Customer Reviews for

Honeymoon with My Brother: A Memoir

Average Rating 4.5
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wisner's Wisdom is Relevant and Story is Adorable

    After being left at the altar by his fiancee, Annie, Franz Wisner's optimistic spirit allows him to start rebuilding his life. But then he is demoted from his high power job at a real estate company and is devastated. The only thing that he still has is a prepaid honeymoon to Costa Rica. He sees this as a prime opportunity to reconnect with the helpful and supportive brother he had drifted from, Kurt. The two develop a plan in Costa Rica to quit their jobs (after Franz receives his sizable bonus), and embark on a two year long world tour to some of the globe's lesser know destinations. As the brothers reconnect and go on outrageous adventures, they are continuously sending postcards to their elderly step-grandmother LaRue and healing emotional wounds. This touching tale of two estranged brothers will stick with you and shape your global views.
    My favorite part of this story is the specific stories of the people Franz and Kurt encounter on their journey. From the world's worst taxi driver, Victor, to the beautiful, frustrated, and bright Deborah, I love feeling like I have met these diverse and memorable people by seeing a small snapshot of their lives. The way that Wisner describes how people outside of America live is fascinating to me.
    Wisner's theme of global connectedness and the benefits of broadening your horizons can be seen in his lessons about how to not be the "ugly American." He gives advice about going native and abandoning the guidebooks. The life lessons don't feel preachy or hypocritical and speak from experience. However, I thought that the book was slow and lackluster in some sections.
    This book might appeal to readers who liked the religious discussions and insightful observation in Life of Pi. For those addicted to the travel section of Barnes and Noble, this nonfiction is a must-read. People drawn to National Geographic and Travel and Leisure Magazine should also consider this book. If you're dealing with a heartbreak you might be able to relate to and get help from the Wisner brothers.
    This personal and endearing tale instructs on the healing powers of exploring the world and the commonality all humans share regardless of the country that they call home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    Just for Fun

    This is so much fun to read. Great for flight or beach. I love books that take me on trips to other parts of the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Fun and entertaining.

    Honeymoon is original and funny. I would recommend it to my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2009

    Very original

    I was pleasantly surprized with this book. The stryline is intriguing but the way the author writes truly improves the reading experiences. Throughout his travels he kept journals and he uses italics to explain his thinking at the time, a style difficult to explain but very easy to read and relate. The writing is thoughful and the author does a fine job of providing context with every explanation, albeit his own perspective. The plot sets up an interesting and insightful journey that parallels the author's personal growth. He himself had led an interesting life before the traveling described in his book, which kept me curious throughout. Overall it was a great read for the travel minded, but much better for those investigating feelings about prior personal relationships. I only wish the author could have provided some more detail about the travels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Honeymoon With My Brother

    This was a totaly different outlook on a honeymoon. It was a fun book and what a great way to spend what could have been a bad time in life. I enjoyed the book with it's unusual theme.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2007

    a great read

    I loved this book. It first takes the reader through the difficult time that Franz has after his fiance calls off the wedding. But of course the reader knows that it's a blessing in disguise. The way Franz expresses what happens is very real and something most of us can relate to in some way. But with the help of family and friends he manages to not descend into a 'poor-me' life and instead takes advantage of what life has handed him: a great brother and exploring the world as his therapy. What I found inspirational was how relaxed Franz and Kurt were even when things didn't go well during their travels. An added bonus was that after I read the book I emailed the brothers telling them how much I enjoyed it, and both of them wrote me a personal email back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    Franz Wisner travels from his home in Southern California to marry his sweetheart Annie in the picturesque northern California town Sea Ranch. However, just before the ceremony, Annie stops the wedding. Stunned and humiliated, he heads home to Newport Beach only to have his boss Gary Hunt at the Irvine Company change his assignment from Sacramento and DC to Orange County. Disguising it as being good for the team does not work for Franz, who knows he has been demoted. Now angry and despondent he quits his job, hosts a mock wedding party, and travels on his honeymoon with his recently divorced brother Kurt. The twosome soon travels to over fifty countries in a two year odyssey to find one another................. This is a terrific biographical account of two years in the author¿s life when he and his sibling journey around the world to forge a camaraderie that they had lost. The descriptions of the people in various nations are vivid and engaging, but the insightful passages are those between the brothers. Readers will be inspired by Franz Wisner¿s upbeat memoir as he and Kurt learn what love and friendship are all about each understands now that ¿He ain¿t heavy he¿s my brother¿......... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2005

    Excellent read

    I don't know if it's because I've always wanted to take a trip like this with my brother or if it's because I somewhat relate to what he went through with the breakup or if it's just because it's a great book but I found this book highly enjoyable and very easy to read. Have recommended it to many people and bought a copy for my brother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2004

    Parallel Universe Experience...

    Reading Wisner's 'Honeymoon,' I am amazed at how similar our life and career paths were. Former Press Secretary, then PR and Govt. Relations hack, then - well, then I got married and started a family, whom I love. Alas, is it wrong if I confess that traveling the world and peeling that onion wouldn't have been such a terrible fate, either? Kudos on a tremendous first book. Wisner is like a moveable Vortex of Love, hopefully coming to a town or country near you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2