Customer Reviews for

The Homework Machine

Average Rating 4
( 199 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

The Homework Machine by Dan Gutman

I Thought the homeworkk machine was a very interesting and funny story. I was surprises at the end when just by one guy sending an email he made the whole country were mitch match sox. And when they went on a date only in 5th Grade. It was cool to see the machine fill o...
I Thought the homeworkk machine was a very interesting and funny story. I was surprises at the end when just by one guy sending an email he made the whole country were mitch match sox. And when they went on a date only in 5th Grade. It was cool to see the machine fill out there homework and it came out in its own handwriting. I strongly reccomend this to kids and adults.

posted by peanutbutter1234 on June 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

NO moral value

'Homework s**ks and school s**ks!' How can Dan write like this? I am a fan of his sports/historical time travel books and the 'Kid Who Ran for President' books. But, his latest book contain language that I do not want my students emulating. The moral to the book 'The Ho...
'Homework s**ks and school s**ks!' How can Dan write like this? I am a fan of his sports/historical time travel books and the 'Kid Who Ran for President' books. But, his latest book contain language that I do not want my students emulating. The moral to the book 'The Homework Machine' is that you can cheat all year without any consequences. I was very disappointed in Dan's latest.

posted by Anonymous on July 18, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 123 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Wavs Radio

    Great book for kids who hate homework.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Great book very interesting i love the end but can not tell yoy what happens read the sample and see if you like it the book is told from the perspective of the main characters and grab a tissue when snick gets news about his dad

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    It sooo fly!

    Love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Mr Awesome

    I think this book is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    I love it!

    This is easily the best book of all time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    The book.

    This book was really good i read it for my book report and im 11 years old it was aa good book. The milner that mean annoying h scared me when they frist mentioned him in the book.Then i looked up the word and it was a werid deftion.And at the end i was SUPER happy that Judy asked Brenton out . And Sam asked Kelesy out too. This was the best book i've read andi never read Dan Gutman books. Thank you for reading my review of The Homework Machine .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    This book flippin rocks

    This book is a very good book. I loved i don'now if you will but i did. This book was so good i almost read the dame book in one day. Gutman i just love your books
    Your friend,
    J**********y

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    MUST READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! FIVE Flippin stars !!

    Author Dan Gutman is afabulous writer! This is a must read book. When I was reading this book, I ccouldn't put it down. Tip: make sure you know wich charicter you are reading about while reading! I love The Homework machine!

    PS. I love CHEESE!!!!:)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Good book!

    It is very suspenseful, and it keeps you reading to find out what happens next. The author gave this book a unique, yet happy ending. I would reccomend this book to anyone who likes books that are adventurous and have a happy ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    Awesome book

    I had to read this book for school. I thought it would be boring but i actually couldnt stop reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    My class and I read this book, I know i enjoyed it but I'm not so sure about my class.

    I was an exciting and funny book. We read it as if it was a play..... boys sometimes got girl parts and vice versa.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    Graet choice!

    Love this book think it is a great quick and easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    awesome

    it was a really good read. i highly reccomend it. did you know there's a sequel? awesome!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    The Homework Machine

    I loved this book. It is very helpful for reading, being used in the classrooms, how four very different students kept a secret. The Homework Machine is a book that everyone will love, no matter how old you are. It is also very funny and very much worth reading. It is about four students, Kelsey, Sam, Brendon and Judy, who are very different from one another that keep a secret from the rest of the school about a machine that does their homework for them. Things come close to other people finding out about it. The students panick in some cases. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to get a good laugh and who wants to just enjoy a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    Homework Machine

    Hey you do you hate homework, but do it anyway? Well check this out! Four kids called the D squad have a machine, code name Belch. Before their eyes, it is more powerful then them. If anyone finds out about Belch they¿ll end up in jail or worse. Let me tell you a bit about those four kids. The smartest of them is Brenton Damatchi. Brenton isn¿t cool and doesn¿t know what happens through TV. All he knows is everything there needs to be known, so he doesn¿t go with the flow is what I¿m trying to say. The second brightest is Judy Douglas. Judy is as well smart, but not as smart as Brenton. She thinks too much of herself. She never talks about Brenton. The not so bright kid is Sam Dawkins. Sam is cool and though. He really is a trouble maker and gets low grades. His dad had died in the army, so he only has his mom now. Finally, there¿s Kelesey Dannelly, she isn¿t smart. She usually has low grades like Cs and Ds, so really she is almost like Sam. Kelesey has exotic hair and is a rebel. Here is some advice, ¿do your homework¿ nothing positives come when you don¿t even do your homework. Even though the homework machine is great to have, you wouldn¿t want to be dumb as a caveman, would you? How would you know everything you have to know by not even doing any of your homework? I recommend this would machine but it failed very badly. She at least tried to do it because she was too lazy to do her homework since she hated homework. She got caught by her parents, so she got grounded for a month.<BR/><BR/>By: Jennifer Martinez

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2008

    This is the book for you if you don┬┐t like homework.

    The Homework Machine is about four kids which are Brenton Damagatchi, Judy Douglas, Kelsey Donnelly and Sam Dawkins. Brenton Damagatchi is a smart Asian boy that invents the homework machine. Judy Douglas is a sweet, kind and smart African American girl. Kelsey Donnelly is the class clown of her class, and Sam Dawkins is a slacker. The story when Brenton makes a homework machine. Then in school Miss Rasmussen the 5th grade teacher assigns seats and puts Brenton, Judy, Sam, and Kelsey in one table. Miss Rasmussen calls their table the D squad because their last names all end with a D. Everybody in the D squad knew that they were not going to get along. One day Judy, Sam, Kelsey decided to go to Brenton¿s house. Then they saw the computer with a printer. Brenton explained that it was a Homework Machine. Nobody could believe that he invented a Homework Machine. Then he showed them how it worked with his homework he had that night. They didn¿t what to go to do their homework so they used it that day. Months passed and they keep on using it. After a while, people are getting suspicious. They stop using the homework machine for a while because they know people are getting suspicious. One day they tried to turn it off, but it would not turn off. Will the homework machine take over them? I connect with this book because sometimes I don¿t like doing homework. The lesson of this book is not to take the easy road, Do Your Homework. I would recommend this book to people because it is funny.<BR/><BR/><BR/>By Stephania

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    HOMEWORK MACHINE! THE BEST BOOK

    This book, i liked the most! its so interesting as if the magnet is moving you towards it, i couldn't wait and didn't sleep at night, but finished it in one day, thank you Mr. Dan Gutman

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    a reviewer

    This book is really cool!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    Great book!

    I loved this book! It was so good, I read it in two days! I think that anyone will really enjoy this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    A reviewer

    Hey can you keep a secret? Brenton Damagatchi has invented a homework machine! The Homework Machine by Dan Gutman is one exciting book. The book is about Brenton Damagatchi who invented a Homework Machine and he uses it with his friends Sam (or Snik) Dawkins, Kelsey Donnelly, and Judy Douglas. Their 5th grade teacher is wondering why Kelsey and Sam are doing so well on their homework, but bad in school. So, one day their teacher gave them a pop quiz Brenton got an A, Judy got a C, and Kelsey and Sam got F¿s. Those grades made their teacher start to wonder. There¿s another student named Ronnie Teotwawki that spies on Brenton, Sam, Kelsey, and Judy. Ronnie thinks that they have been using a Homework Machine. The things that I liked about the book are the dedication page. Dan Gutman dedicates the book ¿To kids who hate homework¿ but do it anyways.¿ Another thing that I liked about the book was the way it was written. My favorite part of the book was the at the end. Brenton, Sam, Kelsey, and Judy had to get rid of the Homework Machine because people were finding out about it. To find out how they got rid of it read the book. In the book it taught me that secrets are sometimes found out by other people. I don¿t think a 5th grade student would invent a Homework Machine, but if someone does call me. I would recommend this book to people who like mysteries and kids who hate homework. I give the The Homework Machine ***** stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 123 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7