Customer Reviews for

Hooked

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Gritty yet light at times contemporary

This was a gritty yet funny at time contemporary. I think that we get a unique view into being pregnant and being a teen mom, and I think that it's an important message. As much as Thea tries at times, she cannot romanticize the idea, especially when her boyfriend Will ...
This was a gritty yet funny at time contemporary. I think that we get a unique view into being pregnant and being a teen mom, and I think that it's an important message. As much as Thea tries at times, she cannot romanticize the idea, especially when her boyfriend Will makes it where she can't stay with him for a while. Though I liked this book and what it tried to convey, I was left feeling like there is nothing that will make me remember it a year from now. I still think that its worth reading.
I think that all aspects of characters were done well, Thea was fleshed out, and she had things I could relate to, perfections and faults alike. Will was dreamy at first and then gave a real picture of what happens a lot when a girl gets pregnant and there is a child brought into that relationship at such a young age. Thea's parents are far from perfect, but I really liked how her dad stepped up in the end whereas I wouldn't have expected that. I got to read about a dynamic that is not all that present in the books I read, the father daughter one.
I also like the stages the book goes through, we get to see the beginning and development of Thea's relationship with Will, and how she is completely hooked on him-to the extent that she doesn't really pay much attention to anything else. What a familiar feeling that is though, the new relationship and the obsession.
This book took on a whole other dimension with Thea's crocheting. It interested me because I can crochet a bit, and it played a role in a book of helping her to distract herself and also in the end helping to find herself some.
The ending wasn't tied up completely, but I think that is also life, and hers really was just beginning, so I think that is fitting in its own aspects.

posted by BlkosinerBookBlog on June 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Arg

Im 15 and this was a good book for my age. I really loved the hook (lol get it cause its called hooked haha) but i really didnt like the ending . I wanted so badly for the guy and girl to get back together and let the yarn lady adopt their baby since she couldnt have an...
Im 15 and this was a good book for my age. I really loved the hook (lol get it cause its called hooked haha) but i really didnt like the ending . I wanted so badly for the guy and girl to get back together and let the yarn lady adopt their baby since she couldnt have any . Other than that it really taught me how one mistake can turn into many. I recommend to any teen wanting a book they cant put down! :)

posted by 6034572 on January 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Arg

    Im 15 and this was a good book for my age. I really loved the hook (lol get it cause its called hooked haha) but i really didnt like the ending . I wanted so badly for the guy and girl to get back together and let the yarn lady adopt their baby since she couldnt have any . Other than that it really taught me how one mistake can turn into many. I recommend to any teen wanting a book they cant put down! :)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Must read!

    Shivering, heart wrenching and compelling novel will give you an unexpected ending. An amazing realistic novel giving an inside look at teen relationships with children. This book will keep you reading, never being able to put it down and waiting for what happens next.

    I cried at the end. Reccomended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Gritty yet light at times contemporary

    This was a gritty yet funny at time contemporary. I think that we get a unique view into being pregnant and being a teen mom, and I think that it's an important message. As much as Thea tries at times, she cannot romanticize the idea, especially when her boyfriend Will makes it where she can't stay with him for a while. Though I liked this book and what it tried to convey, I was left feeling like there is nothing that will make me remember it a year from now. I still think that its worth reading.
    I think that all aspects of characters were done well, Thea was fleshed out, and she had things I could relate to, perfections and faults alike. Will was dreamy at first and then gave a real picture of what happens a lot when a girl gets pregnant and there is a child brought into that relationship at such a young age. Thea's parents are far from perfect, but I really liked how her dad stepped up in the end whereas I wouldn't have expected that. I got to read about a dynamic that is not all that present in the books I read, the father daughter one.
    I also like the stages the book goes through, we get to see the beginning and development of Thea's relationship with Will, and how she is completely hooked on him-to the extent that she doesn't really pay much attention to anything else. What a familiar feeling that is though, the new relationship and the obsession.
    This book took on a whole other dimension with Thea's crocheting. It interested me because I can crochet a bit, and it played a role in a book of helping her to distract herself and also in the end helping to find herself some.
    The ending wasn't tied up completely, but I think that is also life, and hers really was just beginning, so I think that is fitting in its own aspects.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Pink ipad

    Kiss your hand post on three other books and lookunder your pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I don¿t pick up much teen pregnancy books cause of the drama. Th

    I don’t pick up much teen pregnancy books cause of the drama. This story however, goes farther and much more in depth than what I thought.




    1. Plot. This has a very good plot. We have the characters who meet, fall in love and of course get pregnant unexpectedly. And they fail. I really enjoyed the plot has the rise of love, excitement of a new life to  the failing of communication and fear. It really showcase every single angle.




    2. Emotions. This story is just like a roller coaster. First love, the joy of child birth, and then the hurt and betrayal of loving your boyfriend. Things change so much within the story that at times, I took a few breaks. Some parts really ticked me off.




    3. Motherhood. Even though this girl was just a teen, she took her responsibility well. She cared for her child no matter what she was told. And yeah, like every mother out there, there were accidents with her son and yet, she learned from them. It made her stronger and a better mother.




    4. Parent Support. I don’t think that this girl could have done it without the help of her parents. Her parents are wonderful people who did everything they could to protect their daughter and their grandchild. They helped her finish school and get a job.




    5. Success. Just because you have a child when you are young does not mean you life is over. Yeah, it will be harder but if you put your mind to it, you can make it. Thea did. She pushed to finish school and she became successful. It took her longer, but she did it so she can have a future for her son. And that’s amazing.




    Hooked is a great story showcasing wonderful writing and characters. A loving tale that will tug at your heart, Hooked is awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Wut

    Toowierdtoread

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Not cool

    Good and bad at the same toie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    To all Lesbians

    Im lesbian too! Give me ur email so we can hook up.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Anthony

    Randomnes time. Gtg

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Greg

    See ya bro

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Love it

    I got hooked it was best and im 12 and i loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Great

    This is a really good book. The only thing i dint like thouh is the ending


    •AS•

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Great book!

    I thought this was

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    ** spoiler alert ** I loved this book, like couldn't put it down

    ** spoiler alert ** I loved this book, like couldn't put it down...yell at people for interrupting me loved this book, until the last chapter or so. I couldn't believe how it turned out. I do not think, in the end, she made the right decision in regard to Will. She needs to move on with her life and let him do the same. Yes, they can both be good parents, but not together. Obviously, Will isn't ready to be a real father or partner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    best book ever!!!!!

    hooked is the one of the best book I ever read and i read alot of book for teens. This book will leave you speechless and in my opinion it was amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Pretty good read

    After picking it up at a book store and reading the first chapter, i was excited tl read the rest of it. I was kind of disappointed with it. At first, i liked her mom. As the story progressed, i started to favor her dad. I admit, i never liked Will. But I'm happy with the outcome at the end. If you're looking for somethingto read, I reccommemed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good, solid story of family

    Thea Galehouse is a young, happy girl with what most would say is a pretty good life. She has family that she loves and who love her; she has friends; and she is - by most accounts - a fairly normal teenager. What Thea doesn't expect to enter her world is 'the one.' But when Will appears, Thea finds her whole world completely changing in seconds. As the veil of love falls around her, Thea has no idea that she will become so 'hooked' by this boy that her very future will change. Will is one of those boys who your Mom warns you about. Not in the bad way, the handsome way. Will is one who appears on the doorstep and a mother can feel to her very core that the danger of romance and passion is about to take over her young girl's life. And that is exactly what happens. It only takes Thea one moment of conversation, it seems, to completely fall head-over-heels for Will, and their future looks extremely bright. Will goes off to college to build a future, and Thea is a bit heartbroken. But what really throws her is when her period is missed. Yes, there is a child on the way, and the world has just gone from light, airy, and completely romantic to a bit of a fear-fest. Unlike everyone's favorite, Juno, Thea Galehouse and Will decide to keep the baby. Will has to work, and their very concerned parents chip in a great deal, even offering a home to the kids in order to raise their child comfortably and with as much ease and peace as possible. But, as with every life, an accident occurs that forces Thea to turn to the one person she can barely speak to - a hard-edged, uncompromising father who has more than a few anger issues of his own regarding the decisions his daughter has made. The author does a wonderful job of showing the challenges of life, and the harsh decisions that one must make along the way. The personal relationships and family relationship are shown in a caring, inspirational way that will, hopefully, NOT add on to the number of teenagers who want to bring a child into this world far before they're ready to do it. Quill Says: A good, solid story of family, love, and trying to get by when times turn dark.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Wow

    Cannot wait until it comes ouut! <3

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2