cat lovers you wont be able to put down....have passed it on to other cat lovers.

posted by pindian on September 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An Odyssey well worth the trip

    When I first heard of Homer's Odyssey I was thoroughly intrigued, however wary. I had been sent copies of a number of previous books about animals (herein unnamed) and read them voraciously only to discover the animal always died at the end. Because of that singular (and depressing) fact, I put out the word that I did NOT want to receive any more books about wonderful animals and how they changed people's lives only to find that as the book ended, so did the animal in question.
    Therefore, I was more than a little surprised to be sent a copy of Homer's Odyssey. I immediately went to put the book aside, when I saw a piece of paper stuck inside the cover. I opened the book and pulled out a small handwritten note which simply read "Don't worry. He lives."
    Homer is an exceptional cat, blind from an early age, and his real life adventure absolutely enthralled me. Far better written than most books in this genre, I found myself as amazed as the author as she learns that Homer is not only unencumbered by his blindness but is actually more capable in other areas because of it. The episode wherein the author discovers Homer's ability to catch flies in mid-air is worth noting.
    I definitely recommend this book. All in all it's a fine read and with that in mind I pass on my own note to you...

    "Don't worry. He lives."

    22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    "Handicapped" Homer heart-warming

    I really enjoyed this book. Until the last few chapters, it was engrossing and inspiring. When the author took the focus away from her blind cat and onto herself, she lost her purpose and my interest.
    But this book provided great insight not only into a blind cat, but also into our views of those who are handicapped and into our own handicaps, and how the handicaps we place on ourselves can often be lifted away.
    Though I could identify with the author because I also had a blind cat, I think many others can revel in the escapades and heart of Homer.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Homer's Odyssey

    This was a most heart-warming story, without being maudlin, of a blind cat that made much of a life, affecting many others, despite obvious obstacles. It's the simple acts done by ordinary people (and animals), and the results of same, that help us remember what is important in life. This book confirms such an outlook and it's good reading from older children on up through elders (that's me!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Homer is delightful

    A friend, who is a "born again catlover" sent me an article on this book. Something told me I had to buy it.
    Please note: this is not a literary review. I won't go into Ms. Cooper's writing style or anything like that.
    I do say this is a great read for any cat lover, not a tragedy but it could have been without Gwen Cooper being a sucker for a little cat who needed her. You will laugh out loud but you will also cry so have the tissues handy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Equal time for cats!

    Not every cat is worthy of a book (sorry Louie & Jojo) but Homer's life story plus the author's life journey make this a captivating and sometimes thrilling read. I am a little wary of what could be a simplistic, overly sentimental read--this book is far more than that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    Best

    Love it!!!!!!!!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Great book.

    Anyone who loves animals and even those who may not will like this book. Homer is an inspiration!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Everyone loves a good pet tale.  Whether it is about a naughty d

    Everyone loves a good pet tale.  Whether it is about a naughty dog or a curious cat, stories about animals are both entertaining and emotional.  And Homer's Odyssey, a true-life account of a naughty and curious kitty, is no exception.




    After adopting an eye-less kitten who nobody wanted, Gwen Cooper realized her life had suddenly changed.  When she was not blind-proofing her numerous homes, she was making sure Homer, the newest addition to her now three-cat family, was not getting into too much trouble.  But, sure enough, Cooper had her work cut out for her, and realized quickly that though Homer was blind, he was more than a normal, curious cat.




    Filled with chapters of Homer's antics, Cooper takes you on a journey from kittenhood to the elder cat years of twelve.  The different stories of Homer's adventures are engaging, and whether Homer is annoying his two cat sisters, or making friends with practically every human he meets, his shenanigans are quite entertaining.  Two chapters though really stuck out to me.  The first consisted of Homer literally saving the life of the author from an intruder, and the second of the harrowing ordeal the author and her cats endured during 9/11.  Both of these chapters were two of many which portrayed how much Homer truly impacted Gwen Cooper's life.




    The writing itself is captivating, though I did have a few issues with the author.  At times Cooper came across as a know-it-all and slightly self absorbed, but to be fair, this is a memoir about her life and experiences.  However, throughout the whole book she preached how important her cats were to her, especially Homer, and it seemed her entire life revolved around the care of her cats; throughout the the 9/11 chapter, she was more concerned about her cats' safety than that of her own.  So, it honestly surprised me when she ended up falling in love with a man who did not like cats to begin with.  Though her future husband did eventually warm up to her three kitties, I was still a little taken aback by how unperturbed Cooper was by what I would consider a huge flaw.




    All in all, Homer's Odyssey was a compelling and sentimental read.  It made me smile at the mischief of my own cat, and forced me to examine how important my own pets are to me.  We all need love in our lives, and whether you are a cat-person or a dog-person, this book is for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    Made me laugh and cry. Truely remarkable cat and great read.

    Made me laugh and cry. Truely remarkable cat and great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Love it!

    I started reading it and all ready i am opening my heart up to this book!!!! It isl definitly worth your money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Sounds great even though I haven't read it.

    Sounds Amazing even though I have not read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    Excellent!

    This is a great book, a must read for cat lovers. Homer is a remarkable cat who has been through a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    The Beauty in the Unseen

    Protagonist and Author Gwen Cooper places herself in an unforgettable experience when she adopts the blind, yet surprisingly friendly, kitten named Homer. After taking in this third cat, Cooper finds herself in a constant money struggle as well as under extreme stress due to Homer's needs, as his curiosity puts him in dangerous situations that Cooper cannot always account for. Still, giving up this feline is certainly no option. Despite the pressure and problems Homer adds to Cooper's life, she knows that he fills a void in her heart that was once missing. Homer shows Cooper the true meaning of love, and that leaps of faith are often necessary for a better life, no matter what your limitations may be. When describing the obscure actions of her pets, Cooper's writing often had me laughing out loud. The book is definitely geared towards animal-lovers, as she often articulates the cat's noises as if they are as advanced as a human's thoughts. At some points, I found the "translations" humorous, but often read them as over-analytical ideas of an animal's feelings. Cooper's book wonderfully displays how one can draw inspiration from everyday events, even if they come from a pet cat. Homer's extreme faith and trust in his surroundings and acquaintances prove to Cooper that sometimes, we may not know what we are getting into, or how we are going to get out. But without an attempt to make a change in your life, something better can never come as a result. I am 15 years old, and I chose this book due to my recent adoption of my cat, Piper, from the Humane Society. I thought it would be rewarding to see how others interacted with/learned from their pets. I am always looking for new perspectives, and I feel Homer's Odyssey gave me an interesting take on the actions of my own animals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If you love cats, you'll love Homer!

    Interesting and enjoyable read about how becoming Homer's over-protective mama changed Gwen's life. From his tiny kittenhood to a hero protecting his mistress from a would-be rapist, Homer's story is fascinating. As a cat-lover, I was very moved by Gwen's struggle to get back to her apartment in the Ground Zero blockade and see if her cat-children had survived the 9-11 WTC collapse. All csts are special, but each cat-lover is blessed by a once-in-a-lifetime cat, and Homer is certainly that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    The Novel to read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    In Gwen Cooper's, Homer's Odyssey: A Fearless Feline Tale, or How I Learned About Love and Life with a Blind Wonder Cat, she describes the drastic changes that her blind cat, Homer, brought into her life. When he was only two-weeks-old, the little stray kitten was found wandering the streets of New York with a severe eye infection that was threatening his life, much less his eyesight. Then, after surgically removing and sealing the kitten's eyes, the young veterinarian declared him perfectly healthy, simply blind. Gwen, being one of the last options for the disabled fuzzball, couldn't resist coming in to meet him, regardless of the problems she had in her own life. As a recently singled woman who lived with her friend Melissa and already had two cats, she definitely had her doubts about committing to anything this serious. However, all of this uncertainty seemed to fade when Gwen met Homer. The love, loyalty, and willingness to take chances that Gwen Cooper expresses in this novel is repeated over and over again as the two grow to trust each other, "...Homer always felt vulnerable in sleep. It was only when he was sleeping on or next to me that the tension went out of his sleeping posture...He trusted me, more than he trusted anybody else," (78-79). Being a blind cat, Gwen had become Homer's "seeing-human," as well as a safe and reliable home, while he taught her about love and relationships, "I am Homer's eyes. And he is my heart," (283). Even through the toughest times, together they manage and work it out.
    The way that Gwen portrays her story is beyond inspiring. She describes Homer as the sweetest thing alive; a loving, courageous, dare-devil full of heart. Her writing style is definitely the best part about this novel and according to Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson, "'Gwen Cooper writes with humor, with wit, with candor, and most of all with irresistible warmth for this astonishing little feline who will steal your heart.'" This moving story is full of action and encouragement, as well as both happy and sad times. Suspenseful, optimistic, and dramatic, it's very powerful to say the least. If anything, the only statements that could be changed would be those that are repeated multiple times. In order to prove a point, Gwen tends to repeat things that aren't as important many times in different ways. However, in general this would be a very enjoyable book for animal lovers. It's very touching as well as encouraging in the way that it tells this story about how much love a blind cat can give. Overall, Homer's Odyssey would probably receive a four out of five star rating due to how great the writing style is even though some things could be changed to make it even better. Therefore this novel would unquestionably be a recommended work by Gwen Cooper, as well as her Diary of a South Beach Party Girl, and even Torchwood Magazine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Homer the amazing!

    I can't think of one emotion you don't feel reading this book. The way Gwen took in Homer, even though it wasn't in her game plan, was remarkable itself. Now to realize Homer is blind, but doesn't since fear, its what it's all about. He jumps, he leaps, he pretends to be nothing but normal. I must admit, the very hardest part of the book to read is when 9-11 happened and the sickness. Any animal lover will immediately be spilling tears reading. Gwen is what everyone should be. Someone who is willing to love and help, no matter what imperfections we have. Recommend to anyone who wants to read a touching story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    I loved this book! Maybe it's because I'm a cat lover

    maybe it's because I share my home with a blind kitty who looks and acts alot like Homer... but I could not put down this book

    this little fellow is such an inspiration. Homer doesn't let his tough start or his disability slow him down, Cooper portrays him as a brave spirit who lives life to the fullest.

    I sort of skipped over the human-relationship parts primarily because compared to the kitty drama... they were kind of dull.

    I also love the way Cooper writes about her other cats, each has such a unique personality (purrsonality) they truly come alive on the page

    Bravo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What an amazing cat! All animal lovers will LOVE this book.

    When I first saw this book advertised, I couldn't wait to buy it. I was apprehensive at first wondering if it was going to be sad; considering the author wrote this book about a totally blind cat and his life in our world of obstacles. I should have known better since I have a partially blind one-eyed cat and how adaptable she was to our tri-plex house.

    It was fascinating to read how well Homer adapted to his environment. From his point of view (pardon the pun) he didn't know any better. He thought everybody was similar to him. The author also writes about her struggles in life as well as Homer's (or lack thereof), and this makes it all that more intersting to read. I particularly loved the passages where she descibes the situations when Homer experiences new people, new homes, and even a threatening situation where he actually protects his owner from a burgler.

    What a truly amazing cat! And to think that if it wasn't for this author adopting Homer, this book would not exist. Everybody should read this book - VERY INSPIRATIONAL!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Homer's Odyssey--a story for cat lovers

    If you love cats, this book will delight you. Homer,whose infected eyes are removed surgically at two weeks, has never known a sighted world. "Adopted" as "third cat" by a woman (and later her spouse)who loves and understands the idiosyncrasies of the cat world is charmed by a blind cat who is unaware of a sighted world. Homer is a member of the family for 13 years and in that time teaches those who can see with their eyes that being blind is no challenge to a complete life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Homer really is a wonder cat.

    I really liked this book - the cat, Homer, is quite inspiring. He is blind but doesn't allow this deficit (of which he is not even aware) to slow him down in the least. I think we humans can sometimes focus on what we are lacking rather than what we have and what we can do!
    Overall, a very touching story - a great read for any animal lover. And don't worry, it ends on a happy note - Homer is still alive and well at the time the book was published!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3