Customer Reviews for

Hope: A Tragedy

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Waste of Time and Money!

    Save your money!

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2013

    Wouldn't recommend it. I felt annoyed by the main character thro

    Wouldn't recommend it. I felt annoyed by the main character throughout the whole book.  I found myself rooting against him and couldn't wait for the book to be finished so I could start reading something better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Kate to Quin

    Heyy r book now!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    great read

    Irreverent, piercing, funny, philosophical, searching...a companion even.
    Maybe the best reader gets the love/hate idiom of NY Jewish identity. But I'd like to think that the audience is wide and broad. It's so well crafted and surprising and real. Should be required reading for creative writing courses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Bluemist

    I read it! Great job! Thanks for including me into it!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    To TRAPPED

    I would give it **. It was way too fast paced and you seem to have someting against punctuation. When you write stories you also need more detail. The grammar was bad as well and you kept switching between first and third person. It made it confuaing to read. There just were not enough details to tell me whats going on. The description of bluemist seemed whacky. My summary is luna gets separated from soot who is her best friend, then gets captured by twolegs with a clan cat. Then they escape, and luna becomes a warrior. Idk her clan ame. U didnt put it. Then there are dogs. Id like to have way more details. I wrote a story lik this and i only got to one and a half scenes. Thats because there was lots of detail and it got five stars from everybody. So dont b afraid to add detail. Poorly written but nice try and the storyline was nice.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    A dark, clever satire

    The Kirkus Review review is right on the money. Reminds me of an intelligent Woody Allen movie...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Painfully Neurotic

    Not the type of book I would usually read and now I know why. A long winded book about somebody who suffers from psychosis brought on by an equally neurotic mother, the book had me wanting to take some psychotropic meds myself by the end of it. Not recommended unless you truely enjoy stories about dysfunctional families!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Loved it

    Couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Clever, Insightful, but Sometimes Too Cute

    Shalom Auslander proved that he is an accomplished writer in his previous collection of short stories. His imagination is again on full display here but although the book is largely a pleasre to read and filled with humor and persuasive insights, it is a bit of a one-trick pony, and the lack of action or even much of a plot makes it seem longer than it is. That said, fans of Auslander will not want to miss it. And, although it is a flawed work, the flashes of brilliance make it a worthwhile read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    can I have my money and time back

    I have never read a more stupid book then this one - cannot recommend it to anyone except maybe someone who needs a doorstop = cannot even bring myself to waste any more time on this review = I would write an f*bomb something or other but the author of this book seems to have the corner on that = do not spend one cent or one second on this book

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2