BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hooray for Diffendoofer Day!

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    A great read aloud for teachers who give standardized tests

    I am a 4th grade teacher and I read Hooray for Diffendoofer Day every year right before my students take their standardized high stakes test. It is funny, engaging, and the kids love the silly poetry. What's more, it helps my students to feel confident during an otherwise extremely stressful time for them. We do several projects with this book. We talk about multiple intelligences and activities that teach us how to be good thinkers, and we also do a fun art project where the students design their dream schools. This is a great book for teachers, parents, and students of all ages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Teachers love this book, too!

    I read this book to my fellow teachers in my last faculty meeting before I retired after 33 years in the classroom. I challenged each of them to become that special teacher. This book is an excellent motivator, and it reminded me to do something special in the lives of my high school students. Many of my fellow teachers told me that they had been inspired by the words of Dr. Seuss. What a wonderful experience!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    Good for teachers

    As a teacher, I use this book before state testing every year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2001

    A Seuss-Based Collage

    This book is as interesting for the section that explains its origins as it is the for story and illustrations themselves. Before he died, Dr. Seuss was working on a book about teaching. He couldn't get it quite right because 'Miss Bonkers was driving him bonkers.' After his death, the material was passed along to his long-time editor who filed it away. One day she had the good thought of inviting talented poet, Jack Prelutsky, and outstanding illustrator, Lane Smith, to complete the project. The book shows you the Seuss sketches and his work in progress. It's really quite interesting. Prior to the origins section, you get the actual story. The result is a book that is a combination of wonderful children's story and multifaceted paean to Dr. Seuss. Dr. Seuss's books are wonderful for celebrating differences among children. This book moves beyond that excellent base to point out the benefits of differences among adults as well as children. The creation of Flobbertown (where everyone does everything the same, and life is dreary) is a stroke of genius, for it creates an archetype to react against. Near when the poem begins, a student is speaking. 'My teacher is Miss Bonkers, She's as bouncy as a flea . . . I'm glad she teaches me.' That's the sort of sincere flattery all teachers should receive from their students. Miss Bonkers's specialization is summarized as follows, 'Miss Bonkers teaches EVERYTHING!' She's a free spirit, as evidenced by her use of a trampoline. She does her own thing, and the principal (who worries a lot) 'treats her like a queen.' Most teachers would love that kind of support, as well! The rest of the teaching and support staff are equally unique and interesting in their own ways. While many children's stories stick just to the main story line, this one develops many characters to establish a sense of place and context that build a very solid base for the plot. Working from 'some characters, a setting, and a few verses' the story revolves around the benefits of teaching children to think for themselves. This is a good theme, because you can use it as a starting point to encourage your children do the same. The story does a nice job of providing an interesting and amusing tale, with contemporary references that make it more relevant. As much as I liked the poetry and its imaginative interweaving with Dr. Seuss's original thoughts, I must say I was even more impressed with the illustrations. You will see a vivid, exciting, Seuss-like world, yet this place is distinct from Dr. Seuss. But, Lane Smith incorporated many images from Dr. Seuss into the details for the illustrations, like cut-outs from the newspaper in a Picasso collage. The result is rather intriguing and richer than either style alone would be. After you have finished enjoying the story with your child, I suggest that you encourage your child to notice the 'invisible' people in her or his life. What are they like? What are they focusing on? How can thinking for themselves make a difference? Encourage independent thinking! Donald Mitchell, co-author of The Irresistible Growth Enterprise and The 2,000 Percent Solution

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2007

    Another ageless classic

    Dr. Suess has always written classic children books, young children today are still enchanted by his books. The first book I ever read [by myself] was 'Horton Hears a Who' by Dr. Suess. From then on I have enjoyed reading. It has been a favorite book of mine from then on. 'Hooray for Diffendoofer Day!' was read to me by my 3rd grade teacher, Mrs. Amburgey. We read the book in class, during Dr. Suess week. After reading the book, we were to write a report on it. I finished my report in ten minutes and it was a whole page long. This book is an amazing book for all ages. Today this book is still the only book that puts me to sleep at night, and its the only book that I could never get tired of reading it. I love this book. I reccomend anyone reading this review should definatly read this book. I also reccomend that any teacher [of any grade] reading this, should get the book and read it out aloud to his or her class. Dr. Suess was a literay genuis. He was an amazing author, and an amazing rhymist. He is why so many young children enjoy reading. This book, though he did not finish it by himself and had help from Jack Prelutsky and Lane Smith, is just another classic from Dr. Suess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2007

    HOORAY FOR DIFFENDOOFER DAY!

    This book is one of my favorite Dr.Seuss books. My first favorite Dr.Seuss book is Oh the places you'll go. I would reccomend this book to everybody! READ THIS BOOK! READ THIS BOOK! People of all ages will love this book even teachers will love it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2006

    Funny

    i did a report on this book. it was one of the most fun book reports i have ever written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2004

    Absolutely divine, perfect, wonderful, joyous

    This book really is my favorite picture book. The rhyming and the flow of the words is excellent and the whole story is great and the pictures are neat and you feel good after you've read it. I would love to go to that school!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2000

    Clever

    This is a very encouraging book whether you are a student, or a teacher, or a parent. It emphasizes the most important goal of an educator - but you have to read it to find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2000

    His zaniest book yet.

    I believe that this book can be enjoyed by all ages. It has the great rymes of Dr. Seuss with the enjoyable lyrics of Prelutsky. Over all, i think this book is the best book out by these two people. A great combination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2000

    Great gift for Ed-Grad

    This book is a wonderful gift idea for a graduate with an education degree, particularly elementary education. It's inspirational and makes a nice addition to their children's book collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2000

    Good Book to Read Right Before a Test!

    If you are about to have a test read this book to pump you up before a big test!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2000

    it's not very good

    i didn't like the book that much not enough detail

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1