Customer Reviews for

An Honorable German

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Solid First Work

    I believe this is Charles McCain's first novel, and as such is a pretty darn good one. His writing definitely isn't perfect yet, but he did a great job with WWII research and connecting you to the characters. The story of course revolves around a German Naval officer, which is a refreshing take and may succeed in changing opinions of the less serious WWII scholar. The characters and action are great, and McCain even does extremely well with the romance plot of the main character and his fiance back in Germany. I would definitely recommend this book, and one doesn't even have to be engrossed in history or war novels to take something from the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Be Openminded

    This is a book I was told I'd find interesting. I wasn't sure I was going to but the more I got into it with its excellent writing, the more I became immersed. A detailed view of the life of a loyal, accomplished German Naval officer performing his job. One who loved Germany, his fiancee, his father and his profession but not necessarily the power in command of his Germany. How they all melded together made an extremely interesting read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    Charles McCain, where have you been?

    For a first time novelist, Charles McCain has created some of the most amazing characters that will better the readers' lives just by knowing them, particularly Dieter, a true man. I am jealous of anyone who has not yet read this novel, because you have such a thrill awaiting you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    If this is McCains first book, I cannot wait for his second.

    A great book that shows you the human side of the German soldier and the plight of the civilian population. McCain did his research and it resulted in a novel that gives you historical fact and an excellent plot.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    Intelligent, Rewarding, Appeals to Women as well as Men

    Military history and fiction buffs will love this book; however, other audience's will appreciate it every bit as much. An intelligent action story is a rare thing, particularly one with a thoughtful, introspective protagonist and a memorable female character interesting in her own right. The pace, action and tension will hook you if you're an action reader. If historical fiction is your thing then the well developed characters and WWII context from the German viewpoint will be engaging. If you tend toward non-fiction then the meticulous research and realism will be compelling. Perfect gift for Father's Day and when Dad finishes, Mom will pick it up and recommend it to all of her friends. Perhaps not the first title a woman would open when visiting the book store but, when word gets out, readers of both sexes will have their noses buried in McCain's story. Put it on my Kindle and bought the hardcover - this book is a welcome addition to even terminally overcrowded shelves.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A More than "Honorable" First Novel--A Triumph

    The literary and dramatic re-tellings and interpretations of World War II are legion. Every now and then one appears that offers a perspective we haven't had. Among those, even fewer works stand out--the ones that open our eyes to things we never understood or even knew about. "An Honorable German" belongs in the ranks of James Jones" "From Here to Eternity," Herman Wouk's "The Caine Mutiny," David Lean's "Bridge on the River Kwai," Clint Eastwood's "Letters from Iwo Jima," or a personal favorite, Stephen Spielberg's "Empire of the Sun." Each of these works takes us behind and beyond the conceptions born of the reporting of the era, old newsreels, Hollywood potboilers, lesser novels and TV schlock.

    But "An Honorable German" is more than empathetic. It is a powerfully told story that, once started, is hard to put down. The author's skill is impressive for a first novel. McCain has the talent to both expand his scope and hone his craft--if he writes a second novel, look for it to deliver even more dazzle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed this book. The author does a good job showing

    I really enjoyed this book. The author does a good job showing the life in the German navy during WWII. Easy read and highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    A very good read!

    Well worth the time---I lent it to friends, all of whom liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2011

    Absolute first rate reading! Great historical fiction in Kriegsmarine.

    I just finished your book, "An Honorable German." It was one of the best books I have ever read and I have read several thousand. Leo M. McCormick

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Great read , New author

    Can't wait for future books from him when he hones his skills as an accomplished writer of the likes of say, Tom Clancy or Steven Coonts !!! Keep it up charles your on the right track just stay on them, then pour on the coal's it was good to see a read that showed how innocent german citizens of germany suffered at the hands of just a few tyrant's that had complete control of their destinys. Hope his next novel run's along the same or similar lines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    Highly recommend - you must check it out

    Anyone interested in this aspect of WWII will find this an excellent and exciting read. The characters are convincingly believable and the events consistent with the history of that special period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    An Honorable German is the right title

    Most of the book is known facts about WWII, so our hero is "proactive" in the various scenarios. A good mind refresher of the various notable events of the German Navy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    Plodding and Predictable

    This might be his first novel, he has potential. Did not have a hard edge and was dragging at times.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2