Customer Reviews for

Honor Reclaimed

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    HORNET, book 2 Seth & Phoebe's story U.S. Marine Sniper

    HORNET, book 2
    Seth & Phoebe's story




    U.S. Marine Sniper Seth Harland was a POW in Afghanistan for 15 months before being rescued, released from the military & having his name dragged through the mud by the tabloids for being the sole survivor of his troop's ambush. 
    Now, nearly 2 years later, HORNET is giving him a second chance, albeit hesitantly, as they are tasked to get into A-stan & rescue a black ops soldier who's SOS could not be answered in time.




    Phoebe Leighton is a photojournalist with a dark past & secret. To try to balance the harm she'd once caused, she focuses on human rights stories, primarily young women in oppressed countries.




    Phoebe's latest story is about to collide with Seth's first mission on the team. In the land of nightmares & flashbacks, Seth needs to find a way to keep it together. He needs not only to survive the mission, but to be an asset.




    -----------------------------------------------------




    Tonya Burrows is on the fast-track to being a top favorite of mine. Honor Reclaimed was well-written & well-paced. I loved all the characters & it was nice to read the tidbits of background on each of the men that were fed to the readers throughout the book. (I actually look forward to reading Ian's book now... I NEED to know his story.) Plenty of action, good amount of romance. Believable dialogue. Very well done! Can't wait to read the next one (hope it is sooner than the last wait)!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    The lives of a determined photojournalist, an ex-Marine sufferin

    The lives of a determined photojournalist, an ex-Marine suffering from PTSD, and an Afghani runaway child-wife weave together in this gripping, heart-rending, and at times infuriating story. I loved every minute. When Seth and Phoebe meet, he is on a black-ops mission to Afghanistan. He suffers from PTSD, and few on his squad believe him capable of doing anything more than endangering the team, but Phoebe sees something different, and through her, Seth begins to see things differently, as well.
    The story is solidly written, the characters well-drawn and likable, and the hard issues Tonya Burrows covers are done with a very deft hand. 
    Very Well Done. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic story about Seth Harlan from the ex-military group, Ho

    Fantastic story about Seth Harlan from the ex-military group, Hornet. Two years later and Seth still suffers from PTSD. He was held captive and tortured for over a year in Afghanistan. Going back there on a rescue mission for a black ops soldier might be more than he can handle. Watching him go through his PTSD was heartbreaking. I wanted to gather him in my arms and hold him.

    Phoebe is fantastic even though she sometimes pulls some stunts that make things harder for everyone. She is strong-willed and stubborn. When she's passionate about something, she's all in. Not only is she passionate about women's mistreatment around the world but she very passionate about helping Seth deal with his problems. In some of their more intimate moments, you almost feel like you're intruding. Those moments are so personal, private, and beautiful. 

    Tonya Burrows has written a wonderful story of romance, suspense, fantastic action, and real-life issues. I am definitely a fan! I can't wait to read more!

    *free copy gifted for honest review
    **originally reviewed for welovekink(dot)com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2014

    In Wilde Nights in Paradise, I said that Seth¿s story was going

    In Wilde Nights in Paradise, I said that Seth’s story was going to break my heart … I just didn’t realize that it was going to rip it right out of my chest.  I sat glued to the pages, turning them as fast as I could, with my throat clogged up and loving every minute of it. 

    As long as you are ok with an emotional rollercoaster, Honor Reclaimed is definitely worth the effort.  The ending absolutely slayed me and I think it will be a while before I let that one go, but it was everything I hoped it would be and I’m definitely looking forward to the next book in the series.    

    Full review available at Romantic Reads and Such on wordpress.

    (Complimentary copy provided in exchange for an honest review)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is an emotionally tough book.  Seth has been dealt a raw de

    This is an emotionally tough book.  Seth has been dealt a raw deal.  Not only was he a tortured POW in Afghanistan but when he came home he was skewered in the press.  Now he is trying to get some sense of normalcy working as a recruit for HORNET and dealing with his PTSD.  The guys from HORNET get a case that hits home for Seth. An American black op has gone wrong and a soldier has been left captive.  Seth will have to dig deep to focus on the now.  Helping with that is a contact in the form of photojournalist Phoebe Leighton but she has secrets in her past too.  
    This book tore me up.  I hurt so bad for Seth, Tehani, Zak and Quinn.  Watching Seth heal made it all worth while.  My only real complaint is that though I read the first HORNET book SEAL of Honor I still felt like I was missing something as Ms. Burrows refers to characters from her Wilde Security series which I have not read.  It isn’t distracting enough to ruin the read but it does make me want to go back and find out what I’ve missed and who these people are and why I should care.
    Complimentary copy provided by author/publisher for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2014

    Man I love these Hornet books. They are thrill rides that keep y

    Man I love these Hornet books. They are thrill rides that keep you turning the pages. I have been curious about Seth from his mentions in the previous books and I was glad to find out he wasn't as written off as everyone suspected and I loved Phoebe. The chemistry between them was awesome.
    Tonya Burrows writes some sexy alpha heroes an i highly recommend this book.
    Overall 5 out of 5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by ANGELA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    ~Reviewed by ANGELA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    The Hostage, Rescue, and Negotiation Team aka Hornet team is on the move.  The mission is to save a fellow soldier from captivity.  Seth, a former captive of the very same camp is called upon to join the rescue and it will take all he has to complete this mission.  With his PTSD coming to the surface…the question is not Will he survive? But how will he survive? I’ll tell you how; with the help of his team, Phoebe and with pure determination.  Revenge may play a part as well.

    The biggest trial for this team is trust.  Being that they are all ex seals with “issues,” I can’t say that I blame them.  Each member has a background that can jeopardize their mission or worse, their lives.  But with this new task, they were able to work together and prove their worth to each other.  They have plenty to work on, no doubt, but after this book, there’s certainly more I-trust-you-with-my-life outlook toward each other.  It was great to see them get there. The jokes, banters and even their male drama were entertaining.

    The romance was not as strong as the last book, but I actually enjoyed their romance more than Gabe and Audrey’s story.  It was simple.  It had a little angst but not too complicated.  And sometimes, that’s what I look for. 

    I also just found out that this series crosses over the Wilde Security series.   But I don’t think it is necessary to follow both.  I certainly did not feel lost or felt that I was missing any information as I read this book.  In fact I fully enjoyed Honor Reclaimed as it is though this is the second installment, I don’t think it is necessary to read book one.  If you’re up to reading a quick military romance, I recommend giving this book a try. 

    Similar to this series that I have enjoyed are Pamela Clare’s I team series, and Laura Kaye’s Hard Ink series.

    *ARC provided by publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    Awesome

    Loved it. Lots of suspense, great characters, great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Honor Reclaimed is a gut-clenching, heart-pounding, and emotion-

    Honor Reclaimed is a gut-clenching, heart-pounding, and emotion-packed adventure about love and healing that I could not put down!




    Seth Harlan is a man on the edge. A former Marine sniper and POW for fifteen long, torturous months. Seth never understood, 'why him?' Why did he make it out when so many of his friends didn't? And why did he survive hell when he wasn't sure whether he wanted to or not? Joining HORNET though has given him a second chance. A second chance at being part of a team. And a second chance at life, if only his head doesn't screw it up for him. Being sent back to Afghanistan to rescue another POW might be the final breaking point for him though. That is until he crosses paths with photojournalist Phoebe Leighton. Right away Seth knows that Phoebe is hiding something from him but she also grounds him and makes him feel things he hasn't felt in a long time. Things he didn't even know he was still capable of feeling after his imprisonment. Will the secret she hides destroy the fragile relationship they have built in the Sand? As danger surrounds them and terrorists conspire to make a deadly arms deal, love should be the last thing on either of their minds. But you can't help where the heart leads you... 




    Honor Reclaimed picks up soon after the first book, Seal of Honor. The story arc does intertwine slightly with the Wilde Security series as well but still makes a good stand-alone. Though if you love military romance like I do and enjoy an author who can weave a captivating story then I recommend you adding all four books to your to-be-read list. You won't be disappointed. 




    We've heard of and seen Seth in previous novels as a very paranoid and withdrawn character. In Honor Reclaimed he goes through hell and back and literally steals your heart to take along for the ride. The highs and lows that this man has to go through, the ridicule from some of his teammates that you would think men in their position would be more understanding about, is absolutely heart breaking. And the saddest part about this story is that it could be true. A hundred times over. Tonya Borrows writes with such confidence and heart that you can easily mistake the fact that this is a fictional story while reading. 




    Phoebe herself was a majestic character with spunk. She had past mistakes to atone for and I really think did the best she could to do just that. She found a passion in being a women's rights advocate and often put her life on the line to show the world just what was happening it's far reaches. And she was just perfect for Seth. She was his rock when he needed it most and despite being in a room full of intimidating military men, she wasn't afraid to put the men of HORNET in their places when it came to their treatment of Seth. Phoebe and Seth's relationship was a slow burning one, but once that fire lit their was no putting it out! She brings out a side of him that no one on his team has ever seen. A person that he hasn't seen himself in years. And with her help his future doesn't seem so bleak and lonely. I couldn't love this pair more. 




    The plot was thrilling, sexy, and fast-paced with the perfect balance of passion and intrigue. The characters were easily relateable and the story completely swept me away. Honor Reclaimed is one of the best books I have read this year and Tonya Burrows should be on ever romance readers radar as an author to watch! If you're a fan of Catherine Mann, Cindy Gerard, Maya Banks or Lori Foster's romantic suspense's then you must pick up Honor Reclaimed today! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Former Marine sniper Seth Harlan is determined to prove that he

    Former Marine sniper Seth Harlan is determined to prove that he can still do his job despite his ongoing battle with PTSD. When an old friend contacts HORNET to rescue a black ops soldier, Seth's stability is strained. He knows all too well what it's like to rot inside an enemy camp, praying for rescue and waiting for death. And he's not about to leave a man behind.




    Photojournalist Phoebe Leighton just stumbled into the middle of an arms deal. Teaming up with a ragtag team of mercenaries is the last thing she wants to do--especially when she realizes Seth Harlan is assigned to the mission. He may ignite a passion in her she thought long dead, but Phoebe's hiding a secret that could destroy him.




    With a bomb in the mix, HORNET's mission is suddenly about a lot more than an abandoned soldier. Racing against the clock, Seth, Phoebe, and the rest of the team struggle to stop a ruthless warlord bent on power, revenge...and death.




    Review:




    What an excellent story!




    I think what I liked most about it was emotional factor; from the young girls being used as bombs to what happened to Seth and Zak when they are held captive.  Then the love story between Seth and Phoebe is heart wrenching and beautiful as they work out Seth's PTSD and the secret Phoebe is keeping.  This book had me laughing, crying and tense through the whole story.




    OMG...Seth is such a strong character even when he is fighting his past as a PoW.  He is scarred inside and out by his experiences, but is trying so hard to work through his trauma.  Phoebe is a balm to his soul, though he tries to fight his feelings.  You can see as the story unfolds that calming influence that she has on him, he starts to open from not hiding behind his hoodie and stand up for himself with the other members of the team.  Phoebe is great, a strong, determined, smart woman, everything you want in a heroine of a book filled with Alpha males.




    This is the first book I have read by this Author and I really loved her writing and will definitely go back and pick up her other works.  Now, this is the second book in the HORNET series, but she does an excellent job of interweaving past people and events into the current story so you really should not feel lost.




    Excellent Story! filled with so much passion, action, and suspense that you will not want to put it down!




    4.5 Stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2014

    *ARC Courtesy of Entangled Publishing* From the first mention o

    *ARC Courtesy of Entangled Publishing*

    From the first mention of Seth in the Wilde Series, I was completely intrigued and wanted to read his story.... You just knew his was going to be a doozy and worth the wait, and it certainly did not disappoint....

    Seth is a former marine scout sniper who not only had to witness his entire team die in Afghanistan but was also captured and tortured for months, and when I say tortured, I mean severely....His body is now full of scars, but the worst of the worst are the ones you cant see and live inside his soul.

    He is now working for HORNET, and when they are contacted by one of the Wilde brothers to inform them that one of their best friends and team mates have been captured, it immediately brings up lots of nasty demons for our poor Seth. The HORNET guys go off to Afghanistan to help rescue the missing solider, where they encounter Phoebe Leighton. She is a photographer who is there taking photos of the women and children of Afghanistan. She has information that will help them and goes along with them on their rescue mission.

    She and Seth are also very attracted to one another, although with his severe case of PTSD he is not in the market for a relationship not to mention that Phoebe is hiding a secret about Seth and what she has done to him in the past, that if he finds out will not only destroy what they are building, but will ensure he never forgives her.

    This book will take you on a intriguing journey with the HORNET guys as they go deep into the desert to redeem their missing captive and will allow you to get to know and fall in love with our scarred and emotional hero Seth as he and Phoebe discover that sometimes betrayal and heartbreak can lead to love....

    Another gripping and emotional read that is a 5 star and more read from the ridiculously talented Tonya Burrows

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2014

    5 heart-stopping stars. Once again Tonya Burrows has brought us

    5 heart-stopping stars. Once again Tonya Burrows has brought us a perfect blend of romance, action, suspense, drama, angst and passion. I was put through the ringer with this book and all because of one man, Seth Harlan.

    Why? Seth is an ex-marine who shouldn't be alive. Kidnapped, held & tortured as a PoW in Afghanistan, he has been left scarred - physically and mentally. As Hornet’s newbie, he’s the outsider and the very men who should understand what he has gone through are about as supportive as a broken bra. When the guys go to Afghanistan to rescue a black-ops soldier, Seth relives his nightmare. He is broken, but broken can be fixed and his glue comes in the form of Phoebe Leighton, a photo-journalist who finds herself in spot of bother whilst on assignment. It's no bed of roses, but the mutual attraction is undeniable.

    “You make me feel things I haven’t felt in a long time. That scares the f*** outta me and I’ve had enough shrinks to know I have a tendency to lash out at things that scare me. I don’t want to hurt you. I…like you.”

    I adored Seth. His lack of self-esteem and the way he sees himself is heart-breaking, but Phoebe is perfect for him and she’s exactly the type of woman you would want as your best-friend. She's strong, kind, patient and with a stubborn determination she will fight for what and who she believes in and she slowly begins to help Seth see that underneath the scars is a man who can feel again. It’s touching, heartfelt and intimate, filled with frustration and passion.

    “If we do this, I can’t go easy. Not this time. I’m too wound up, and I’m going to bend you over that bed and f*** you until you’re screaming.”

    Sir, yes Sir!

    But whilst romance plays a huge part, there is so much more with the action/suspense side of the story. It's edge of your seat reading; it's fast paced, flows perfectly and is gripping with twists I didn't see coming. And it's all this that made a roller-coaster of a read that may have broken my heart and caused my eyes to leak, but also made me laugh, smile, growl in frustration, swoon and sigh. I felt not only Seth's & Phoebe's joy and pain, but all the guys as they each play an important part; we start to dig a little deeper into their pasts, they bring the banter, frustration and intrigue and whoever is next I am sure Tonya will do them proud. (Although between us, I'm still hoping for Ian).

    This is a book/series I seriously recommend.

    (It is worth mentioning that the Hornet series is loosely linked Tonya's Wilde Security series and, whilst it's not vital to have read the latter, the characters do crossover a little and Seth was introduced to us in Wilde Nights in Paradise. But if you haven't had the pleasure of reading SEAL of Honor, which is the first Hornet outing, go do so now as it will introduce you to many of the lovely sexy frustrating men that form the team.)

    I received a copy of this courtesy of Entangled Publishing for an honest & unbiased opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1