Customer Reviews for

Honored Enemy (Legends of the Riftwar Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    Best of The Riftwar Trilogy

    I have read almost every one of Feist's Midkemian novels. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I found it far better than the other Riftwar Trilogy books. The characters were much more intriguing, forced into more difficult situations requiring more creative solutions. It was a hard book to put down, and I found myself wishing that the characters here were in more books. If you liked Feist's other books, I'm sure you will enjoy this one as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    Original and thought provoking

    The story starts predictably enough, but it certainly has some twists that will keep you reading. Good characters with descriptive writing bring this otherworld alive so you can really see the action happening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2008

    Good, but not his best

    Magician: Apprentice was the book that got me into reading, so now I pick up everything by Raymond E. Feist and I recommend him to everyone that is interested in fantasy novels. This is still a good book and reminds me of the X-mas Truce of World War I. As another reviewer stated, it is not all written by Feist, DUH!!<BR/><BR/>Take the Dragon Lance novels as another prime example. There are the ones written by Hickman and Weis, and then all the rest. I would take a Hickman/Weis Dragon Lance novel over any other Dragon Lance novel any day of the week. Even over their solo Dragon Lance novels.<BR/><BR/>When you introduce or take away an author the style changes. You need to be prepared for that change. All in all it is a good novel and stays true to the timeline as we know it in this world.<BR/><BR/>I would recommend that you read this if you are a fan, but remember that it is not just Feist. However, if you are new to Feist, read the series from the begining, otherwise you will be kicking yourself later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2006

    Cover: convincing. Actual story: No.

    Honored Enemy (Legends of the Riftwar) was indeed an epic found in the world of Midkemia. Can I promise its exaltation? No. This book, undoubtedly, was not at all written by Raymond E. Fiest but his sidekick, some unpopular author. I am convinced that this second-hand author did all the writing while Fiest dictated the facts about Midkemia, its culture, who the Tsurani are, and basic history of the Riftwar, so that the other author had a chronicle of information to weave a book. Obviously, the book acquires insubtle literature completely 'not Fiest's', rather a whole new vocabulary, stanza form, diction, and summary. Thus, I conclude that this novel was not written by Fiest. Sure it was somewhat of a read but ultimately the novel's stratum and substratum was altogether unconvincing. And every page of the book I found myself tracing through the consistent use of the 'D' word. D**m this and D**m that, and for one who excludes those words in his life, I was complemently irritated and bored at its vast use. Obscenity within a book is not a keen dialogue of a novel and it is easily frustrating to some readers. The book: different. The promising cover: deceiving. Conclusion: ultimately disappointing.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2006

    terrific and entertaining fantasy

    When the magical rift gate opened onto the world of Midkemia, the Tsurani army poured through the portal intent on conquest. They viewed the inhabitants as barbaric and sent healthy prisoners back to the homeworld as slaves. Their homeworld is metal poor so the rulers and their clan leaders need to possess and mine the land. On the day they passed through the gate, they destroyed the Keep of Vahinar killing the father, grandfather and wife of Dennis Hartraft. --- Nine years into the war, Hartraft hates all the invaders with a passion and his goal is to kill all who were involved in the deaths of his family. He and his patrol the Marauders are behind enemy lines, set to strike until they realize the Dark Brothers (elves) are stalking them and the Tsurani. The leader of the enemy force leader Asayaga reluctantly join forces to evade the large horde even though they are mortal enemies and warfare between the two groups threatens to breakout at any time. Only if the two camps can lay aside their differences is there a chance to come out of their situation alive. --- When enemies work together against a more dangerous foe, a bond develops in spite of themselves. Both Hartraft and Asayaga are truly heroic figures because they are able to put aside nine years of prejudice and war to defend themselves against the enemy from without and within. Readers learn how Asayaga really feels about the war and why he believes he is a puppet on a string dancing to the tune of his superiors who are snug and safe back home. There is a lot of action in this terrific and entertaining fantasy but it is the characters that make this book a winner. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2