Customer Reviews for

Hope Springs

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Reading Hope Springs was like stepping into the town itself. I c

Reading Hope Springs was like stepping into the town itself. I could relate to so many of the characters, and I almost felt as if I was a part of their close-knit family.

The women in this book face struggles that we all deal with, sometimes even daily. Libby struggle...
Reading Hope Springs was like stepping into the town itself. I could relate to so many of the characters, and I almost felt as if I was a part of their close-knit family.

The women in this book face struggles that we all deal with, sometimes even daily. Libby struggles with her dating relationships and the paralyzing fear of commitment. Stephanie is living a comfortable life, the one she carefully planned for, but feelings of discontent have her wondering if there’s something more. Becca has finally been given the opportunity of a lifetime, the very thing she’s always dreamed of, but what happens if it is immediately taken away? And could her husband’s calling be different than her own? Janelle is still grieving her husband’s death and is raising her two children on her own, wondering what is the next step in her life. Sara Ann desires to do more to serve her Lord, but fears that she isn’t worthy, isn’t good enough.

The small town of Hope Springs is honestly synonymous for many, many small towns and communities. Having grown up in a small southern town myself, I’ve seen first-hand the lines of segregation that still exist today. Miss Tate did an exemplary of presenting this issue in an honest, factual way. As Christians, these lines that we draw, regardless if they are racial, social, or simply lines of bitterness are dividing the plans and blessings that God has in store for us.

This story is also a great example of how easily secrets, feelings of prejudice and things left unspoken can tear a family apart. Learning to let go can be the hardest thing, but the most beautiful, and rewarding thing in the very end.

Hope Springs is the third novel Kim Cash Tate has written around the Sanders family, preceded by Faithful and Cherished.

Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book through a publicity agency. However I was not required to write a positive review, the opinions listed above are entirely my own.

posted by hannahetrotter on June 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lost from the start

As soon as I started reading this book, I felt a little lost. Sort of like I had been thrown into a story that other people already knew half of and I knew nothing about. There wasn't a lot of introduction to the characters so I often felt like I was playing catch-up t...
As soon as I started reading this book, I felt a little lost. Sort of like I had been thrown into a story that other people already knew half of and I knew nothing about. There wasn't a lot of introduction to the characters so I often felt like I was playing catch-up trying to figure out who these people were. From what I understand, some of Kim's other books revolve around some of the characters seen in Hope Springs┬┐, but since I haven't read any of her other books I felt out of the loop. Another thing I wasn't very fond of was the fact that the elapsed time between chapters varied from a few days to a few months and there wasn't a lot of talk about what had happened during those gaps in the story.

Once I was able to get a feel for the characters and their stories, I enjoyed the book a little. It was hard to really enjoy the book as a whole because it was almost like starting to watch a TV show in the middle and having to piece together past events on my own. I am sure that Kim Cash Tate is a wonderful story teller, I just wish I'd read some of her other books before jumping into this one. I plan to give her another shot and pick up one of her earlier books and I'd advise others interested in this book to do the same in hopes that they won't be as lost as I was at times.

Disclaimer: A complimentary copy of this book was provided for this review. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to post a positive review.

posted by JamieLittle on June 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Lost from the start

    As soon as I started reading this book, I felt a little lost. Sort of like I had been thrown into a story that other people already knew half of and I knew nothing about. There wasn't a lot of introduction to the characters so I often felt like I was playing catch-up trying to figure out who these people were. From what I understand, some of Kim's other books revolve around some of the characters seen in Hope Springs¿, but since I haven't read any of her other books I felt out of the loop. Another thing I wasn't very fond of was the fact that the elapsed time between chapters varied from a few days to a few months and there wasn't a lot of talk about what had happened during those gaps in the story.

    Once I was able to get a feel for the characters and their stories, I enjoyed the book a little. It was hard to really enjoy the book as a whole because it was almost like starting to watch a TV show in the middle and having to piece together past events on my own. I am sure that Kim Cash Tate is a wonderful story teller, I just wish I'd read some of her other books before jumping into this one. I plan to give her another shot and pick up one of her earlier books and I'd advise others interested in this book to do the same in hopes that they won't be as lost as I was at times.

    Disclaimer: A complimentary copy of this book was provided for this review. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to post a positive review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    Hope Springs by Kim Cash Tate Hope Springs is the little town wh

    Hope Springs by Kim Cash Tate
    Hope Springs is the little town where Grandma Geri’s family and friends come together to support her during her cancer diagnosis. Her family members are surprised to learn that she has hidden a secret from them for years. In revealing it, she puts herself at risk of rejection by those she loves. Meanwhile, her granddaughters are also dealing with difficult life lessons and encountering lost loves.
    Kim Cash Tate weaves themes of family, loyalty, love and loss throughout this book. Not having read any of her previous books, I found it difficult to keep up with the many different characters. Her theme of racial reconciliation was presented plainly. However, because it was difficult to keep the characters straight, I wasn’t always sure of their racial heritage, and that made understanding the plot trickier. Now that I have been introduced to the main characters, I would consider reading her previous books. As a Christian author, she handles modern-day issues of sexual purity and pregnancy outside marriage sensitively. Her characters, though flawed, learn and grow in grace from their mistakes. The book didn’t have a “perfect “en


    ding, but a realistic one. I am grateful for the free copy from the publisher and this is my honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Kim Cash Tate has crafted an intricate story that, left to someo

    Kim Cash Tate has crafted an intricate story that, left to someone else's hand, could have become a confusing mess. But with Tate's touch, the trials and tribulations of the members of the Dillon and Sanders families, as well as their friends, are well presented. There is much that occurs in "Hope Springs."

    It starts with family getting together at the Christmas holiday and also attending a funeral following an unexpected death. In the course of all this, Janelle tries to better copy with her husband's untimely death while an old love rekindles; Stephanie tries to find the "nicer, better" version of herself while her husband is on a mission trip to Haiti; Libby tries to come to terms with her feelings for an old friend and former boyfriend; and Becca works through her emotions after being added as a speaker to a national women's conference and then being dropped as quickly as she was included in the lineup. In the middle of all this is a serious illness that threatens to hasten Grandma Geri's departure from this life and a secret no one saw coming.

    While the writing itself is a bit clunky at times, Tate does a good job of providing just enough detail to make the story clear without overwhelming the reader, especially since there are so many storylines and characters being presented. I often found it difficult to put down the book, which is always a good sign, especially because I could relate to some of the faith difficulties some of the characters encounter. Overall, a good read.

    Note: I received a review copy of this book from the publisher, Thomas Nelson.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    Reading Hope Springs was like stepping into the town itself. I c

    Reading Hope Springs was like stepping into the town itself. I could relate to so many of the characters, and I almost felt as if I was a part of their close-knit family.

    The women in this book face struggles that we all deal with, sometimes even daily. Libby struggles with her dating relationships and the paralyzing fear of commitment. Stephanie is living a comfortable life, the one she carefully planned for, but feelings of discontent have her wondering if there’s something more. Becca has finally been given the opportunity of a lifetime, the very thing she’s always dreamed of, but what happens if it is immediately taken away? And could her husband’s calling be different than her own? Janelle is still grieving her husband’s death and is raising her two children on her own, wondering what is the next step in her life. Sara Ann desires to do more to serve her Lord, but fears that she isn’t worthy, isn’t good enough.

    The small town of Hope Springs is honestly synonymous for many, many small towns and communities. Having grown up in a small southern town myself, I’ve seen first-hand the lines of segregation that still exist today. Miss Tate did an exemplary of presenting this issue in an honest, factual way. As Christians, these lines that we draw, regardless if they are racial, social, or simply lines of bitterness are dividing the plans and blessings that God has in store for us.

    This story is also a great example of how easily secrets, feelings of prejudice and things left unspoken can tear a family apart. Learning to let go can be the hardest thing, but the most beautiful, and rewarding thing in the very end.

    Hope Springs is the third novel Kim Cash Tate has written around the Sanders family, preceded by Faithful and Cherished.

    Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book through a publicity agency. However I was not required to write a positive review, the opinions listed above are entirely my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    "Stephanie heard a sermon that inspired her to do something

    "Stephanie heard a sermon that inspired her to do something selfless for Christmas. But the sermon "wore off," and she wanted to change her mind. When you receive inspiration from above to step outside your comfort zone, do you follow through? Is it hard?" --- Kim Cash Tate



    Kim Tate is Christian writer who isn't afraid to tackle the difficult subjects or themes. Her latest novel is a testament about life, forgiveness and answering God's call. Her characters are well developed and many layered, the backdrop wonderfully descriptive, and the storyline is compelling. You will be encouraged to continue turning the page because of the fine writing.



    Publishers Weekly probably said it best: "Tate expertly crafts an intriguing narrative that explores unrequited love, true faith, and the complicated politics of change in the Christian church ...(An) affecting tale about forgiveness and following God's call." Publishers Weekly review of Hope Springs.



    If you've accused Christian fiction of being boring or preachy and predictable try Hope Springs. I suspect you will be on the lookout for Ms. Tate's other offerings (Faithful and Cherished both by Kim Cash Tate).



    Disclaimer: This book was provided by Thomas Nelson for review purposes. The words are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    Hope Springs is a small town where everyone knows everyone. Of c

    Hope Springs is a small town where everyone knows everyone. Of course, this also means everyone is involved in everyone else's business as well. When the pastor of one of the 2 churches in town passes away, former Hope Springs residents come back for the funeral. As they discover how theirs lives have changed, they also discover they still have many things in common. The Sanders family soon learns their matriarch, Grandma Geri, is very ill. They try to make the best of things, but a family secret soon rocks them to their cores. Meanwhile the Dillon family is making some big decisions of their own when husband Jim feels called to come minister to the flock his father left behind. There are ups and downs, but the residents of Hope Springs will find that with each other they can make it through anything.

    This book kind of took me by surprise. There were a lot of topics that could be somewhat heavy, but the author managed to handle them very deftly. I will admit to getting confused with all the names though. I definitely needed that family tree in the front! I think the book managed to talk about sensitive topics without being too preachy (which is saying a lot for a book somewhat about preaching). Nothing was really wrapped up in a neat little bow, and I appreciated that. It made the book seem more realistic. I found myself cheering for almost every character. Even through the problems and secrets, I grew to love all the characters in different ways. The big family secret surprised me, and that can be hard to do sometimes. It wasn't really projected in any way, so I was feeling just like the characters.

    I really loved the way race was portrayed in this book. To have so many people of different races who were equally successful and well-rounded was awesome. These are the types of positive characters that everyone could stand to read about. Sure, they all had their struggles, but they were all good people overall. Reading about the children being wonderfully colorblind helped give me hope. Issues with race in the past, present, and future were all addressed to some degree. Once again, no easy answers were given, but there were definitely a lot of things for me to think about. Just watching the people of Hope Springs start a conversation about it was great. When it came to forgiveness of others, I like that one character was ready to admit she couldn't just easily throw aside past hurts. I just felt like so many of they characters had problems that so many of us have had or will have in our lives. Watching them work through it all helped give me some ideas of things I could work on. This book was really fantastic, and I think a lot of people will enjoy reading it.

    Galley provided for review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Not what I had hoped for

    Pretty boring - I kept thinking it would get better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    Kim Cash Tate is one of my favorite authors and she never disapp

    Kim Cash Tate is one of my favorite authors and she never disappoints! I love how all of her stories intertwine and she writes characters that are so easy to relate to! In Hope Springs we encounter three women; Janelle, Stephanie and Becca. They are all on extremely different journeys but all find they are in need of healing and restoration in their lives.

    What I love about this book is how it evokes strong emotion and gives extremely realistic circumstances. As with all of Kim Cash Tate's stories, you will put it down feeling as if you knew the characters personally and lived the stories right along with them.

    I highly recommend this book and love how it is not only a great story, but also brings such strong spiritual conviction with it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    VERY UPLIFTING NOVEL!

    After several years of not being close to her family, Stephanie has a sudden urge to spend Christmas at her grandmother's house. While there, she learns that her grandmother has terminal cancer. Since her husband has volunteered for a medical missions trip to Haiti, she has time on her hands and offers to move in and help her cousins take care of her grandmother. In the months to come, the family not only goes through the trials of watching their grandmother as she weakens, but they also learn family secrets that have kept family members apart too long. But as they grow closer to one another, their faith in God grows stronger as well.

    This was an uplifting Christian fiction novel. It was not too preachy or sappy, but the characters were very human. The situations that arose are the type that happen in families every day. On a personal level, I really related to Becca's character and her situation. It was also very nice to see how the author handled the interracial aspect of the church today. It has been said that Sunday is the most segregated day of the week, and although this is changing, it is still a slow change. I really appreciated the way she emphasized this point. My only complaint, and it is a small one: eventually, there were so many characters, I couldn't keep up with all of them. But that's still a small complaint for such a good novel. I look forward to reading more from this author. This was definitely 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Forgiveness

    Hope Springs is a small town in North Carolina...held together by two churches...one white Calvery and the other black New Jerusalem.
    The story starts when Jim Anderson pastor of Calvery passes away. He lives next door to Geri Sanders and their families have lived by each other most all of their lives. Both families come back to town for his services.
    This book becomes a compelling read, and we are soon immersed in the lives of these families.
    While in town it is found out that Grandma Geri is dying of lung cancer. This fact changes a lot of lives, and the family begins to focus mainly on her well being.
    The center of the story are the lives of Granddaughters Janelle, Stephanie, Libby, and Becca Anderson...her husband is called to take over his Dad's Church.
    Throughout this book I found God leading, yes there are hard times, and a lot of tears shed. Don't miss this page turning read!

    I received this book from Litfuse Publicity Group and the Publisher Thomas Nelson, and was not required to give a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Hope Springs by Kim Cash Tate is an impacting book on so many le

    Hope Springs by Kim Cash Tate is an impacting book on so many levels. This inspirational novel tells the story of two families – past to present - and their relationships, struggles, life callings, and healings. Set in the rural south, Hope Springs ventures down the pathways of race, Christian unity and radical forgiveness. At the heart of the story, there is an ongoing theme of love, sacrifice, and surrender.

    The significance of this book’s message is relevant to all. I could believe that anything is possible in Hope Springs. The view of God from that place is truly magnificent.
    -

    I enjoyed this book more than I can say. It is a favorite and a keeper. I would very definitely recommend this book to anyone interested in appreciating the value of family, forgiveness, redemption, spiritual growth and love. Female or male, I believe this book has resounding lessons for the heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    Hope Springs by Kim Tate was a fun read! I was actually reading

    Hope Springs by Kim Tate was a fun read! I was actually reading two books at the same time. The other book was very “Heavy” and really made you think and reflect. This book, Hope Springs was a nice distraction! I am always grateful for a book that can take my mind off the real world and just put me at peace. Reading has always been a treasure for me and my dad, and even more so since his passing.
    This book spoke volumes in terms of family relationships and friendships. It took place in the South, and while it was written in the present, some of the issues dealt with prejudices and what happens when we let what other people think about race and the world affect our own thinking. This is not uncommon today and therefore, this story was written very well to display these things.
    The book also focused on finding yourself. Each person (and there were a lot of characters in this book, which made it difficult at the beginning to keep everyone straight) had their own issues to deal with. Each person had something in their past or an obstacle in their future that they had to think through and trust God to help them with. Trusting and leaning on God was pivotal for these characters, as was trusting and leaning on each other in good and bad times.
    I always seem to enjoy the books I receive from Booksneeze. Thanks for another opportunity to read a good one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A good addition to the Christian fiction field At first I wasn't

    A good addition to the Christian fiction field
    At first I wasn't sure I would like Hope Springs by Kim Cash Tate.
    First chapters seemed too light, and I thought I would be reading a predictable romance despite there being a large gathering of characters. But as the characters settled into their extended stays in the Hope Springs community, author Tate exposed some deeper issues to her readers. Todd Dillon, who has come home for his pastor father's funeral, contemplates an offer to take over his father's ministry at Calvery Church. His trip to Hope Springs gives him an opportunity to reconnect with his childhood best friend Travis who pastors the large black congregation down the street at New Jerusalem.


    Travis deeply cares for his flock, especially Grandma Geri, one of the congregation's pillars. Geri's family, the Sanders have always been close to their white neighbors, the Dillons, and so many of Geri's grandchildren have come to grieve with Todd and his family. It is this "enlightened" friendship between the races that Tate holds up to the light through the rest of the book. Despite decade old neighborhood friendships, the black community and the white community do not worship together on a regular basis. It will be a off-the-cuff Bible study at the local cafe started by cousin Janelle that will bring the women of both races together in a meaningful way. And as Geri's family gathers round her following an announcement of a serious illness, she reveals a family secret that will forever change the Dillons and Sanders families.


    I ended up liking the book mainlt because of the bigger issues that underscore the story. I also liked the large cast which gave the author much to write about and much for me to follow. Todd's wife who appears to be a successful Christian speaker undergoes some significant reflection and rethinking of her life. Stephanie, a young married who admits that she struggles against any call to put others first in her life, comes to cherish time with her grandma and cousins. Soon she is reaping the rewards of selflessness. Janelle, still deep in grief over the death of her young husband, finds she is in the position to be with Grandma Geri as her health deteriorates, but that puts her in the pathway of an old flame. Another cousin Libby remains caught up in an empty lifestyle, but her trips to Hope Springs and the safety of extended family become more frequent. I am sure another Hope Springs novel will follow -- romance and a happy ending finds one of the cousins, but not another. More stories remain to be told I received an e-copy of this title for review purposes. All opinions are mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1