Customer Reviews for

The Honk and Holler Opening Soon

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Love this book!!!

I loved this book to the point that I went out and bought another Billie Letts book, but sadly none of her others compare to this one. The characters became my friends, and I really felt like I was a regular at the Honk and Holler Opening Soon. This is an awesome book w...
I loved this book to the point that I went out and bought another Billie Letts book, but sadly none of her others compare to this one. The characters became my friends, and I really felt like I was a regular at the Honk and Holler Opening Soon. This is an awesome book with great plot twists, along with all the charm small towns have to offer. If you want a really great read, this is definately the book for you. Seriously now one of my all time favorite books.

posted by animalrights03 on July 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Vena Takes Horse character

Vena Takes horse is a very strong character, although she has many internal struggles. She has had problems with relationships in the past, she has problems with relationships in the present, and she has many self esteem issues. She doesen't think shes good enough for c...
Vena Takes horse is a very strong character, although she has many internal struggles. She has had problems with relationships in the past, she has problems with relationships in the present, and she has many self esteem issues. She doesen't think shes good enough for caney and is scared to stay with him. She is also running from gulit of her past and feels that by moving it will help it go away.

posted by Anonymous on March 11, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this book!!!

    I loved this book to the point that I went out and bought another Billie Letts book, but sadly none of her others compare to this one. The characters became my friends, and I really felt like I was a regular at the Honk and Holler Opening Soon. This is an awesome book with great plot twists, along with all the charm small towns have to offer. If you want a really great read, this is definately the book for you. Seriously now one of my all time favorite books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    I loved this story! Billie Letts is a fantastic author. Her stories are always original and touching. Her characters have problems and it makes them real. It's a great read and I definitely recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2005

    Vena Takes Horse character

    Vena Takes horse is a very strong character, although she has many internal struggles. She has had problems with relationships in the past, she has problems with relationships in the present, and she has many self esteem issues. She doesen't think shes good enough for caney and is scared to stay with him. She is also running from gulit of her past and feels that by moving it will help it go away.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2005

    Billie Letts at her best

    I thought this was such a good book. I hated to finish it. The characters are all so wonderful. I will certainly read it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2004

    Heartwarming story!

    My sister gave me this book for Christmas and I wasn't too sure about it because of the title. I picked it up and gave it a chance...read it in 3 days, I couldn't put it down! Billie Letts is a very talented author, I can't wait to read 'Shoot the Moon'!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2003

    Characters so real - lovely plot twists !

    The characters in this small town story line are among the best and most intriquing in today's fiction. From the un-lucky at love newly hired waitress , to the handicapped restaurant owner, you will love these people and this glimpse at their lives. A thoughtful look at the emotional hardships that all carry around with them. Many truly funny and inventive moments too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    Another wholesome down-home novel by Billie Letts. After readin

    Another wholesome down-home novel by Billie Letts. After reading Where the Heart Is, I started looking to read everything else she wrote. The Honk and Holler Opening Soon shows off Letts' specialty; quirky, loveable characters. They are all broken in some way, but manage to keep going. The story slows down and plods along in a few places, but never enough that I wanted to stop reading. The book teaches about perseverance and that there are blue skies after the rain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    ?? ??

    Isnt this a movie???

    -a certain person....
    •^_^• <--those are dimples :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Heartwarming Story--If you can suspend reality Simply put, this

    Heartwarming Story--If you can suspend reality

    Simply put, this is a pleasant, heartwarming story filled with several hard 
    luck, often quirky, characters who make each other's lives a little better. It is 
    reminiscent of Fannie Flagg's novels and characters. I liked the book so much,I wanted to believe that this could really happen, and that's my only issue with the story. Where else but in fiction, can someone just walk into a diner and start working for tips? No application. No proof of citizenship. I could believe someone forced to live in an abandoned bus, maybe even being able to slip into an open window of a church to live, but the harsh realities of being homeless is that once you lose your place to live and with it a postal address, you lose your ability to work, to get assistance, to do just about anything, and this novel skirts that very serious issue. Reading the other customer reviews, however, it appears I am the only one who had a problem with that. If you can ignore that simple piece of reality, this is a wonderful , likeable story. Certainly worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Characters you can identify with.

    This book is another great read from down to earh author Billie Letts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Good Reading

    Ms.Letts does an amazing job of telling her stories. You will be hooked until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Fabulous book

    I loved this book! It's impossible not to fall in love with the characters and the entire town of Seqoyah, Oklahoma. I truly hope that Billie Letts writes a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Sweet and gentle read

    I really enjoyed rhe magic of this book and hated to get to the last page. Wish there was more to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    this needs to be a movie

    i enjoyed the everyday gossip that took place inthis book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Not just a girl book!

    I picked this up in Mexico and read it in one day.

    It is one of the best books I have read in a long time..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    A transporting, feel-good read

    I loved this book! I just fell in love with all the characters. I love stories like this. You are totally transported to Sequoyah, Oklahoma and into the Honk and Holler Opening Soon and the lives of the lovable inhabitants of this small town (much like my own) where it seems everybody knows everybody. Highly recommended if you are looking for a wonderful story that will capture your heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Very Good Book.

    I would recommend this book to anybody who enjoyed 'Where the Heart Is.'This book was an easy read without being boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    A good, easy read

    Having worked my college years in a restaurant bar very similar to The Honk I found this book very enjoyable. I read this for a book club and we had a good time discussing the various characters and we could all relate to at least one of them in one way or another.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    Enjoyed this book

    Loved this quirky cast of characters. Left me wanting more! Would be neat to have a sequel to this to see how the characters have evolved over several years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2003

    wonderful!

    The characters arefascinating and real life. A perfect book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4