Customer Reviews for

A Hope Undaunted (Winds of Change Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 301 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Great Christian Historical Romance

The 1920s are drawing to a close, and feisty Katie O'Connor is the epitome of the new woman--smart and sassy with goals for her future that include the perfect husband and a challenging career in law. Her boyfriend Jack fits all of her criteria for a husband--good-looki...
The 1920s are drawing to a close, and feisty Katie O'Connor is the epitome of the new woman--smart and sassy with goals for her future that include the perfect husband and a challenging career in law. Her boyfriend Jack fits all of her criteria for a husband--good-looking, well-connected, wealthy, and head-over-heels in love with her. But when she is forced to spend the summer of 1929 with Cluny McGee, the bane of her childhood existence, Katie comes face to face with a choice. Will she follow her well-laid plans to marry Jack? Or will she fall for the man she swore to despise forever?

If anyone has read The Daughters of Boston Series by Julie Lessman, then you know exactly what your getting when you opened up Hope Undaunted. You getting a great historical story, with a sweet love story that pushes the passion meter to the very edge when it comes to Christian romances. Julie Lessman loves to push things to the edge but she also knows when to pull back and go on with the story.

I am a huge Julie Lessman fan so I was not dissappointed when I got my hands on a copy of Hope Undaunted I have been waiting for Katie's story for some time now. The Daughters of Boston series and The Wings of Change series really go together though they can be read as stand alone but if you want the real feel for the O'Conner family its just best to read them all.

In A Passion Denied (Daugthers of Boston book three) you meet this spunky street kid Cluny McGee. He is about fourteen and loves to pick on Katie O'Conner who is ten yrs old. Katie is a very feisty outspoken child and gives Cluny a run for his money and you always knew in the back of your mind that some day when her story was written that Cluny had to be in it somewhere.

When Julie Lessman decided to make Katie O'Conner a woman who wanted to be a lawyer to pave the way for more women's rights since it is at the end of the 1920's. I knew it was going to be interesting, I could see that spunky girl of ten becoming a spunky young woman with ambition. What I didn't see coming was Cluny "Luke" McGee being a lawyer. That one really surprised me though he is working with The Boston Children's Aid Society which doesn't surprise me since he was once a street kid himself. There are some great side characters as always. Parker who is the director of the BCAS, Betty who is the secretary and Bobbie Sue who is a volunteer. They all make for a great story and I am not giving anything away, so you must read it for yourself.

And Julie Lessman can't go with out making us squirm wondering which man is Katie going to choose, she is very good at making you think its not going to be the one you want. The one thing that is never a surprise is a great historical romances full of family, compassion, and love.

I am a huge fan of the 1920-30's so I can't wait to find out what else will happen with the next two books in the series. We still have the two O'Conner brothers and I am really curious what is going to happen next though I know I will never want the O'Conner family to come to a end.

I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a good Inspirational romance that really and truly engages you into not just the main characters lives but the whole O'Conner family. Its a great romance for everyone.

posted by Ladystorm on September 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

BE CAREFUL

Don't fall too much in love with the series. The next book is $9.99.

posted by 4280280 on September 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 303 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Stunned

    Totally unexpected but wonderful story none the less

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Beyond my Expectations

    I don¿t know if there is enough I can say about Katie O¿Connor... her sarcastic wit, her independent streak and her strength are all enhanced by the roaring 20¿s time period surrounding her. I was tickled to find out that Katie was going to have to deal with Luke ¿Cluny¿ McGee again after meeting him in A Passion Denied. I could tell that there was a spark of something between those two, but seeing it ignite like it does, in a stomach swirling, heart racing tug of war (or wills) was far beyond my expectations. A new series, but the same characters you love, written by one of my favourite authors of all time! You won¿t be disappointed.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just Amazing

    A Hope Undaunted is an INCREDIBLE book! I couldn't stop reading once I started and I can't say I wanted to. I felt everything the main character, Katie, felt and found myself crying on a couple of occassions. The book was relatable and more realistic than most love stories. Definitely one of my favorite books and I can't wait to read the next in the series(:

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    A story that can be read and again

    Heart warming. Inspirational. Tastefully written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Breathtaking!

    Julie Lessman never fails to exceed my expectations as an author. Her amazing talent in writing is only one of the many gifts this beautiful lady possesses. Not a single book authored by Julie will leave you wanting anything except the next book immediately!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Great book

    I loved the book! It was a good clean romance novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    I just finished reading this book, and was pleasantly surprised

    I just finished reading this book, and was pleasantly surprised at how well put together this story was.
    It had many surprises layered into the story, and the character development was flawless.  Whether you are interested in mystery or romance, you will not be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Ok

    Good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    read again and again

    I really liked the previous series and I loved this book. It had many twists and turns and kept me on the edge of my seat! If you haven't read it you should read it now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Great book!

    I got this book without much expectations since it was free but I ended up loving it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It was Ok

    I got it cus it didn't cost that much. I started reading it when i realized it was a christian story ( i guess i should have read the reviews) I really like the romance and story between Katie and Luke but i could have cared less about the love lives of her family members. The book was way to long.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Okay

    It was an okay story. Skimmed through the last half of the book just to be sure it would end as predicted--it did. A strong female character who stood on her own without the religious undertones would have made for a better book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must read

    Story was very good. Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Highly Reccommended- A Hope Undaunted!

    This is the first book in Julie Lessman's Winds of Change series and it is excellent!!
    The story starts off with Katie, a spoiled brat, meeting Luke at the soda shoppe. She had her boyfriend eating out of her hand and has no use for Luke, so they spar quite frequently. Luke moves away from Katie because he has other obligations and can not stand to be close to Katie because he loves her.
    If you haven't read this, you must do so!!
    I would reccommend this book for book clubs or for the individual reader. I have read all of Julie's books and I plan to continue, because they are so GOOD!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Wonderful Book

    This is one of the best books I've ever read. A good christian love story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Absolutely loved it :D

    What can I say this is the first book that i read that was written by Julie Lessman, and it was one of those moments where I buy the book because I love the cover. And then it sits in my library for weeks because I'm still in the 1870's because of the series that I've just finished. And then one day I decide to pick it up and read it. Why not right :)
    And guess who got hooked? This girl did. I fell in love with the characters in a flash. Mostly because I have a lot of sisters and I guess I connected with the characters in the way the sisters talk to each other.

    I loved everything about this book :))))))))))))

    I would recommend it for everybody :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Yea!

    I loved how she describes the very beginning of the shift in the woman's rights movement. Also that it is a Christian book that has the main characters as flawed and on a journey to discover their faith. The love story is very passionate, and takes a bit to finally reach a resolution, but worth the journey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    Religious Romance

    This was a good story, but after a while it was monotonous. People had to keep praying for things to turn out right and just when you though their prayers were answered something else happened. It was a good story though and it was free, which makes it better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    Enjoyable Read

    A very G-rated romance novel but interesting time period and well written. I will look for other books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Amazing

    Julie lesman wrote this book soooooo well! The caracters feelins were expressed so vividly you could almost feel them yourself. And very unpredictable. Well.... the ending is sorta predictable, unless your stupid, but what happens along the way,keeps you guessing the whole time. Definately worth the money!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 303 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16