Customer Reviews for

A Hope Undaunted (Winds of Change Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 298 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(174)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Great Christian Historical Romance

The 1920s are drawing to a close, and feisty Katie O'Connor is the epitome of the new woman--smart and sassy with goals for her future that include the perfect husband and a challenging career in law. Her boyfriend Jack fits all of her criteria for a husband--good-looki...
The 1920s are drawing to a close, and feisty Katie O'Connor is the epitome of the new woman--smart and sassy with goals for her future that include the perfect husband and a challenging career in law. Her boyfriend Jack fits all of her criteria for a husband--good-looking, well-connected, wealthy, and head-over-heels in love with her. But when she is forced to spend the summer of 1929 with Cluny McGee, the bane of her childhood existence, Katie comes face to face with a choice. Will she follow her well-laid plans to marry Jack? Or will she fall for the man she swore to despise forever?

If anyone has read The Daughters of Boston Series by Julie Lessman, then you know exactly what your getting when you opened up Hope Undaunted. You getting a great historical story, with a sweet love story that pushes the passion meter to the very edge when it comes to Christian romances. Julie Lessman loves to push things to the edge but she also knows when to pull back and go on with the story.

I am a huge Julie Lessman fan so I was not dissappointed when I got my hands on a copy of Hope Undaunted I have been waiting for Katie's story for some time now. The Daughters of Boston series and The Wings of Change series really go together though they can be read as stand alone but if you want the real feel for the O'Conner family its just best to read them all.

In A Passion Denied (Daugthers of Boston book three) you meet this spunky street kid Cluny McGee. He is about fourteen and loves to pick on Katie O'Conner who is ten yrs old. Katie is a very feisty outspoken child and gives Cluny a run for his money and you always knew in the back of your mind that some day when her story was written that Cluny had to be in it somewhere.

When Julie Lessman decided to make Katie O'Conner a woman who wanted to be a lawyer to pave the way for more women's rights since it is at the end of the 1920's. I knew it was going to be interesting, I could see that spunky girl of ten becoming a spunky young woman with ambition. What I didn't see coming was Cluny "Luke" McGee being a lawyer. That one really surprised me though he is working with The Boston Children's Aid Society which doesn't surprise me since he was once a street kid himself. There are some great side characters as always. Parker who is the director of the BCAS, Betty who is the secretary and Bobbie Sue who is a volunteer. They all make for a great story and I am not giving anything away, so you must read it for yourself.

And Julie Lessman can't go with out making us squirm wondering which man is Katie going to choose, she is very good at making you think its not going to be the one you want. The one thing that is never a surprise is a great historical romances full of family, compassion, and love.

I am a huge fan of the 1920-30's so I can't wait to find out what else will happen with the next two books in the series. We still have the two O'Conner brothers and I am really curious what is going to happen next though I know I will never want the O'Conner family to come to a end.

I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a good Inspirational romance that really and truly engages you into not just the main characters lives but the whole O'Conner family. Its a great romance for everyone.

posted by Ladystorm on September 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

BE CAREFUL

Don't fall too much in love with the series. The next book is $9.99.

posted by 4280280 on September 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 300 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    BE CAREFUL

    Don't fall too much in love with the series. The next book is $9.99.

    21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    Great Christian Historical Romance

    The 1920s are drawing to a close, and feisty Katie O'Connor is the epitome of the new woman--smart and sassy with goals for her future that include the perfect husband and a challenging career in law. Her boyfriend Jack fits all of her criteria for a husband--good-looking, well-connected, wealthy, and head-over-heels in love with her. But when she is forced to spend the summer of 1929 with Cluny McGee, the bane of her childhood existence, Katie comes face to face with a choice. Will she follow her well-laid plans to marry Jack? Or will she fall for the man she swore to despise forever?

    If anyone has read The Daughters of Boston Series by Julie Lessman, then you know exactly what your getting when you opened up Hope Undaunted. You getting a great historical story, with a sweet love story that pushes the passion meter to the very edge when it comes to Christian romances. Julie Lessman loves to push things to the edge but she also knows when to pull back and go on with the story.

    I am a huge Julie Lessman fan so I was not dissappointed when I got my hands on a copy of Hope Undaunted I have been waiting for Katie's story for some time now. The Daughters of Boston series and The Wings of Change series really go together though they can be read as stand alone but if you want the real feel for the O'Conner family its just best to read them all.

    In A Passion Denied (Daugthers of Boston book three) you meet this spunky street kid Cluny McGee. He is about fourteen and loves to pick on Katie O'Conner who is ten yrs old. Katie is a very feisty outspoken child and gives Cluny a run for his money and you always knew in the back of your mind that some day when her story was written that Cluny had to be in it somewhere.

    When Julie Lessman decided to make Katie O'Conner a woman who wanted to be a lawyer to pave the way for more women's rights since it is at the end of the 1920's. I knew it was going to be interesting, I could see that spunky girl of ten becoming a spunky young woman with ambition. What I didn't see coming was Cluny "Luke" McGee being a lawyer. That one really surprised me though he is working with The Boston Children's Aid Society which doesn't surprise me since he was once a street kid himself. There are some great side characters as always. Parker who is the director of the BCAS, Betty who is the secretary and Bobbie Sue who is a volunteer. They all make for a great story and I am not giving anything away, so you must read it for yourself.

    And Julie Lessman can't go with out making us squirm wondering which man is Katie going to choose, she is very good at making you think its not going to be the one you want. The one thing that is never a surprise is a great historical romances full of family, compassion, and love.

    I am a huge fan of the 1920-30's so I can't wait to find out what else will happen with the next two books in the series. We still have the two O'Conner brothers and I am really curious what is going to happen next though I know I will never want the O'Conner family to come to a end.

    I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a good Inspirational romance that really and truly engages you into not just the main characters lives but the whole O'Conner family. Its a great romance for everyone.

    9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Boo

    Thanks to rude plot spoilers i can now delete this without reading it because they ruined it by revealing every detail. God, i wish bn would ban you ppl.

    8 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    AMAZING!

    I loved this book! Katie is a character that I absolutely Love! Luke is pretty amazing too(; Definitely a must-read!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Addicting!

    This story is romantic and hard to put down! On the long side, but it's better that way! Highly recommend it

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Hooray for more of the O'Connor Family Saga

    I was so excited when Julie announced Katie's story and the continuation of the O'Connor family, and I was not disappointed! As always, I love how easily I got drawn into A Heart Undaunted, surprised by plot twists and both new and previous characters to love. In fact, sorry Mitch Dennehy, you were my favorite, but Luke has won his way into my heart. A Heart Undaunted is definitely a keeper on the bookshelf to be enjoyed and recommended again and again!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I nearly hated the first third of this book. I couldn't stand

    I nearly hated the first third of this book. I couldn't stand the way the author repeated the same phrase over and over, like, "he put a hand to his eyes," "she covered her eyes with her hand." And that was basically the only action any of the characters did to show emotion, whether they were angry, sad, or ashamed. On top of that, there was a kissing or making-out scene in just about every chapter. Drama, drama, drama. But--with how I have to finish a book once I start it--I continued.
    And so, in the beginning of the second third of the novel, I skimmed the prose for the main motions of the characters so I would know what was going on, but also I wouldn't have to take in all those annoyingly repetitious details. By the end of the second third of the book, I slowed down and actually started to read it again; gone was the phrase "hand to his eyes." (Finally.)
    By the last third, I was interested in the story and could hardly put it down. I seriously would have given this novel 2 less stars if not for the end. The characters seemed to come alive for me in this finale of drama, heartbreak, and romance, and something surprising resulted. Despite how I felt about the beginning and middle of the story, I was drawn in and my emotions were tested. I actually cried...more than once.
    In the end, I went with a four-star rating because I wanted more by the closing of the final chapter, and I felt like Luke and Katie kind of left me behind, wishing it wasn't over yet. One thing I want to say, though, is that I was pretty confused about the extra characters. With so many family members and their family members to take in, and with me just now being introduced to the O'Connor's, I had a feeling of being left behind in a whole different way.
    I would recommend this book to anyone interested, and I would tell them to hang in there and keep reading. The end is so worth it.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    A Great Story!

    Katie O'Connor has a lot of growing up to do, but first she makes some unwise decisions that nearly cost her to lose what she really wants. She has a lot in common with Scarlett O'Hara in Gone with the Wind. She's spoiled, selfish at times, and goes after what she wants with a vengeance. Cluny McGee, or Luke as he's called, was a poor orphan who grew up on the streets and now wants to save the world, even if it means sacrificing his life to do it. They are complete opposites and attract like magnets.

    Julie Lessman writes with passion and she creates characters with real life issues and baggage. Just when you think everything is going to work out, she throws in another twist to the story and things get worse. The story is fun, entertaining, but also has a moral and spiritual plot when Katie and Luke learn life's lessons and face things they have no control over. Katie must decide if she's going to choose her family's faith, and Luke must allow himself time to grieve and heal. It's a great story.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    WOW!

    My FAVORITE author, Julie Lessman! If you are a hopeless romantic and love seeing God work in peoples lives to bring them to a personal relationship with Himself and to each other, you MUST check out her books! She knows how to hook, and reel you into the books, so you develop a sense of belonging with the characters.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Excellent

    Enjoyed this book very much.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    A Must read!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    I decided to try this author since this book was offered for fre

    I decided to try this author since this book was offered for free. At first I found it very engaging and delightful reading. Even though I had not read any other stories about this family, it could be read first. I think that is a sign of a good author when their books can stand alone and you don't have to read all of the ones in a series. Unfortunately, I began to get very annoyed with Katie and the love choices and decisions she was making. (I don't want to give anything away). I felt the book starts out strong and then falls flat. Would not read any others of hers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Amazing!

    Could put it down! Loved it, even bought the next one already!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    I Couldn't Finish It

    I honestly wanted to get into this book, and it's pretty rare that I don't finish a book once I start it, but this one just got to be too much. The author's attempt to develop tension between the main character and her love interest just becomes too overwrought and drawn-out. Sorry, but I gave up after the fourth time they kissed and then ran away from each other.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    okish

    too stretched out.....i give it a C,,,,, as in A-F

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Series

    Lovely book but muchto expensive..

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    annoying

    it was too drawn out..

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    It just kept going.

    This book was tedious and talked too much about eyebrows.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Loved it

    A.mazing how it took me in and kept me thrre
    I have the others in the series on my wish list

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Great

    Great

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 300 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15