Customer Reviews for

Honus and Me (Baseball Card Adventure Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING

This book is m a zing. First, Joe stoshack thinks he is a terrible ballplayer. When he cleans out his old lady neighbors attic he finds a rare t206 honus wagner ball card. Along with a half tore picture of honus wagner. After he uses the card to take him back to meet ho...
This book is m a zing. First, Joe stoshack thinks he is a terrible ballplayer. When he cleans out his old lady neighbors attic he finds a rare t206 honus wagner ball card. Along with a half tore picture of honus wagner. After he uses the card to take him back to meet honus he realizes that he sctually isnt a bad ballplayer after scoring a homerun in the 1909 playoffs when honus gets injured leading his team to victory. bcuz he does such a great job honus gives him randomly the other half of the picture... it was the old lady whos attic he cleaned out. After realizeing honus wagners girlfriend lives next door to him, joe goes back into time and says his goodbyes to honus. When he returns home he finds out that his house was broken into by someone looking for the honus card. His old lady neighbor comes bye and gets the card back-but then rips it up. Ugh-OH!! Then joe shoes her the picture of her from honus and she goes back in to time using joes ripped up honus card. Joe has a feeling she wont come back to Louisville and she will stay with honus. BEST BOOK!

posted by gt86 on June 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

When it began

Stosh meets Honus Wagner in this book. In my opinion, this isn't as good as the newer baseball card adventures, but it's good. It is only the beginning, though. Honus is probably the best shortstop EVER!!! Good book.

posted by Official-Reader on March 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Read

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was a great fantasy read with plenty of baseball facts for young readers. My 10 year old daughter also read this with me, and she is anxious to read the rest of the series. A great way to teach not only baseball history, but american history as well.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2009

    AMAZING

    This book is m a zing. First, Joe stoshack thinks he is a terrible ballplayer. When he cleans out his old lady neighbors attic he finds a rare t206 honus wagner ball card. Along with a half tore picture of honus wagner. After he uses the card to take him back to meet honus he realizes that he sctually isnt a bad ballplayer after scoring a homerun in the 1909 playoffs when honus gets injured leading his team to victory. bcuz he does such a great job honus gives him randomly the other half of the picture... it was the old lady whos attic he cleaned out. After realizeing honus wagners girlfriend lives next door to him, joe goes back into time and says his goodbyes to honus. When he returns home he finds out that his house was broken into by someone looking for the honus card. His old lady neighbor comes bye and gets the card back-but then rips it up. Ugh-OH!! Then joe shoes her the picture of her from honus and she goes back in to time using joes ripped up honus card. Joe has a feeling she wont come back to Louisville and she will stay with honus. BEST BOOK!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Amazing

    This is the best book ever!!!!!! I would rate it 5million stars if i could!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    One of the best dan gutman books yet.

    Yet another fun filled adventure another perfect book for young baseball players. All these books are exciting and keep you in the book and teach little about history.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    CalvinCHMS14 This book is extraordinary. It¿s the perfect book.

    CalvinCHMS14
    This book is extraordinary. It’s the perfect book. In the book, this kid named Joe Stoshack's finds a card Joe Stoshack's biggest love is baseball. He knows everything there is to know about the game, except how to play well. When he takes a job cleaning a bunch of junk out of his neighbor's attic, he finds a 1909 Honus Wager card. (the most valuable baseball card in the world) When he gets the card, he feels a tingling feeling. Then all of a sudden, Honus travels to Joe’s room.  In the book, there are a lot of happy scenes. For example, Joe travels to 1909 with Honus to see play in the World Series against the Detroit Tigers. Honus gets hurt and Joe plays for him. In that game, Joe got his first homerun ever. He was so happy. Also in the book there are comedy scenes as well. One example is, when the boys were making fun of Joe in the beginning and one of them said that Joe’s ears look like a taxi cab with the doors open. Lastly there were also romantic scenes. When Joe found out that his neighbor was Honus’s old girlfriend, he give the card back and let her go back to 1909 to marry Honus. This is why I like this book   

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Highly Recommended- both for boys and girls.

    I read this book with a fourth grade book buddy for college. I found the book very interesting as Dan Gutman introduced baseball players Honus Wagner, Ty Cobbs, Fred Clarke, just to name a few. The book touched on bullying, but didn't really tell you how to deal with it, because that is not what the book was about. The book is about Joe Stoshack who meets Honus Wagner by traveling back in time. It's about a young boy who has to decide what the right thing is for him to do; he found a baseball card that belongs to his next door neighbor. The card is worth $451,000. dollars. Does he give the card back, keep it to sell? It is well written, and young children, both boys and girls would not only enjoy the book, but will learn a lesson from it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    Outtttt!... Waitaminute... Safeeee!!!!!!!

    SAFE!!!! This thrilling book is about Honus Wagner, a baseball player, who did not hit homers, but stole all the bases instead!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Hi

    At my school we have a competion to read 3 of the listed books with your team and then you competw. This is one of the books on the list. I cant wait to read it!!!!!
    Love










    The

    Amazimg

    Claudia!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Sydney

    I thouht that this was a great book and taught me a lot more about baseball and Honus Wagner.i love these series and i lov how differantly u write them from the other books youve written a great job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    So good

    I lovveeeeeeeeeeee this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Many genres

    This book is realistic fiction, historical fiction, science fiction, and imformational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Anumous

    Very awesome i could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Cool

    I have not read the book yet but i read the others i know i am going to love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Amazing!!

    One of the best in the series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    I love it

    I love the entire book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Honus and me

    A very good book from the sample I read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Anoymus

    This book is awesome! It is suprizing because i thougt it would be a boring book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Must read

    I love baseball books so this will be a great book for everone and i love the Miami Marlins :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    honus and me

    my teacher read this book 2 us and i thought the book was awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    VERY GOOD BOOK!!!!

    This a very good book.I also love the whole series.Every time my mom or dad said to come over here,I would say NOOOOOOO!!!!!!! It is prety cool that Joey can go back in time by only a baseball card I would reccomond this book to people who like historial books. This is a really good book.READ IT!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3