Customer Reviews for

Hope Solo: My Story

Average Rating 5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Thrilling read for young soccer fan

My granddaughter plays soccer herself and was thrilled to see Hope Solo as goalee in the Olympics. We shared viewing of the Canada/USA game with grandpa. The game with Japan was an event for her team. I'm always on the lookout for books that she wants to read and when s...
My granddaughter plays soccer herself and was thrilled to see Hope Solo as goalee in the Olympics. We shared viewing of the Canada/USA game with grandpa. The game with Japan was an event for her team. I'm always on the lookout for books that she wants to read and when she announced that she wanted to read this book, I rushed to buy it.

I was thrilled to find a young readers version and she immediately started reading it once I handed it to her. She remembers to take it to school and is really enjoying every word.

Our children need heros like this down to earth, hard working young woman.

posted by TwinkletoesCM on September 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down

This book is a geat choise for soccer fans you could not put it down. It is so sad about how many things that happen to her. She is an amazing player. Hope is very strong and a great goalie. You will not belive how hard she plays because i don't know exactly either. Ho...
This book is a geat choise for soccer fans you could not put it down. It is so sad about how many things that happen to her. She is an amazing player. Hope is very strong and a great goalie. You will not belive how hard she plays because i don't know exactly either. Hope if your reading this make sure you know your the best goalie ever. Your not just a soccer player your the real deal. Your my role model forever. No person in the world would ever say you stink. I hope everyone who reads this book doesn't post a bad comment. Hope is the best player ever.

posted by Anonymous on September 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    Thrilling read for young soccer fan

    My granddaughter plays soccer herself and was thrilled to see Hope Solo as goalee in the Olympics. We shared viewing of the Canada/USA game with grandpa. The game with Japan was an event for her team. I'm always on the lookout for books that she wants to read and when she announced that she wanted to read this book, I rushed to buy it.

    I was thrilled to find a young readers version and she immediately started reading it once I handed it to her. She remembers to take it to school and is really enjoying every word.

    Our children need heros like this down to earth, hard working young woman.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    AWESOME!!!!!

    This book tells you anything and everything you every wondered about Hope Solo. I thought I knew her before but after reading this I know I was sadly wrong. I admire her more now after reading this.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Anoymonus

    Okay I admit, I hated soccer before I read this book. Hope is amazing, even though there were many losses in her life she stayed strong I admire her for that very much. She is a role model

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Love hope solo

    When i read this book i was like wow she is amazing and shes also just a regular person. This book really shows her liVE story. SO READ IT!!!

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Hopen Solo

    This book was amazing it taught me to never give up and follow my dreams no matter what happens. And Hope you are the best goalie that the US team could ever have. I loved this book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    i grew up in her house and it is somethingvi will never forget

    I also knew that she would be famous someday because of her attitude and ability to play goalie and i also met charrlotte there english shepard and it was one of the cutest dogs i have ever seen in my life. Lastly i used to play with hope well sometimes actually very rarely until we never saw each other ever again. So that is why i love this book because i was one of her best friends at one piont

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Best book ever

    This book is awesome its a life story this book inspired me it is a must get

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Hope solo: soccer star

    I really love this book!!!! I am usually a realistic fiction or fiction reader but this was one of the best books ever. I expierienced what she did. I laughed with her, cried, and felt rewarded when she took gold. What i learned was to never give up and that if you truely believe in yourself, you can acieve anything.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Amazing

    Best book ever

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Dear Hope

    Dear hope my name is lizz

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    A anynono. An anonymous

    Hope Solo is my idol!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Soccer

    My soccer coach told me about this book and it sounds great! Is it worth it to buy it? I hop so because it sounds amazing

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    <3 hope solo

    I am a HUGE soccer fan

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Sup

    My parents juzt told me that we are going to get a pretty much masion. Supps exited. BRB

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    This book was an amazing book, i loved the book because it took


    This book was an amazing book, i loved the book because it took me through the journey of Hope Solo's life. Hope's charismatic life is followed from her father leaving and her track through college. The book gives amazing detail and this is why this is my favorite book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Hope solo

    Very good book if you love hope and want to now about her life sporty people

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    I LOVE STUDIO C!!!!!!

    =-D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Hope Solo: My Story Boom! Hope┬┐s glove just blocked the ball fr

    Hope Solo: My Story
    Boom! Hope’s glove just blocked the ball from going into the net making the win for the U.S. This amazing autobiography of Hope Solo, who is the goalkeeper for the Women’s U.S.A. soccer team, tells about her rough life as a girl and how it has made her the person she is today. The plot tells about Hope Solo whose parents had to get a divorce when she was young, because of her dad being dishonest, and having to grow up the rest of her childhood without her dad, who was the only one she felt like, understood her. She had to face many hard obstacles in her life, but she got through them along with the help of her mom, dad, her brother Marcus, her grandparents, her soccer coaches, and her soccer teammates. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who plays soccer or likes to watch it. It is a very relatable, realistic, and exciting book. Brooke R

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    WANT IT

    I dont have it yet but I really want it I play soccer I am on a club team I didnt no hoo hope solo was fr a wile but i do now

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Hope solo is the definition of a true athlete, playing for somet

    Hope solo is the definition of a true athlete, playing for something more than herself, her team, and her country. Hope continues to amaze her fans overcoming adversity such as, Death in her family and criticism about her self-absorbed attitude. However, still early in her career she has distinguished herself as one of the prestige women soccer goalies, winning two Olympic gold medals, and cover page on well known magazines, Sports illustrated and ESPN the magazine. I recommend reading this book, because it is not just another memoir you pick up read and put down when your done, and you receive no reward for reading it; This book is a touching story about a young girl, living many years ahead of her age, having to deal with the everyday struggles of having the professional spot light on her, while balancing her Social life, soccer, and family. This book is a good read for any amateur athlete with a dream of making it big no matter what sport you play. READ THIS BOOK!! you wont be disappointed. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2