Customer Reviews for

Hoot

Average Rating 4.5
( 816 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(521)

4 Star

(171)

3 Star

(56)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

A great story!

This is a great book and a fun story to read. It should be in every classroom and children should read this one snuggled up in bed at night. There are great characters and a fun story line. It shows you that even children can have opinions and make a difference! The bab...
This is a great book and a fun story to read. It should be in every classroom and children should read this one snuggled up in bed at night. There are great characters and a fun story line. It shows you that even children can have opinions and make a difference! The baby owls will be killed because of the construction that is moving in to make a pancake house. How will the community, specifically the kids help these small helpless creatures. This is a book that you don't want to miss. The movie is good, the book is better.

posted by tchrreader on May 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Hoot

Hoot by Carl Hiassen.
Hoot Is a Intresting, Intense, brain- igniting book, full of intresting events, like when Roy's Daad works for the government, and he still his friend, illegaly go destroy a building site for Mother Paula's All americnan pancake house, to save th...
Hoot by Carl Hiassen.
Hoot Is a Intresting, Intense, brain- igniting book, full of intresting events, like when Roy's Daad works for the government, and he still his friend, illegaly go destroy a building site for Mother Paula's All americnan pancake house, to save the owl's. He tries to tell the company that there is a endangerd breed of animals on their property that they will kill, but they just recive a cheesy letter in the mail. Although this book is great because no matter what they have to do, nothing will stop them from saving those Owl's.

When the law gets involved, there are so many distractions to make their cause. They have guards and police, and dogs gaurding the construction site, which is making saving the owl's get in the way of saving the owl's

posted by MistaJ on February 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 521 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    OMG!!!!!!!

    Hoot is such a classic book. I recomend it for all ages. Just saying listen to a ten year old.

    17 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Amazing Book!

    I love Hoot because it tells the story of a boy who moves a lot and is bullied on the bus because he has come from Montana, and I guess it's just that nobody wants to hang out with the new kid. I get that. I move a lot too, so this story is easy to relate to. I think most people can relate to it, and I recomend it highly.

    P.S. Hit Yes below if this was helpful to you (I hope it was)

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Jswaggin24

    I like this book alot everyone should check it out. [?]

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    good book overall

    this book is about a boy named roy who lives in sunny california he just move from montana where he had to leave alof his friends.Now he has to deal with all sort of problems the three major are 1: dana matherson is a big fat bully that smokes cigarrates and is now picking on roy how will he ever get rid of him answer:read the book. 2:there is a strange boy he sees running and he thinks its odd because he had no shoes and backpack sp he discovers his ame is mullet fingers and he is trying to solve a prromblem with somelittle owls that are about as tall as a bear can.answer:read the book! 3:roy has to choose between his heart and his brains his heart tells him to help mullet fingers to save the owls his brain tells him to do what is right and just ignore the owls.answer:read the book

    this is a really good book and i think evrybody should read it . it took me 2days and a half to read this 234 page book.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Number one

    This book is the best book ever

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Paigeywaigey

    This book was amazing i wish the ending......i wish there was no ending. I loved this book and scat it is amazing read this book and don't listen to HHAATTEERRRSSS (HATERS) i loved it!!

    Reviwed by: Paige

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Awesome!

    Best book ever! Loved the hillarious houmor, and the details! Wish it never ended! Definitly recommand it to all readers! Amazing! I LOVE Carl Hiassen! His books are the very best! :)

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    A GOOD BOOK

    What i think about the book is that it is a very touching book it understands me somtimes it reaches out and make me apart of the story i rwally reslly recomrnd it to any one at all

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Good

    Hoot is really good.When you first start reading it , you get pulled in. You should REALLLLLYYYYYYYY GET IT!!!!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    HOOT HOOT

    It sounds like a great book!!!!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    I LOVE IT!!!

    This book is one of my favorites. It is so great that I read it all in two days. You must read it. If ypi loke animals than you will love lots of his books such as Scat, Flush, and Chomp. Press buy it well worth your money!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    wow!!!

    This books a great read for any age. Each charecter is different and complex. Couldn't stop reading.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Amazing

    The book was amazing i thought i was hooked on his books before but now im in deep!I am only a middle schooler but this book is so meaningful. I think every one eleven and up should read this book. There is some curse words in the book and younger less mature kids shouldnt read it

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Hoot

    Such a great book
    (:

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Hoot

    I love hoot it made me get the whole book i cant wait to see the movie.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Good to great

    This book is great for all kids including many reading programs. I think many people would enjoy the book Hoot?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    What a hoot!

    Mother Paula's All American Pancake House is building its
    459th joint in a big, empty lot in Coconut Cove, Florida. And what's the problem with that? It is that tiny burrowing owls live there- and they don't grow to be more than eight or nine inches tall!

    Hoot is a great book-even if it is a little bit innappropriate at some points in the story, and it is defenitely the kind of book that lots of people love!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Love it

    I read the book and saw the movie. Both are good.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    There's a movie!

    If there is want to see it!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Readthis book now!!!!

    This book is so good read it now!!!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 521 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 27