Customer Reviews for

A Hope in the Unseen: An American Odyssey from the Inner City to the Ivy League

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 23, 2014

    A Hope in the Unseen written by award winning writer and journal

    A Hope in the Unseen written by award winning writer and journalist Ron Suskind. The story follows a young man named Cedric Jennings through-out his last years of high school, and is first year at Brown University. It shows the struggle for Cedric by being out of his comfort zone for most of the story. Cedric is highly intelligent, but making friends is not his strong suit. Our purpose for reading this book was to show us students that anything is possible. No matter what your background is you can still be make it to an Ivy League College.
    A Hope in the Unseen was phenomenal book to read. Showing me that anything is possible if you work for it. My favorite chapter was chapter 13. In chapter 13 Cedric gets his grade back for a math test that he had taken earlier, he was so sure that he had gotten a D. he opened the envelope and to his surprise he got a 98 on the test. It's my favorite part because we have all taken a test that we were sure to fail but we don't do so bad on it. My least favorite part was chapter 6 'The pretender" because it shows how Bishop Long wasn't really preaching for the community, but he was doing it for the money. It's my least favorite part because it shows the dark side to people, and how money can change the thoughts to anybody. For the writing it was all about Cedric, Suskind did not put his thought  or the thoughts of anybody else. 
    Over all i would rate this book a 4.5 out of 5, and would highly recommend it to anybody that wants to enter an Ivy League college to show that it is possible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2014

    Ramon Padilla AP L&C A hope in the unseen is a narrative

    Ramon Padilla AP L&C A hope in the unseen is a narrative written by Ron Suskind. Suskind is a famous journalist and author of many nonfiction works. This one in particular is about a young African American , who against all odds, succeeds in obtaining what most cannot , an education. His academic achievements are the only way out of his poverty-stricken community. The purpose behind reading this book in my school is to allude it to Suskind's use of rhetorical analysis strategies. Suskind's writing style uses rhetorical skills such as ethos, pathos and logos. Also , his use of plot and conflict help the reader relate to the story and takes readers to the core of most human issues. Race , social classes, and personal merit are all themes touched upon by Suskind. Literary criticism such as Marxism and Cultural criticisms are developed throughout the plot as more and more incidents testing the main character, Cedric Jennings, are unfolded.
    Overall I believe this book is a an excellent choice for all young adults. Development of identity and self-made choices are some things we lack during this stage of maturity. Suskind also shows the difference in social classes and alludes this to Marxism, or deconstruction. Zayd was my favorite character throughout the chapters he and Cedric bonded. My favorite chapter was towards the end of chapter 6, when Cedric receives his acceptance letter from Brown University. While each character contributed to Suskind's Scheme of things, Cedric's Academic achievements and determination give the college-experience a whole new horizon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2014

        "A Hope in the Unseen",written by award winning au

        "A Hope in the Unseen",written by award winning author, Ron Suskind, focuses on the life of Cedric Jennings. Cedric's background was not all the great to begin with. He came from a single parent home and received most of his foundation from his mother and his church. Suskind begins to shadow Cedric and gives the reader details throughCedric's eyes. This book would be very beneficial and school appropriate due to the fact that Cedric's story is so inspirational. His determination was vital to his thriving successes. His unwillingness to accept failure failure gives the reader the happy ending that we all look forward to when reading books. Suskind shows, through Cedric's story, that the impossible is possible.
        Compared to other stories read throughout my academic career, I rather enjoyed this book. The most enjoyable chapter 13, "A Place Up Ahead". In this chapter, Cedric is accepting his place in the world,focusing on all aspects of his life and is actually content in his position. The least enjoyable chapter was chapter 4, "Skin Deep". This chapter dealt a lot with Cedric and his identity crisis. Throughout the book, Cedric is dealing with this crisis and Suskind captures this beautifully. The way that Suskind makes the reader feel as though Cedric and them are one and that they are traveling down the same journey in life makes this read more enjoyable. His use of  rhetorics like, literary criticisms,elevated diction,tone,ethos,pathos,and logos helps the reader paint a more accurate picture of Cedric and make the reader feel more invested. The characters are also relatable. Everyone will be able to connect the characters to someone they know in real life. In conclusion, the book was far more enjoyable than the others because of it being so relatable, in addition to being inspirational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2014

    Ron Suskind¿s novel, A Hope in the Unseen describes the hardship

    Ron Suskind’s novel, A Hope in the Unseen describes the hardships and development of the main protagonist, Cedrick Jennings. Suskind applies his knowledge from the University of Virginia, and his accredited accomplishments at the Columbia School of Journalism to reach the reader into the world of an impoverished African American student with a mindset for stratified learning. Through Suskind’s interpretation, the reader begins to understand viewpoints and the purpose for Suskind’s literary criticism. Suskind critically expresses the tone of the novel through the pathos exclaimed through Cedric’s emotions. This novel has absolutely opened my eyes to the importance of college and an education worth giving your entire life behind. This novel’s powerful diction has made me realize the world will always have a darkness within it, however, we must push our limits just like Cedric in order to achieve the light in hope that the days were there wasn’t enough money to pay for bills are gone. Therefore, I rate this book a solid 4/5. 




    Suskind’s experience as an accredited award winning Journalists proves to give the reader a promising novel. I will say that Suskind has written yet another work of literary gold as his accurate interpretation of Cedric Jennings has convinced my colleges and I to work much harder so that we could leave our past life and become successful. However, there were some chapters in the novel I wouldn’t agree with. In chapter 4, Suskind interprets Cedric as some type of egotistical person that doesn’t fall in line with the storyline. I was assuming he was mature and proper, however, he begins to blurt out to teacher and claiming he is “Racist”.  I simply do not believe this chapter was by any chance appropriate. There were also some chapters that I believe were absolutely perfect to express ceric as a scholarly individual. Towards the end of Chapter 14, Cedric finally receives his report card and receives an astonishing report! He has finally achieved his long awaited accomplishments and makes me very proud of the man he has developed over time. The characters were all very promising as well as entertaining with backgrounds of all different social classes. Suskind’s style of writing is like a journey of the heart, he takes readers to the core of the most fundamental human issues – love, faith, friendship, brotherhood, what parents can offer their children, and how, in moments of darkness, we literally need stories to survive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2014

    Aliyah Pennington Mrs. Stewart AP Language and Composition Octob

    Aliyah Pennington
    Mrs. Stewart
    AP Language and Composition
    October 23, 2014


    In my AP Language class, we read A Hope in the Unseen by Ron Suskind. This novel was a fantastic read. The purpose of this book is to give students hope and to let students know to not be ashamed of their intelligence. A Hope in the Unseen is a about a young boy, named Cedric, who grew up in Washington D.C.. Cedric came from a poor environment. In high school, he always struggled trying to keep his grades up. This novel relates to how real life is and what young black men go through. The rate that I gave this book was a 4 out of 5 because it was relatable for those who struggle and feel that they are not smart enough.
    A Hope in the Unseen was a wonderful book, which I love. My favorite chapter would have to be chapter 13, “A Place up Ahead”. This is my favorite chapter because Cedric finds who he really is. He didn’t believe in himself academically. He passed his Calculus test with an A. He was shocked that he received such a good grade. He proved to himself that he was academically profound. Suskind writing style is wonderful. I would rate him a 5 out of 5 on a scale. His writing style is interesting. He uses different rhetorical strategies throughout the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2014

    A Hope in the Unseen is an excellent book that I had to read in

    A Hope in the Unseen is an excellent book that I had to read in my AP language and composition class. It was written by the Pulitzer Prize winning journalist Ron Suskind. Suskind is known for writing some of America's greatest novels. His novels explore the main human issues of modern times. With his experience in writing about human experience, Suskind did an amazing job of writing about the struggles of a young black man in his novel A Hope in the Unseen. In A Hope in the Unseen the main character, Cedric Jennings, faces a variety of issues throughout the story. Cedric is an ambitious and extremely determined student who wants nothing more than to get out of the his neighborhood. He knows how intelligent he is and wants to be something. His main problem comes with getting into a college that will provide him with all the opportunities he needs. Susking showcases how hard it is for Cedric to not only get into college but also keep up with the other students who come from better school. Suskind makes Cedric's situation easy to relate to. Many minority student have a problem getting into good colleges and keeping up with those who are better taught. Cedric is symbolism for students all across the world.
    I really enjoyed A Hope in the Unseen because it makes me believe I can do what Cedric did, which is beat the odds. I like how it relates to not only African American minorities but all minorities. My favorite parts of the novel would be when Cedric finally starts having some clarity about who he is and what he must do to succeed. It was also interesting to read about what Cedric's problems were at home because it gives the reader an idea of different class problems. Suskind was clever to use Marxist and cultural criticism. He also did a good job in creating a complex group of characters. Each character may exhibit different types of cultures or different levels of Marxism. Suskind made sure that a variety of people could relate to the book. He also made it a book that you had to pay close attention to in order to catch certain things. It is because of all these things that I rate this book four stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2014

    The title of this novel is ¿A Hope in the Unseen¿ by Ron Suskind

    The title of this novel is “A Hope in the Unseen” by Ron Suskind. There are many reasons for students in schools to read
    “A Hope in the Unseen.” This novel is influential in many aspects. This novel also carries many themes, which in the long
    run can influence many students who may or may not be going through tough times like Cedric Jennings. A major theme
    in this novel is hope. Hope motivated Cedric to want better things in life and to never give up on what he wants to do in life,
    no matter his background or past. This novel could help students realize that there are people out in the world who have it
    worse than us, but are using that motive to help them get ahead. Cedric did not use his past as an excuse to not do good in
    school or in other aspects in life. This novel could also influence people in a way that has to do with race. This novel proves
     that although we are not the same color or from the same background, we are human and want success in life. I would rate
    this book an 8 out of 10 because I feel that I could relate to Cedric in many ways, such as our craving for success. 
              I love “A Hope in the Unseen” and I have not said that in a while about the novels we read in school.
    My favorite chapter of this novel is chapter 14: Meeting the Man, the last chapter in the novel, because it shows how Cedric
    learned to open up to a few people at Brown University.  Throughout the story Cedric comes about many problems with
    opening up to people because he feels as if everyone is against him because of his race. My least favorite part of this novel
    is chapter 4: Skin Deep because Cedric did not take reality too well. I was expecting for him to take it and learn from it, not
    stumble upon the problems. I expected him not to stumble on his problems as much as he did because he has gone through
    so much worse in life, he should not let little things push him down. I give this novel a 9 out of 10 as far as Suskind’s writing
    style goes. Suskind uses various tones to help us understand the moment in the chapter. Suskind also uses a lot of pathos to
    get his many themes across such as hope and family. Suskind did an amazing job with his characterization. Due to his characterization,
    it was easy to interpret what a character was going through. In general “A Hope in the Unseen” is a good book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    A Hope in the Unseen by Ron Suskind is a great novel that I read

    A Hope in the Unseen by Ron Suskind is a great novel that I read my junior year for AP language and composition class. A Hope in the Unseen is about a boy named Cedric Jennings who was raised in Washington D.C. Cedric goes to a school named Ballou, and in Ballou he is one of the smartest students there. Once Cedric went to Ballou he wasn’t as smart as the other students so he would always struggle to keep his grades good and try to be as smart as the other students. Cedric doesn’t only deal with struggles at school, but also at home. His mother would struggle so hard to try to pay their bills and do everything on her own to raise her children because their father isn’t around. This novel is very inspiring. It inspires students to never give up on your dreams and just keep trying. You should never give up because at the end your hard work could pay off like Cedric’s hard work paid off.
    Overall this book was one of my favorite novels I have ever read. I don’t really like to read books but this novel really caught my attention and I found it very interesting. I would recommend this book to my friends, so they can be inspired and so they can know to never give up on their dreams. My favorite chapter in the novel would have to be Chapter four “Skin Deep”. It was my favorite chapter because it was something I can relate to. This past summer I took Honors algebra 2, math has always been one of my favorite subjects and I would usually be the smartest one in my math class but when I went to take the class there were people who were smarter than me and there were things in there that I did not understand but they did. Like Cedric, I too felt like I was 10 steps behind the other students. My least favorite chapter would be chapter 14, “MEETING the MAN”. In chapter 14 Cedric and his mother get evicted from their home because they have not had many to pay off bills, but luckily a friend lended them money. Cedric gets angry at his mother because she did not tell him, he doesn’t speak to her for weeks. Overall this novel was great. It was very interesting and I would rate it a 4 out of 5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    I have read a novel by Ron Suskind called A Hope in The Unseen.

    I have read a novel by Ron Suskind called A Hope in The Unseen. I started to read the book because it was assigned by my teacher in my high school. The novel is about a young black man living in Washington, D. C, 's most dangerous neighborhood. Cedric Jennings is the main character of the novel. Cedric is an intelligent and honor student. The high school he goes to is called Ballou, where most students dropout of school or are not academically well. The main character's hard work payed off because he was excepted to Brown University. The novel goes through the difficulties a poor young black boy can experience and feel. Cedric is faced with these challenges with himself during the last two years of Ballou High school and freshmen year of Brown University. My rate is 4 out of 5 stars.
    I have enjoyed reading A Hope in The Unseen by Ron Suskind. I liked this novel. You will not be able to put the book down until your done reading it. My favorite chapter of the novel is Chapter 13, A Place Up Ahead. This chapter is about Cedric doubting his academic abilities. When Cedric receives his grade on his Calculus final, he can't believe it. Cedric got a 98 on the Calculus final. Cedric was sure he was going to to fail. I liked this scene because Cedric has finally triumphed academically and became confident in himself. Suskind writing style deserves a high rating. The author would keep you interested. The novel is not confusing. It has a good flow. I liked the imagery, you can picture everything. The tone of characters would change throughout the chapters. Suskind used pathos with the characters by appealing emotionally. It had dictions and metaphors. For these reasons A Hope in The Unseen by Ron Suskind is a great novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012



    A Hope in the Unseen

    A Hope in the Unseen is a novel written by the author Ron Suskind. This novel is primarily about an immigrant boy’s, Cedric, life

    as he went through different obstacles including both school and social status. The title, A Hope in the Unseen, opens the reader’s

    imagination as to what the depth of its true meaning could be. Whether it be hope for the future, or faith in a higher power of some sort,

    Suskind does a great job at giving his readers a range of thinking while reading the novel. This makes the fact that reading the novel

    was originally a homework, assignment less relevant. So overall, I would give this novel a solid four stars out of five, which in my book,

    is considered a very good read.

    So, needless to say, I enjoyed the novel as a whole. The fact that Suskind makes the novel seem so current, and relatable, makes

    it that much easier to get into A Hope in the Unseen. I especially like the way that Suskind somehow puts his readers into the story,

    even though he uses third person throughout the novel. Of the novel, my favorite chapter that, I would have to say, is chapter 13 “A

    Place Up Ahead.” This is mainly because based off of reading the novel, this chapter marks the turning point in Cedric’s life. Suskind

    uses a selective choice of words that are intellectual, but at the same time understandable, which helps the reader connect to the

    novel in a deeper way than most novels. Also, though the novel focuses on Cedric as the main character, Suskind does a good job at

    fitting all of the other characters’ backgrounds in, as well as making the reader feel as if he or she is included in the story right along

    with them. Suskind also uses pathos throughout the novel when tell of the hardships that Cedric goes though. This clearly exhibits

    Suskind’s talent and skill as a writer. So, in closing, I give A Hope in the Unseen by Rob Suskind a high rating, and deem it a very

    good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    Ron Suskind is a prize winning author. He has written five

    Ron Suskind is a prize winning author. He has written five books. He also has published many articles. A book he is well known for is The Wall Street Journal. A book of his I am most familiar with is A Hope in the Unseen. This novel was a reading requirement my junior year of high school. This novel is a pleasurable read. I would rate A Hope in the Unseen a four-star.
    Though this novel was a reading requirement for my AP Language and Composition class I would have enjoyed it just as well if it was an at home read. I enjoyed every stage of this book. My favorite chapter of this novel is chapter 12, "Let the Colors Run". This is my favorite chapter because the main characters mother gets an eviction notice for her apartment. This whole chapter will keep you on edge wanting to read more. The main character is very relate able. He goes through multiple struggles both physical and mental. He goes from a boy with no confidence to a proud young man. Suskind uses pathos throughout his novel. He reveals the struggles that many people go through today. He does this so the reader can identify with the characters and their lives. When you read this story you will constantly be reminded of things you may personally connect with. A Hope in the Unseen is an amazing novel. This novel is extraordinary!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    In my AP Language and Composition class, I had the privilege to

    In my AP Language and Composition class, I had the privilege to read the novel A Hope In the Unseen written by Ron Suskind. From the moment I picked up the novel I couldn't put it down. Ron Suskind tell the story of a young man named Cedric Jennings struggle of growing up in a poverty stricken neighborhood. Cedric faces many obstacles during his last two years of high school and first year of college. Cedric goes to a high school in southeast Washington D.C. at poorly educated school. During his high school years he is depicted as one of the smartest kids to attend the school. Cedric in some way views the school as too easy and does extra work to keep up with his competition. When Cedric finally gains his diploma and attends college, he finds it extremely difficult and wants to give in. Cedric keeps his head strong and works through the struggles of college, and all his hard work pays off.
    I find this novel as a very unique read. It is very easy to understand, due to the fact it is set in a modern day society. Suskind use of imagery makes it a hands down 4 out of 5. The way Suskind throws multiple images in your head and make you visualize every scene as if you were there is a good reason why is book is a must have. One of my favorite chapter that always seems to capture my attention is chapter 2, "Don't Let Them Hurt Your Children". This particular chapter takes away from the hardships of Cedric and focus mostly on his mother, Barbara Jennings.The reason why this chapter is so memorable, is because it tell another struggle of a different character before Cedric was even in the picture. The chapter just shows off how great Suskind writing skills can be by telling another side of the story, and how he use Pathos to relate to the character of Barbara even more. This might be a great novel but one of my cons of it is, the fact some chapter just jump from event to event not giving you a break to process what just previously happened. Other than that this book should be rented or bought today. I promise you, you won't be wasting your time reading the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    A Hope in the Unseen, written by Ron Suskind, tells a marvelous

    A Hope in the Unseen, written by Ron Suskind, tells a marvelous story about a young man named Cedric Jennings and his road to the Ivy league. Born into a life on the line of poverty, Cedric has faced struggles that shape him into the young man he is. As he finishes up his last two years of high school and begins his first in an Ivy league school, Cedric will face greater challenges and decisions that will lead him into becoming a successful man. Even though this novel was read for A.P. Language and Composition, I enjoyed it greatly and I give it a 4 out of 5.
    I had many likes, and few dislikes for the novel. One of them being that Cedric's story was so relatable; somethings that Cedric faced found its connections in my life. One example is the chapter Skin Deep. In this chapter, Cedric is attending a program at MIT that he has been dreaming about for so long. However, when he gets there he realizes that the kids he meets seem to be already five steps ahead of him. At times, I feel that I am the student that seems to be fifty steps behind everyone else, and when Cedric talks about that, I really felt that I could relate. Another thing I liked about the novel was the different tones the author used to make the mood of the situation more understandable. I also liked that the author used pathos to help tell the story and make it more believable, especially with the more serious areas the novel covers. I had one dislike though about the characters, and maybe this is a more personal thing. I really didn't like how Cedric's mother didn't seem to develop as a character. Other than that, the overall was story was pretty great.. A Hope in the Unseen tells Cedric's story in a unique way,and it gives the reader an inspirational experience

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    Ron Suskind, author of the book A Hope in the Unseen and re

    Ron Suskind, author of the book A Hope in the Unseen and reporter for the Wallstreet Journal, is a very exceptional author. I read this book for school purposes in my AP Language and Composition class. The struggle of the main character, Cedric Jennings, is like the struggle of many other single Black families today, which really hits home for many black readers. The book shows Cedric's many struggle through this world and how, even with his many obstacles, he manages to become great in his own eyes. This is an outstanding way to show the less fortunate people in America that there is always hope even though you might not realize it right away. This book rightfully deserves a 4.% out of 5 stars.
    I really enjoyed this book. It was such an incredible story of success in this modern age. It really touched me to see how one person can start with nothing but pure will and intuition and work their way to the top and gain success through hard work. My favorite chapter is the chapter titled "A Place Up Ahead". this chapter is my favorite becauseit shows how the "Tail can become the Head" with an adequate amount of work. My least favorite chapter is the chapter titled "Back home". This is my least favorite because it is the chapter that has the least amount of impact on his success. Although the book is a long read, Ron Suskind's writing style is greatly exceptional. He is a very articulate author and uses a very advanced vocabulary to express his writing. Overall his writing deserves a rating of 3.5 out of 5. If you are not a person who loves long reads, I would not recommend this book. If you like articulate lond read books this book is perfect for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    A Hope in the Unseen by Rob Suskind is a book I read my senior y

    A Hope in the Unseen by Rob Suskind is a book I read my senior year for an advance placement English class. The book is about a boy named Cedric Jennings who lives in Washington D.C. Cedric, a minority living in a single parent home is forced to face many hardships growing up. Although Cedric is very intelligent and received good grades his home life is not the greatest. Cedric’s father is incarcerated while he is growing up, his mother struggles to keep up with their bills, and the neighborhood he lives in is not the best. Cedric, number two at Ballou high school later realizes he is not as smart as he believed he was. Most of the students at Ballou do not apply themselves; therefore Cedric does not have to work very hard for his number two spot. The transformation from Ballou to Brown University is something Cedric struggles with. Despite his struggles Cedric does well for himself in the end. On a scale of 1 to 10 I give A Hope in the Unseen a 9.
    Usually I do not enjoy the books I read in English. However I enjoyed A Hope in the Unseen very much. The book is remarkably inspirational. Cedric’s story proves that no matter what your situation is or where you come from if you push yourself hard enough you will be successful in life. Suskind made Cedric’s story extremely easy to relate to. Although I enjoyed the entire book I would have to say my favorite is chapter 13, “A Place up Ahead”. In this chapter Cedric begins to come out of his shell and finally starts to enjoy college life. I can relate to this chapter because when I transferred my junior year I felt extremely out of place at my new school, but eventually just like Cedric I began to come around. If I had to choose I would say that chapter 14, “Meeting the Man” is my least favorite chapter. In this chapter Cedric comes home from college to an eviction notice. His mother falls very far behind on her rent therefore she and Cedric are being evicted. The eviction sparks a fight between Cedric and his mother; they do not speak for a month. Although Cedric has his up and downs throughout the book, I still think the book is amazing. I definitely give the book two thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Highly recommended

    I received the book at a reasonable amount of days and enjoyed it thoroughly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Wow!

    A Hope in the Unseen is a really, really outstanding book. The book was about a young man, Cedric Jennings, and his struggles to get to an Ivy League school. The book was written by Ron Suskind. Suskind is a talented author that uses his ability to draw his readers into really analyzing his book. Our AP class read this book to help improve our rhetorical analysis skills. This book is a great book to do that because it is a deeply intellectual novel. It forces you to think beyond your normal limits of thinking. For future readers, this book is a good read. I give it 4 out of 5.
    Overall, I enjoyed reading A Hope in the Unseen. It was interesting and I did not get bored with it, as I do with most books. My favorite chapter was chapter 8, Fierce Intimacies. It was the best chapter to me because it was about Cedric's first month or so at college. I wanted to see how Cedric would fare as a college student. As for Suskind's writing style, it is used very well. It gives the reader insight into what Suskind was thinking and feeling when he wrote it. My favorite character is Cedric because I see a little of myself in him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Excellent Read

    Ron Suskind's "A Hope in the Unseen". This book is about a young man (Cedric Jennings) who overcomes his obstacles to be successful in life. He was poor throughout his adolescent years, and did not live a life that most take for granted. He did not let that hinder him from achieving his goals. He worked hard and made it through high school at the top of his class. The author (Ron Suskind) write this novel as though it were fiction when in fact, it is non-fictio. Suskind follows Jennings for several years, and jus takes notes on his life. He then takes these notes, and turns them into a story through immaculate diction, dialogue, dialect, tone, imagery, and other rhetorical strategies. This book is an 8 out of 10.
    This book is excellent. It was a challenging, yet interesting read from cover to cover. The chapters most favored, are chapers 2 and 8 because they introduce readers to Cedrics parents, and give background information on both of them. Those chapters also illustrate some of Cedrics overcome obstacles. As far as writing style, strategies used, characterization, and diction are concerned, this book should be rated at a 9. It keeps readers intrigued, and pulls on all of their emotions at one point or another in the novel. This book was an enjoyable and fun read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    highly recommended

    "The Novel("A hope in the unseen") by Ron Suskind is absolutely inspirational; its a touching story of hope courage, and determination. it shows even if your past was dark , your future could be as bright as you want it to be. - Martell .E.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Suspenseful, Thrilling

    Generally read in my Honors Language & Composition class, A Hope in the Unseen is truly a inspiring book. It was written by Ron Suskind, who was a very known black author who was truly insperational to his fellow peers. My purpose for reading this book in class was to understand the uses, and usages of rhetorical analysis. When getting deeper into the book, I realized that I could relate to it in some aspect of my life. This book really broadened my senses to the focus on the real world. Before I read this book in class, I thought of my life as an easy carefree life where I could get by easy. After reading this book, I realize that I have a very good life, and should make the most of it. I gave this book four stars, because I thought it could have possessed more information, but this book really kept me waiting to read every chapter.

    Overall, i really enjoyed reading the book. My favorite chapter was Good-Bye to Yesterday because I really wanted Cedric to start his first day of college right away. I did not have a least favorite chapter, because I enjoyed reading every chapter to the last page. As far as Suskind's writing style, I would give him an eight out of ten stars, because I really felt that he did a splendid job with the writing. Suskind's train of thought surrounding the characters gets a complete ten. He came up with some great characters, and each character's life could be related to the story. This was a really good book, and I recommend it to anyone who likes to read as much as I do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2