Customer Reviews for

Hoot

Average Rating 4.5
( 816 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(521)

4 Star

(171)

3 Star

(56)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

A great story!

This is a great book and a fun story to read. It should be in every classroom and children should read this one snuggled up in bed at night. There are great characters and a fun story line. It shows you that even children can have opinions and make a difference! The bab...
This is a great book and a fun story to read. It should be in every classroom and children should read this one snuggled up in bed at night. There are great characters and a fun story line. It shows you that even children can have opinions and make a difference! The baby owls will be killed because of the construction that is moving in to make a pancake house. How will the community, specifically the kids help these small helpless creatures. This is a book that you don't want to miss. The movie is good, the book is better.

posted by tchrreader on May 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Hoot

Hoot by Carl Hiassen.
Hoot Is a Intresting, Intense, brain- igniting book, full of intresting events, like when Roy's Daad works for the government, and he still his friend, illegaly go destroy a building site for Mother Paula's All americnan pancake house, to save th...
Hoot by Carl Hiassen.
Hoot Is a Intresting, Intense, brain- igniting book, full of intresting events, like when Roy's Daad works for the government, and he still his friend, illegaly go destroy a building site for Mother Paula's All americnan pancake house, to save the owl's. He tries to tell the company that there is a endangerd breed of animals on their property that they will kill, but they just recive a cheesy letter in the mail. Although this book is great because no matter what they have to do, nothing will stop them from saving those Owl's.

When the law gets involved, there are so many distractions to make their cause. They have guards and police, and dogs gaurding the construction site, which is making saving the owl's get in the way of saving the owl's

posted by MistaJ on February 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 825 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 42
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    A great story!

    This is a great book and a fun story to read. It should be in every classroom and children should read this one snuggled up in bed at night. There are great characters and a fun story line. It shows you that even children can have opinions and make a difference! The baby owls will be killed because of the construction that is moving in to make a pancake house. How will the community, specifically the kids help these small helpless creatures. This is a book that you don't want to miss. The movie is good, the book is better.

    27 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    OMG!!!!!!!

    Hoot is such a classic book. I recomend it for all ages. Just saying listen to a ten year old.

    17 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sweet book read it

    Mother Paula's pancake house owners want to build a new pancake house the only problem is the owls are in the ground where they want to build it! The Owls are going to get killed. Who and how will they save them? In Carl Hiaasen's book Hoot these are all primary questions. Roy is a curious, interesting, and brave character, but when he has to risk his freedom and break the law its going to take more than being brave. There is also a strange, mysterious, and environment loving character named Mullet.
    Now Roy and Mullet are on a mission to save the owls but how? It would be hard to prove the owls exist but what if they can delay the pancake houses start of the building process. So Roy and Mullet thought of a brilliant idea, what if they vandalized the construction site, risky but saving the owls is definitely more important.
    Readers will be craving for more Hoot a heartwarming, bittersweat story that any young reader will love. Hiaasen did a great job on this book winning the Newberry Honor.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hoot

    Hoot by Carl Hiassen.
    Hoot Is a Intresting, Intense, brain- igniting book, full of intresting events, like when Roy's Daad works for the government, and he still his friend, illegaly go destroy a building site for Mother Paula's All americnan pancake house, to save the owl's. He tries to tell the company that there is a endangerd breed of animals on their property that they will kill, but they just recive a cheesy letter in the mail. Although this book is great because no matter what they have to do, nothing will stop them from saving those Owl's.

    When the law gets involved, there are so many distractions to make their cause. They have guards and police, and dogs gaurding the construction site, which is making saving the owl's get in the way of saving the owl's

    11 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2006

    A Huge Disappointment

    They make it into a movie. It wins a bunch of awards. Gee, you think, it must be a great book. Well, you're entirely wrong there. First of all, Carl Hiassen's poor attempts at humor are--well, poor. there really isn't much funny about this book unless you are about eight-years-old. Second, the story was completely ridiculous. Who ever heard of someone trying to illegally build a restaurant over land inhabited by an endangered species and being stopped by a schoolboy who figures out because he sees some random kid running around without shoes? Come on! Let's be a little more realistic. In addition, the only well-developed character was Roy, the protagonist. Every other character was very poorly created and not memorable in any of the ways that Hiassen would have liked them to be (for example: Beatrice the Bear? Pathetic.). Overall, this book was not even worth reading. One of the biggest disappointments I've ever had in a book.

    10 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Amazing Book!

    I love Hoot because it tells the story of a boy who moves a lot and is bullied on the bus because he has come from Montana, and I guess it's just that nobody wants to hang out with the new kid. I get that. I move a lot too, so this story is easy to relate to. I think most people can relate to it, and I recomend it highly.

    P.S. Hit Yes below if this was helpful to you (I hope it was)

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Jswaggin24

    I like this book alot everyone should check it out. [?]

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    good book overall

    this book is about a boy named roy who lives in sunny california he just move from montana where he had to leave alof his friends.Now he has to deal with all sort of problems the three major are 1: dana matherson is a big fat bully that smokes cigarrates and is now picking on roy how will he ever get rid of him answer:read the book. 2:there is a strange boy he sees running and he thinks its odd because he had no shoes and backpack sp he discovers his ame is mullet fingers and he is trying to solve a prromblem with somelittle owls that are about as tall as a bear can.answer:read the book! 3:roy has to choose between his heart and his brains his heart tells him to help mullet fingers to save the owls his brain tells him to do what is right and just ignore the owls.answer:read the book

    this is a really good book and i think evrybody should read it . it took me 2days and a half to read this 234 page book.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Number one

    This book is the best book ever

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Paigeywaigey

    This book was amazing i wish the ending......i wish there was no ending. I loved this book and scat it is amazing read this book and don't listen to HHAATTEERRRSSS (HATERS) i loved it!!

    Reviwed by: Paige

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Awesome!

    Best book ever! Loved the hillarious houmor, and the details! Wish it never ended! Definitly recommand it to all readers! Amazing! I LOVE Carl Hiassen! His books are the very best! :)

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    nooo, thank you, PLZ!!!!

    i DO NOT recomend it. Movie: HUGE SNORE Book: BOOR-RINGGG!!!!!!!!!!!


    P.S: i vote 0 stars.

    6 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly NOT recomended- Don't read it

    This book it terrible. The literature is so dry and dull.The author decided that in the middle of each chapter to change to a character who you didn't know who it was until a page later and by that time you would already be on a different character. This book wasn't exciting or even remotly tollerable. I had to read it for an assignment and I had to FORCE myself to read it. I wouldn't recomend it to my worst enemy or you. The book was dreadful.

    6 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    A GOOD BOOK

    What i think about the book is that it is a very touching book it understands me somtimes it reaches out and make me apart of the story i rwally reslly recomrnd it to any one at all

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2007

    You might have to save a forest, but I have to save you from this book.

    By the first three chapters, I had fell asleep. And it wasn't because I was tired, it was because the book was poor and boring.For most books thier movie is worse than their book. Not in this case.The author did a poor job for describbing things, i couldn't picture it at all! Most kids might just pick this book up because it has a owl on it, don't let that fool you! This is one of the worst books i have read. To find a good book go down and look in my recommended books!

    5 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Good

    Hoot is really good.When you first start reading it , you get pulled in. You should REALLLLLYYYYYYYY GET IT!!!!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    HOOT HOOT

    It sounds like a great book!!!!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    hi

    Hi I do not hoot for this book. Ha Ha Ha

    4 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    I LOVE IT!!!

    This book is one of my favorites. It is so great that I read it all in two days. You must read it. If ypi loke animals than you will love lots of his books such as Scat, Flush, and Chomp. Press buy it well worth your money!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    wow!!!

    This books a great read for any age. Each charecter is different and complex. Couldn't stop reading.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 825 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 42