Customer Reviews for

Homicide: A Year on the Killing Streets

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Homicide: A Year on the Killing Streets

    First off, I'm a huge fan of both The Wire and it's creator David Simon, who wrote this book. This is a non-fiction book, and one of the best ones that I have read at that. Simon is such an amazing reporter and his observations into the regular life of a "Bawlmore Murder Police" is uncanny. Homicide is a masterpiece of journalism and I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in the criminal justice system. This, and anything else that Simon does, is anti-Law and Order/CSI, two shows that should be taken as an accurate portrayal. And as a fan of either of these shows may rebut, they may just be viewed as mere entertainment, but Simon writes about the real police in a fashion that is incredibly more entertaining and real.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    Great read

    Recommended to anyone who enjoys the true crime genre. Well written and compelling storytelling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Tremendous!

    I read this book after watching the last 2 seasons of the Wire (which this book is the source material for). It gave me a lot more understanding of how the "murder police" think and operate. It was then a real treat to watch the entire Wire series from episode 1 and then to watch the old series Homicide: Life on the Street (which again is derived from this book). Mr. Simon clearly did a tremendous amount of research and has a great way of conferring real stories and situations. As a stand alone, this book is pretty hard core, but quite entertaining, educational, and just fun. I highly recommend it for anyone interested in real crime stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Timeless

    This is a must read for any new or experienced cop alike. Accurate description of station house life and of the way witnesses and victims and other cops act. Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    I was really excited about this book because I am obsessed with

    I was really excited about this book because I am obsessed with the HBO show The Wire. It was a good book but I expected more I suppose. I got bored several times while reading it and its pace was just slow I felt. Was good, but could have been better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Exceptional writing

    Forget CSI...this is how solving murders really works. This book is rough and gritty, and brilliantly depicts the work of the Homicide Unit. Simon is an exceptional writer. Throughout the book, his hard, tough, at times sarcastic tone brilliantly portrays the inner thoughts and feelings of the detectives, even as they interrogate suspects or follow leads. Besides its length, the book's most obvious downside is the constantly changing point of view, as Simon follows numerous detectives and cases. It's definitely possible to track this changing point of view, but it requires some work. This issue is partially resolved when Simon introduces the focal point of the book, the case of a missing girl, about halfway through the book. This helps readers to prioritize which cases they pay attention to and which they don't--cleverly, the deluge of cases Simon hurls at the reader hints at the crowded workload of the detectives. Overall, this book embodies an exceptional piece of writing and research, but I would caution readers who have weak stomachs. The violence depicted in these pages is graphic and real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2002

    Worthwhile

    Original, straightforward, fascinating account of writer who shadows a homicide squad and their cases. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2001

    Never loses its touch

    I picked up this book because I was a fan of the TV series, but Simon's book is a whole universe of its own. It draws you under the skin of the city and its detectives with a cold, clinical approach that lets you make the judgements. Once I started reading I couldn't put it down. And even though I have read this book over and over, every time it still has immense emotional impact and punch. You learn something new every time. Even if you've just read the book minutes before, it's as if you're reading it for the first time. Classic crime writing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2