Customer Reviews for

A Hope Undaunted (Winds of Change Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 296 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(173)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Great Christian Historical Romance

The 1920s are drawing to a close, and feisty Katie O'Connor is the epitome of the new woman--smart and sassy with goals for her future that include the perfect husband and a challenging career in law. Her boyfriend Jack fits all of her criteria for a husband--good-looki...
The 1920s are drawing to a close, and feisty Katie O'Connor is the epitome of the new woman--smart and sassy with goals for her future that include the perfect husband and a challenging career in law. Her boyfriend Jack fits all of her criteria for a husband--good-looking, well-connected, wealthy, and head-over-heels in love with her. But when she is forced to spend the summer of 1929 with Cluny McGee, the bane of her childhood existence, Katie comes face to face with a choice. Will she follow her well-laid plans to marry Jack? Or will she fall for the man she swore to despise forever?

If anyone has read The Daughters of Boston Series by Julie Lessman, then you know exactly what your getting when you opened up Hope Undaunted. You getting a great historical story, with a sweet love story that pushes the passion meter to the very edge when it comes to Christian romances. Julie Lessman loves to push things to the edge but she also knows when to pull back and go on with the story.

I am a huge Julie Lessman fan so I was not dissappointed when I got my hands on a copy of Hope Undaunted I have been waiting for Katie's story for some time now. The Daughters of Boston series and The Wings of Change series really go together though they can be read as stand alone but if you want the real feel for the O'Conner family its just best to read them all.

In A Passion Denied (Daugthers of Boston book three) you meet this spunky street kid Cluny McGee. He is about fourteen and loves to pick on Katie O'Conner who is ten yrs old. Katie is a very feisty outspoken child and gives Cluny a run for his money and you always knew in the back of your mind that some day when her story was written that Cluny had to be in it somewhere.

When Julie Lessman decided to make Katie O'Conner a woman who wanted to be a lawyer to pave the way for more women's rights since it is at the end of the 1920's. I knew it was going to be interesting, I could see that spunky girl of ten becoming a spunky young woman with ambition. What I didn't see coming was Cluny "Luke" McGee being a lawyer. That one really surprised me though he is working with The Boston Children's Aid Society which doesn't surprise me since he was once a street kid himself. There are some great side characters as always. Parker who is the director of the BCAS, Betty who is the secretary and Bobbie Sue who is a volunteer. They all make for a great story and I am not giving anything away, so you must read it for yourself.

And Julie Lessman can't go with out making us squirm wondering which man is Katie going to choose, she is very good at making you think its not going to be the one you want. The one thing that is never a surprise is a great historical romances full of family, compassion, and love.

I am a huge fan of the 1920-30's so I can't wait to find out what else will happen with the next two books in the series. We still have the two O'Conner brothers and I am really curious what is going to happen next though I know I will never want the O'Conner family to come to a end.

I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a good Inspirational romance that really and truly engages you into not just the main characters lives but the whole O'Conner family. Its a great romance for everyone.

posted by Ladystorm on September 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

BE CAREFUL

Don't fall too much in love with the series. The next book is $9.99.

posted by 4280280 on September 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 298 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 15
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Well Written!

    This book is a great read! Although some points dragged, the overall message is great. This book keeps you on your toes because you never know what to expect. (:

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Really liked it!

    When I really enjoy a book, I like to leave a review because I personally appreciate reading reviews when I'm deciding on a book. I don't need to know what happens, I can read that in the book description - I want to know if the book moved a person enough to have them write a review - be it good or bad. With this book, I almost wasn't sure I'd like it, but before I knew it I found I couldn't put it down! When I needed to be taking care of other things, I found myself racing through chores, etc. just to be able to get back to this book. There were twists and turns I didn't expect, and enough spiritual content to make it inspirational too. I found myself "picturing" the scenes in my mind and almost felt like I could see their surroundings. To me, that is a sign of a great writer! I don't believe you can go wrong with "A Hope Undaunted" - really enjoyable!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Fantastic. Depth to characters.

    Fantastic...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Author ran out of ideas

    I was very invested in this plot. At the end I felt like the author couldn't decide what else to do, so she tried to wrap it up as fast as she could. The ending was not nearly as detailed as the rest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Great E-Book

    I have found that the tag Line "Passion with a Purpose" does not touch the surface of the Love, Dedication and sincere realism, that takes her books beyond the shelf, but into the lives of her readers. Not just for a day, but her work hit a special place in your heart and will stay long after you place the book on the shelf - only to be read again. I give Julie Lessman and her works in Christian Literature a 5 Star rating. Her books will make you beg for another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    An Author who has more than Passion to offer

    I have found that the tag Line "Passion with a Purpose" does not touch the surface of the Love, Dedication and sincere realism, that takes her books beyond the shelf, but into the lives of her readers. Not just for a day, but her work hit a special place in your heart and will stay long after you place the book on the shelf - only to be read again. I give Julie Lessman and her works in Christian Literature a 5 Star rating. Her books will make you beg for another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Excellent!!!

    I hate finishing a good book and saying goodbye to its characters. This is definitely that kind of book! An excellent read. I do not hesitate in wanting the second book in the series. Very, very well written!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Great

    It was great however i feel it was missing jucy dettails of Lukes life in Boston, his conection with Gabe after he left, his conversation with Parker over Parkers feelings and Faiths conversation with Collin after she found out he lied so many times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Gripping Novel I Couldn't Put Down

    I was thrilled to receive a review copy of this moving, heart warming epic story. I had read all three books in her Daughters of Boston series and couldn't wait to read this first book in the Winds of Change series. The author's character descriptions, with their reactions to each other and their situations, made me feel as if I were watching them on a big screen, taking in every detail, hook, line and sinker.

    Katie O'Connor is the main character, and is the youngest and feistiest of the O'Connor sisters. It's the roaring twenties and Katie has big plans to marry rich, go to law school and be the first woman to gain a seat in Congress. She wants to be in a position of influence to change the plight of women and children.

    Jack, Katie's boyfriend, adores her and fits all the criteria for her plan beautifully; that is, until Katie is forced to work with Luke McGee during the summer of 1929. Sparks start to fly between them on all fronts, even as they butt heads at work. They'd known each other as kids. Luke was mean then, and it didn't appear he changed much. Why did Luke bother her so much now? Couldn't she let her childhood memories go?

    Luke says, "You know, Katie, you've always been a cold and callous little thing, but I actually believed it was just a front. You know, a thin coat of steel to protect your fragile little heart? But I was wrong. Seems that steel is as thick as that stubborn head of yours when it comes to making life decisions.You're a cold, cold woman, Katie O'Connor.your 'plan' is your god, and God help anybody who gets in your way."

    "Katie couldn't believe his words. .I want to be a lawyer, mother- to blaze the way for women who think they need a man to take care of them, women like Mrs. Rhodes at church-everyone knows that tyrant she lives with beats her. But will she leave? Not on her life. And in the end, it will probably cost her hers...Was it wrong to have a plan? She had her plan! God was some fairy tale for weak people, right?"

    I thoroughly enjoyed every second I spent reading this novel. I got caught up in the characters and their drama. I couldn't believe Katie and the lengths she would go to, to maintain the forward progression of her plan. And, the fight inside her heart to do what was right was a constant challenge. I got a kick out of the family gatherings, filled with games, conflict, resolve, love and great fun. I felt as if I were in the middle of it all. I smiled big at the satisfying ending and a book filled with an array of colorful characters and their situations. Julie included the entire O'Connor clan I got to know in her other books, with a few additions. Julie is a master story teller. I love how she naturally wove their struggle with God and His direction for their lives. It wasn't preachy but realistic. Julie's writing touches all the reader's senses and pulls on your heart strings, as she makes you feel like you really know and care about this family. This book's a keeper. I'll definitely be reading this book again, you will too!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    DO NOT GET SAMPLE!!!!

    Everything about the writing was good but they repeated the same secne like... 3 times ugh
    And in addtion to that , it said 115 pages of sample and i only got 114
    Wth?
    And because they repeated the secne 3 freakin times i could not figure out where the was the begining and the end!!!
    The book is awesome no tecnical glitches but please fix sample (too many glitches!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    Great start of a new series! I was so excited when I saw this wa

    Great start of a new series!
    I was so excited when I saw this was Katie and Luke’s book! I loved their relationship from A Passion Denied and couldn’t wait to see where it would go from there. I am happy to say that I was not disappointed in the least!
    As always, the writing was superb and Julie really draws you into the story from the first page. This is a book I didn’t want to put down!
    I love Katie! She’s strong willed, stubborn, and doesn’t back down from an argument (something I can connect with), but when it matters the most, she’ll release her pride and step up. She obviously loves her family, though she often knocks heads with Patrick. She is the O’Connor who doesn’t believe in God, it was interesting to see how Julie would weave that into the story. I enjoyed seeing Katie grow up and learn that she doesn’t always know best, but rather God does and His plans are always for our good. I also liked seeing her lose a bit of that pride and Miss Know-It-All personality.
    I enjoyed how she and Luke meet again (no, I won’t spoil it for you), and was laughing for most of it. Then cringing for other parts right along with her. I felt kind of bad for her, but based on some of the things she puts him through, I couldn’t help but feel she was getting her dues.
    I loved Luke, too! He was the perfect foil for Katie. Just as stubborn and determined as her and I enjoyed seeing him put Katie in her place and remind her what is important. Their sparring was entertaining and it was always interesting to see who would win the argument. He is sweet, loyal, and honorable as well as being the kind of heart-throbbing hero that we have come to expect in a romance novel. I loved his kindness to Betty and Gabe, as well as to Katie.
    Gabe (Gabrielle) is a great new edition to the series! She is precocious and the kind of child you just want to hug. I can see why Marcy was so taken with her. I kind of wish Julie would write a book for her, but I think if she did that the series might be unending. As it is, it ends with Steven’s book, A Love Surrendered (which I have yet to read), and it should probably stay that way.
    As usual, I appreciate having the book come from several different points of view. There is almost a story within a story that follows through each book, and I really like that. It ties them all together.
    I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    UNBELIEVABLE EMOTIONS - JULIE LESSMAN AT HER BEST!!!! Katie O'C

    UNBELIEVABLE EMOTIONS - JULIE LESSMAN AT HER BEST!!!!

    Katie O'Connor is a stubborn, spit-fire whose beau, Jack Worthington, is "wrapped around her finger", and meets all the criteria on her
    list: wealthy, handsome, and well-connected. Her plans to marry Jack, enter law school, and fight for women's rights, are interrupted
    when she is unexpectedly forced to spend the summer away from Jack, and work with childhood friend Luke (aka "Cluny") McGee, with
    whom she had a love/hate relationship. Even though the scrawny, dirty, street-wise, kid has grown into a tall, handsome, intelligent,
    lawyer - the sparks fly between them from the first chapter. In a family filled with faith - Katie questions hers, and argues with her father
    for control of her life, and the expressions of his love she feels she is lacking.

    "A Hope Undaunted" - the first book in the Winds of Change trilogy - opens in 1929 Boston, and is the continuation of the O'Connor
    family saga, which started with the Daughters of Boston trilogy. Warm interactions between family members introduced in previous
    books, continue in "A Hope Undaunted", as well as that of numerous new characters - among them, scene stealer Gabe, a feisty, eight
    (8) year old, orphan, and Parker Riley - Katie's kind, easy-going boss.

    There are numerous "twists-and-turns" in "A Hope Undaunted" - as in all of Julie Lessman's books - both heart-breaking, and heart-
    warming. I experienced many emotions while reading this beautiful, powerful, classic Julie Lessman, story that is filled with humor,
    drama, tears, anger, romance, excitement, angst, passion, characters so realistic I feel I know them personally, and an inspirational
    family of faith, whose love and passion is centered around God, and which drew me closer to Him through their experiences.

    Julie Lessman is a master at hr craft - her books inspire and touch me deeply. They're hard to put down, bring me joy with their happy
    ending, always leave me wanting more, and leave warm memories that last long after reading them!!        

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2014

    From the moment Luke and Katie met in A Passion Denied you knew

    From the moment Luke and Katie met in A Passion Denied you knew their relationship was going to be a fun one! They butted heads from day one but there was always an underlying of more-and oh boy what a “more” it was!
    I absolutely love Luke! He was a scrappy little boy living on the streets who worked hard, never gave up, and became a man who was a champion of those who'd grown up like him. It would be impossible not to love Luke. His determination to do the right thing, his love of kids, his fierce love for those close to him, and his relationship with God, all serve to make him one amazing hero. Of course he does have his faults but he tries so hard to be the man he is supposed to be, and he truly is a man to admire!
    As for Katie, she's always been a determined one who doesn't like being told what to do and it was amazing to watch as she let God into her life and really grew up! She goes from being a spoiled little girl to a woman who is willing to do things God's way.
    The two of them together cracked me up so much as they constantly baited each other and jokingly bickered. And while I laughed out loud too many times to count this book also made me cry several times! I won't spoil anything but suffice it to say there was a lot of heartbreak in these pages!
    And I know I keep saying this but the secondary cast of characters was awesome! Parker with his gentle strength and his friendship, Betty with her caring and friendly heart, Bobbie Sue with her no nonsense ways, and Gabe with her rebellious heart just looking for love! And then of course there are the characters that have been around for awhile, the rest of the O'Conners, the McGuires, Dennehys, Bradys, and Emma.
    So even though this book put me through an emotional roller-coaster I loved every minute of it and can't think of this book without a smile on my face!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Religous much?

    I really liked the story line however i find it frustraiting having god shoved down my throat every page they are praying for this or talking fogivness for that im a chatholic and even i find this many mentions of God completley distracting from the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    A good reading material. 

    A good reading material. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Good book.

    Enjoyed the book. Makes you think about your own life as well as the story. Will be looking for more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Great

    Good spiritual book with a nice love story. Couldn't put it down this waz my first meaningful book I've read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Sexist emotionally abusive drivel

    Main themes of this book include: emotionally abusive relationships are romantic, and women should be infantilized and subservient to ther men, because God.
    Doesn't bill itself as a religious book, but even without all of the bible quotes and mentions of God's will and so forth, this book is terrible. It may actually be even wrse becase of that, since it uses religion as a justification for the above listed themes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Katie O'Connor is a spitfire character worth hanging out with fo

    Katie O'Connor is a spitfire character worth hanging out with for every one of her 505 pages. Cluny McGee, ditto. Love the fireworks these two create. Love their childhood history of annoyer and annoyee. Delicious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    great read

    Great story characters and messsge

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 298 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 15