Customer Reviews for

The Honor of Spies (Honor Bound Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 133 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Vintage Griffin, and well worth reading

The first time I read a Griffin book that had been co-authored with his son, I had to put it down unfinished - it was in the ' Men at War ' series, and as one who had read and re-read all of Griffin's books many times, it was easy for me to see that two hands were at wo...
The first time I read a Griffin book that had been co-authored with his son, I had to put it down unfinished - it was in the ' Men at War ' series, and as one who had read and re-read all of Griffin's books many times, it was easy for me to see that two hands were at work. The next co-authored book was much better, and the teamwork keeps on improving.

The last co-authored book, "The Traffickers" suffered horribly at the hands of the editors at GP Putnam (as did a recent Clive Cussler title). The Putnam folks did a better job this time, but have yet to achieve anthing near perfection.

For fans of Cletus Frade and the other characters, this book does not disappoint. My first reading was - as are most first readings - hurried, and I have just begun my second, and more careful, read of the book.

One of the best things about the books of WEB Griffin, other than the historical details, are the well-drawn characters and attention to detail.

Again, this book is worth the price and will not disappoint.

posted by none0 on January 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Typical W.E.B. Griffin

It does continue the story of what may or may not have happened in Argentina prior to the Peron regime. And there is occassionaly humor.

posted by 2513732 on January 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    Vintage Griffin, and well worth reading

    The first time I read a Griffin book that had been co-authored with his son, I had to put it down unfinished - it was in the ' Men at War ' series, and as one who had read and re-read all of Griffin's books many times, it was easy for me to see that two hands were at work. The next co-authored book was much better, and the teamwork keeps on improving.

    The last co-authored book, "The Traffickers" suffered horribly at the hands of the editors at GP Putnam (as did a recent Clive Cussler title). The Putnam folks did a better job this time, but have yet to achieve anthing near perfection.

    For fans of Cletus Frade and the other characters, this book does not disappoint. My first reading was - as are most first readings - hurried, and I have just begun my second, and more careful, read of the book.

    One of the best things about the books of WEB Griffin, other than the historical details, are the well-drawn characters and attention to detail.

    Again, this book is worth the price and will not disappoint.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    GRIFFIN AGAIN AT HIS BEST !

    I was late in reading the book, as I am not living in the US.

    Nevertheless, I went through it as soon as it arrived and I can only say this is what we expect from this great writer.

    Bringing us back to the days of WWII and all its intrigues, the private life of the Frade family and the great camaraderie and loyalty among the members of the Husares de Pueyrredon is like being among them again.

    Yes, there are also honest Germans among the band of misfits and this was experienced also in other parts of the world during the war. But most had unfortunately given their lives to get rid of the evil at home. It is also a well known fact that many of the criminals fled to South America and had and still have florishing businesses well in to their third generations.

    I hope (and feel) that there will be more of these series, that not only are great to read, but also an uncontested lesson of history of events that no one in the Americas (the US especially) know or tend to remember.

    Thank you again for giving us this great pleasure.

    K.Münir HAMAMCIOGLU
    Istanbul, Türkiye

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    This series keeps getting better and better

    This book is the fifth of the Honor Bound series of W.E.B Griffin and I have to say it is one of my favorite. I communte about two hours each day to work and I am always listening to audiobooks in my car. This one kept me on the edge of my seat for days. It is a pleasure to listen to and you get very involved in the characters. I have loved every book in this series and could hardly wait to listen to this one.

    I like the fact that Griffin draws the listener/reader into the world of spies and war. I wasn't alive during the time period portrayed by this book but my uncle, aunt, and partents were. I love to ask them questions about the validity of some aspects of this audiobook. It is a great conversation starter.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    it has a real lack of an ending, I thought that I hadn't downloaded all of the pages!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Typical

    Typical for WEB Griffin means fantastic for most any other writer. Griffin, and now his son continues to mete out hour after hour of good solid writing on the men in uniform, the solid characters, and the honor of arms. He sees inside as well as someone who spent 20 years in uniform, the deep seated need of these men and women to serve. I'm delighted to see each new book and all of his series, and hope that he continues to write for many more years.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    When is the next installment?

    A strong continuation of a great WWII story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Griffin's my favorite

    As in all his past achievements, W.E.B. allways manages to capture your attention. The plot, the cast of characters are artistically entwined to grasp an hold your attention through to the end that arrives leaving you with the want for his next accomplishment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    More semi-great WEB

    A very entertaining book, like all of his others. I do wish Griffin would advance the story more, and spend 100 pages less in re-telling and repeating.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    WEB Griffin does it again.

    To those who like the other works of Griffin, you must like this story. The books in this series are fast paced military intelligence stories, that make you believe that the good guys can still win. Excellent read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    Typical W.E.B. Griffin

    It does continue the story of what may or may not have happened in Argentina prior to the Peron regime. And there is occassionaly humor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Excellent plot weaving fiction with WWII history. Love the whole Honor Bound Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    Great Book!

    I've read all the Honor Bound Series now and hope there are more are to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Good story, poor storytelling

    Part of a book series and the author feels a paragraph or half-page explanation is needed as each character enters the story. We already know about the main characters. I would bet that 1/4 of the book was a rehash of who's who and how they fit into the story. Wasted space in a book that could/should have had more action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    SEND ME THE BOOK FIRST

    HAVE NOT RECEIVED THE BOOK

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    Horrible ending

    I can't believe I read 5 books to get to a pathetic ending like this.
    Don't even start to read the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Griffin just continues to be the best at what he does.

    Typical Griffin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Good As Usual

    This was another winner from W.E.B. Griffin. Not spectacular but a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Right On Mr Griffin

    Another in a long line of great books. I have read tham all. Can hardly wait for a new one. This is a great series with great characters. The mix of history with fiction really make his books interesting and riveting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7