Customer Reviews for

The Homing

Average Rating 3.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    Sponsor us!

    You must be a clan leader/rp founder/story writer to sponsor us. You will always be in the newspaper. List your clans and rps and stories (that you own) here and we will always put those on. You may update, but ONLY once a month. Being a sponsor, a person from your rp must join our leage. TY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Olivia to Ashley

    Do you like Lord of the Rings? Im OBSESSED!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Amy

    Jake hunter is here just so u know ok everyone stop crowding ashleythis is her room and if she doesnt want oeople her ethen ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Don't Waste Your Money

    This is the book that convinced me I will never understand why John Saul is so popular and to quit trying. I place it as the worst book I've ever read. Luckily it was at the bottom of a box of books from a yard sale so I didn't feel I wasted too much money on it.

    The characters are weak and one dimensional. I had more empathy for the animals in the book than any of the children. It seemed to me that the story was too all over the place and not one character could make an intelligent decision. I suppose in another author's hands the concept could have been an excellent thriller, but Saul executes it so poorly that I can't believe I managed the entire book. I guess I'm just a masochist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This Book makes your Skin Crawl

    Im a big fan of John Saul. All of his books are origional, so you never have to read the same stuff over and over. The Homing was pretty good, and interesting. The whole concept of "killer insects" makes your skin crawl as your readining. The vividness of the insects sticks in your brain making you scratch your skin when nothings there! So, all in all, I enjoyed it. I think any fan of Saul should read this book. Not many people gave it a lot of credit, but I think its pretty good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2004

    I'd give it a 1/16th star, but one was the lowest option

    If this wasn't the worst novel I've ever read, then it had to be close. Where to start... For one, the characters were so ridiculously unbelievable it was laughable. The emotions, thoughts, and dialogue were simple, trite, and horrifyingly bland. I've seen more realistic personalities and emotional reactions from professional wrestlers than I found from the individuals in this book. I¿m amazed at how unbothered some of these peeps were despite grisly, and quite super-super-natural happenings. The story ¿ which in another¿s hands might have had potential ¿ sloshed through some pretty well worn territory and, I thought, was predictable before the first 100 pages and was ultimately crippled by the generic prose. The only way I¿d ever recommend The Homing is if a person had never read a book in their entire life and, being that this would be their first experience to popular fiction, I could confidently say that everything else they read from then onwards would be vastly improved. Not to belabor my point (which bitters and sits in my mouth like battery acid), but if this book were a movie, then it be going straight to video. Granted this was the first Saul novel I¿ve ever read so I can¿t speak to his other work, but I¿d need some thorough convincing before I ever pick up another one of his books again. My final recommendation: Unless you¿re a glutton for punishment, don¿t buy or read this book. There are way too many good ones out there waiting for your time and attention.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2002

    Good for the first book read by John Saul

    This was the first book of Sauls that I read. It was suspensful, and I liked it. But then I read more of his books and I am hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2002

    Pretty good

    It was a pretty good book. I didn't like the ending, because it was sad. At least, I think it was sad. I haven't read it in a year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2001

    Great book for Stephen King fans

    Outstanding horror book that deserves more than 3 stars & more credit to John Saul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2001

    Better than Nightshade, not as good as Right Hand of Evil

    A definite John Saul read. I was not impressed with Nightshade, but this book brought back my faith that John Saul is the best author around. Every book he writes has a new, original storyline. This reminds me of the children of the corn, but with insects.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2001

    Not Bad

    Kept my attention and was a good read...not outstanding but still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2001

    Gave me nightmares

    I don't read many horror books, but picked this one up to round out my reading for the year. This book absolutely terrified and captivated me at the same time. I can say that as a work of literature, Saul's story was unique and interesting and his characters very well-developed. As for being a horror book, I literally had nightmares for two nights after finishing the book (hence the four stars). I might be morbid enough to go back for more later....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2000

    not that hot

    John Saul pulled me into his world of horror with his book Second Child. I found this book to be lacking character that his other books have had in the past. The bug idea was a good one, but for those of us who have seen Creepers... its been done!!! Is his work becoming a production of middle material??? Mass horror never becomes classic scare tales. I hope his novels can bring themselves up to speed with his competition and his original work that I so greatly love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2