Customer Reviews for

The Hookup Handbook: A Single Girl's Guide to Living It Up

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2005

    Hook-Up Handbook: The Single Girl's Guide to Living It Up

    I have to say, I really did love this book. It was all so hilarious and true to life. I also have to agree with another reader who suggested getting 'The Happy Hook-up' for more practical advice. I think the two books actually complement each other really well. I highly recommend both of them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2005

    Hook-Up Handbook: The Single Girl's Guide to Living It Up

    Yes, while it's true that this isn't really an advice book and it doesn't seem like it was meant to be, I thought it was absolutely hilarious commentary on the current dating landscape. So funny because it's true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2005

    Did not love it either!

    I was disappointed in this book. It is written for a 19 year old, that lives a 29 year old life. I did not find this book helpful at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    Pointless Book!

    The title of the book says 'a single girls guide to living it up'. There was no helpful hints such as what to wear, how to dress, etc. It was just a book of scenerios and types of guys. I was very disappointed and it was a waste of 15 dollars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    Hook-Up Handbook: The Single Girl's Guide to Living It Up

    This is a humor book. It won't change your life, but I thought it was really entertaining. If you have a sense of humor and are single, you¿ll probably like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2005

    Hook-Up Handbook: The Single Girl's Guide to Living It Up

    I can see that this book is supposed to poke fun at what slutty women are doing these days, but I thought it was pretty dumb. It's like, 'hey, look at us! we're sluts and it's fun, let's make some money off it!' Not such a good idea, not so funny. I feel a little sorry for these authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    my life in a nutshell

    The hookup handbook truly captures what goes on in the mind of a single twentysomething girl. I couldnt stop laughing out loud while at the same time identifying with every scenario presented in the book. Its a must quick read for absolutely everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2005

    what a great book!

    this is a fun, great read. a must-have for any girl living out there in the crazy dating scene today. it's also a blast to read if you are attached. anyone will enjoy this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    You will be hooked... even if boys are the last thing on your mind.

    Whether you are going to college, in college or married, you will love this book. These girls capture what dating is really like... a GAME!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2005

    A Must-Read

    Funny, witty and honest -- this book had me laughing and reminiscing about the stories my friends and I tell eachother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2005

    I laughed all night!!!

    I was feeling lonely on a Friday night after work and I had recieved a copy of this book from my close girlfriend. I sat in bed and red cover to cover in one night! I was laughing so hard I couldn't control myself. This was one of the funniest reads I have had in long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2005

    BUY THIS BOOK!

    This book is one of the best reads of the year by far!! I couldn't put it down for one minute. A definite must-read for all single and committed girls AND GUYS alike who have been exposed to the complicated intricacies of the world of 'hooking up.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2005

    Hook-Up Handbook: The Single Girl's Guide to Living It Up

    A wonderfully observant take on modern singledom. From the all-too-familiar detailings of groping drunkenly with a semi-stranger to the reinterpretation of the walk of shame, this book speaks to the 20-something generation in its own sarcastic language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    An Excellent Guide To the Nondating Game!!!!

    I just finished reading the book and let me tell you, I have been raving about it since I finished the last page!!! It's an easy read, very clever, and a great book to own whether you are a guy or a girl! The stories are so true-to-life and I absolutley loved reading it! I am so glad someone else is able to relate to the ups and downs of dating life! Thanks guys!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2005

    SEXY IN THE CITY

    A hip and witty read, this book is as fun as a Sunday-brunch-dish-session with your best girlfriends. Lavinthal and Rozler break down today's new 'non-dating scene' with humor, heart and a lot of sass. Excellent gift idea for any girl still mourning the end of Sex and City. Too much fun to miss!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2005

    Whta Insight

    What would I do without the Hookup Handbook. As a single guy in New York City, this book provides the insight I need to know how to score with City Women. Thanks ladies for the well-written and funny book...I am a better man after reading it!!.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2005

    Irresistible

    WOW. I've never read a book that has been able to pinpoint exactly what I feel when I go out, especially handling all kinds of guys. It's incredible, insightful and so fun to read, with all the quizes and great pictures. You will love it, there is no way not to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2005

    Hook-Up Handbook: The Single Girl's Guide to Living It Up

    like others have said, this book doesn't seem like it's intended to offer real tips. it's more about the humor you find in hookup situations. if you're looking for advice on hooking up and how to do it, there are a few like that. one is called 'the happy hook-up' (which is a smarter version of this one) and there's another called 'brief encounters' coming out soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2005

    A must-read for everyone -- single or not

    Single girls out there rejoice! Finally a book has that truly captures the life of a single girl in the 21st century. 'Hookup Handbook' is the modern-day version of Helen Gurley Brown's 'Sex and the Single Girl'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2005

    Hook-Up Handbook: The Single Girl's Guide to Living It Up

    Truly an ingenious take on today's single life. From musings on the all-to-familiar late nite gropings with a semi-stranger, to new takes on the term 'walk of shame' these ladies pinpoint the plights and joys of the unattached with unmatchable wit and humor. I read it in a day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1