Customer Reviews for

Honus and Me (Baseball Card Adventure Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Great Read

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was a great fantasy read with plenty of baseball facts for young readers. My 10 year old daughter also read this with me, and she is anxious to read the rest of the series. A great way to teach not only baseball history, but american h...
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was a great fantasy read with plenty of baseball facts for young readers. My 10 year old daughter also read this with me, and she is anxious to read the rest of the series. A great way to teach not only baseball history, but american history as well.

posted by Mrjohnnybuck on March 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

When it began

Stosh meets Honus Wagner in this book. In my opinion, this isn't as good as the newer baseball card adventures, but it's good. It is only the beginning, though. Honus is probably the best shortstop EVER!!! Good book.

posted by Official-Reader on March 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    one of the best baseball adventures!!!

    SAFEEE!!!!!

    This amazing book, Honus and Me, was historical fiction. The main characters were Joe (the kid who has the power to travel through time with baseball cards), Honus (amazing baseball player in early 1900s), and Amanda Young ( the old lady next door). In the book it says that Honus was one of the best that ever played. He played shortstop and let no balls get past him. He also was an amazing batter with a high batting average (.327). To also add on, he had just over 700 steals in his career.
    In the book, Joe is cleaning out Amanda's attic and finds this baseball card of Honus Wagner. He heard about one of these cards before. They're so rare that the last one sold was worth half a million dollars!!! So he thinks he's going to be rich! Since he can travel through time with the card he goes back in time with Honus Wagner to the game 7, 1909 World Series.
    When Joe returns to modern day, he doesn't know if he should keep the card, give it back, or sell it. But then decides to give it back to Mrs. Young.
    I think this was one of the better books I've read because I like baseball and the book is all about baseball. I also like it because I really didn't know a lot about Honus until after I read the book. You should read this book if you are onto sports and want to learn about older players. You shouldn't read this book if you don't know a lot about baseball because there are some phrases that you might not understand. Overall, this was a great book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Read

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was a great fantasy read with plenty of baseball facts for young readers. My 10 year old daughter also read this with me, and she is anxious to read the rest of the series. A great way to teach not only baseball history, but american history as well.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Amazing

    This is the best book ever!!!!!! I would rate it 5million stars if i could!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    One of the best dan gutman books yet.

    Yet another fun filled adventure another perfect book for young baseball players. All these books are exciting and keep you in the book and teach little about history.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2009

    AMAZING

    This book is m a zing. First, Joe stoshack thinks he is a terrible ballplayer. When he cleans out his old lady neighbors attic he finds a rare t206 honus wagner ball card. Along with a half tore picture of honus wagner. After he uses the card to take him back to meet honus he realizes that he sctually isnt a bad ballplayer after scoring a homerun in the 1909 playoffs when honus gets injured leading his team to victory. bcuz he does such a great job honus gives him randomly the other half of the picture... it was the old lady whos attic he cleaned out. After realizeing honus wagners girlfriend lives next door to him, joe goes back into time and says his goodbyes to honus. When he returns home he finds out that his house was broken into by someone looking for the honus card. His old lady neighbor comes bye and gets the card back-but then rips it up. Ugh-OH!! Then joe shoes her the picture of her from honus and she goes back in to time using joes ripped up honus card. Joe has a feeling she wont come back to Louisville and she will stay with honus. BEST BOOK!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    A Great Book

    I think it was a great book, because it wasn't to challenging to read. And if you like baseball and the history of the game then this is a great book for you. The author Dan Gutman writes other baseball books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    When it began

    Stosh meets Honus Wagner in this book. In my opinion, this isn't as good as the newer baseball card adventures, but it's good. It is only the beginning, though. Honus is probably the best shortstop EVER!!! Good book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2006

    must read

    Honus and Me I like this book because it tells a lot about a boy named Joe. And he wants to earn money because he likes to collect baseball cards. So one day his mother gets home from work and tells him that he has to clean his neighbor¿s attic. Since she was old and he would get paid he did it. His neighbor told him to throw away everything. And one box breaks while he was carrying it and there was a rare baseball card. And then Honus came out of the card and showed him every thing he did in the past. And he told him that he used to be married to his neighbor .So he keeps it and tried to sell it for $10,000 dollars and gives half to his neighbor. I thought that this book was good because of how the saying goes one mans trash is an other mans treasure and because of how the author explains every thing the kid does like he puts it in a safe plastic case so that it doesn¿t get bent and other tiny facts. Just like how many home runs he made, how far he ever hit the ball, when he was born, and when he died.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Hi

    At my school we have a competion to read 3 of the listed books with your team and then you competw. This is one of the books on the list. I cant wait to read it!!!!!
    Love










    The

    Amazimg

    Claudia!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Highly Recommended- both for boys and girls.

    I read this book with a fourth grade book buddy for college. I found the book very interesting as Dan Gutman introduced baseball players Honus Wagner, Ty Cobbs, Fred Clarke, just to name a few. The book touched on bullying, but didn't really tell you how to deal with it, because that is not what the book was about. The book is about Joe Stoshack who meets Honus Wagner by traveling back in time. It's about a young boy who has to decide what the right thing is for him to do; he found a baseball card that belongs to his next door neighbor. The card is worth $451,000. dollars. Does he give the card back, keep it to sell? It is well written, and young children, both boys and girls would not only enjoy the book, but will learn a lesson from it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Good chapter book about sports

    I like Dan Gutman books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Herrrrrroski

    Tee hee

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Sydney

    I thouht that this was a great book and taught me a lot more about baseball and Honus Wagner.i love these series and i lov how differantly u write them from the other books youve written a great job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    Honus and Me was a good book because it had true facts wrapped i

    Honus and Me was a good book because it had true facts wrapped in a fictional story. I learned from the factual story about Honus Wagner the baseball legend that was treated unfairly because of the color of his skin and enjoyed the twists and turns of the fictional story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    So good

    I lovveeeeeeeeeeee this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Many genres

    This book is realistic fiction, historical fiction, science fiction, and imformational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Anumous

    Very awesome i could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Good

    Mmmmjj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Cool

    I have not read the book yet but i read the others i know i am going to love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Amazing!!

    One of the best in the series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4