Customer Reviews for

The Honk and Holler Opening Soon

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Love this book!!!

I loved this book to the point that I went out and bought another Billie Letts book, but sadly none of her others compare to this one. The characters became my friends, and I really felt like I was a regular at the Honk and Holler Opening Soon. This is an awesome book w...
I loved this book to the point that I went out and bought another Billie Letts book, but sadly none of her others compare to this one. The characters became my friends, and I really felt like I was a regular at the Honk and Holler Opening Soon. This is an awesome book with great plot twists, along with all the charm small towns have to offer. If you want a really great read, this is definately the book for you. Seriously now one of my all time favorite books.

posted by animalrights03 on July 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Vena Takes Horse character

Vena Takes horse is a very strong character, although she has many internal struggles. She has had problems with relationships in the past, she has problems with relationships in the present, and she has many self esteem issues. She doesen't think shes good enough for c...
Vena Takes horse is a very strong character, although she has many internal struggles. She has had problems with relationships in the past, she has problems with relationships in the present, and she has many self esteem issues. She doesen't think shes good enough for caney and is scared to stay with him. She is also running from gulit of her past and feels that by moving it will help it go away.

posted by Anonymous on March 11, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this book!!!

    I loved this book to the point that I went out and bought another Billie Letts book, but sadly none of her others compare to this one. The characters became my friends, and I really felt like I was a regular at the Honk and Holler Opening Soon. This is an awesome book with great plot twists, along with all the charm small towns have to offer. If you want a really great read, this is definately the book for you. Seriously now one of my all time favorite books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    I loved this story! Billie Letts is a fantastic author. Her stories are always original and touching. Her characters have problems and it makes them real. It's a great read and I definitely recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2004

    Heartwarming story!

    My sister gave me this book for Christmas and I wasn't too sure about it because of the title. I picked it up and gave it a chance...read it in 3 days, I couldn't put it down! Billie Letts is a very talented author, I can't wait to read 'Shoot the Moon'!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2003

    Characters so real - lovely plot twists !

    The characters in this small town story line are among the best and most intriquing in today's fiction. From the un-lucky at love newly hired waitress , to the handicapped restaurant owner, you will love these people and this glimpse at their lives. A thoughtful look at the emotional hardships that all carry around with them. Many truly funny and inventive moments too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    ?? ??

    Isnt this a movie???

    -a certain person....
    •^_^• <--those are dimples :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Characters you can identify with.

    This book is another great read from down to earh author Billie Letts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Good Reading

    Ms.Letts does an amazing job of telling her stories. You will be hooked until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Fabulous book

    I loved this book! It's impossible not to fall in love with the characters and the entire town of Seqoyah, Oklahoma. I truly hope that Billie Letts writes a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Sweet and gentle read

    I really enjoyed rhe magic of this book and hated to get to the last page. Wish there was more to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    this needs to be a movie

    i enjoyed the everyday gossip that took place inthis book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Not just a girl book!

    I picked this up in Mexico and read it in one day.

    It is one of the best books I have read in a long time..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2003

    wonderful!

    The characters arefascinating and real life. A perfect book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2003

    Wonderful

    I found myself laughing out loud and weeping all through this story of people you fall in love with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2003

    Wonderful, wonderful book

    The story was wonderfully written. I was sad when I finished the last page and held on to it for a few minutes before I could put it away on the shelf. Definitely ranks as one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2003

    An Absolutely Wonderful Book

    This is a fantastic book that you won't want to put down once you start! I highly recommend this heartfelt book. I have read many, many books and this is by far the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2002

    Bille Letts does it again

    What can you say about a book that touches not only your soul but your heart as well. Ms. Letts has a true gift of writing and creating characters that not our unforgettable but they become family. Please write some more books soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2002

    Pick Of The Litter

    The title of this review refers to a line in this wonderful novel. It says it all -- this is Ms. Letts best work that I have read. In fact, it's one of my all time favorites. The characters and plot piece together like a fine piece of art. If you love good down home southern books, then look no farhter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2002

    Simply beautiful

    A story that will break and heal your heart more than once. At times an excerpt would prove profound enough to warrant a moment to ponder the deeper meaning. The writing has a luxurious, captivating flow. A sheer pleasure to read with many rewards for the reader to take with them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2002

    A Fabulous Addition To Literature

    This was such an amazing novel. I loved every page. It related fictional characters to real people, and Letts does it very well. The Honk and The Holler connects different people (by race, religon, beliefs, etc.)in the simplest ways. Expresses true love, fun, courage, the whole works. For any author this is a great accomplishment, and I praise Billie Letts for that. I wish I had the time to read it over hundreds of times. Just to look back on my favorite parts, characters. The war, poverty, love is a ll in side this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2002

    Hands Down, Book of the Year

    Letts has woven characters and lives in such a magical way, you hope to stay in Oklahoma forever. For a feel good, stay-up-all-night read, this is a sure bet. The perfect holiday, birthday, or just because gift book. The best book I have read in a long time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2