Customer Reviews for

Hope Unseen: The Story of the U.S. Army's First Blind Active-Duty Officer

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    Highly Recommended---unforgetable read!!!

    You can't put this book down once you begin it--through the tears you will shed while reading it, you will come to appreciate that Scotty puts the words of Phil 4:13 into action. Scotty's story reminds us that 'we' are not here for ourselves--our wants/wishes , BUT we are here on this planet to be used by God--we are on HIS mission. GOD will help us to do HIS will, if we put our faith and trust in HIM, which Scotty did. Scotty and TIffany have lived out the wedding vows of 'for better or worse' and revealed their commitment to God and to each other. You will be changed by reading this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    Such an inspirational story!

    This man is amazing and his story is one every American should read! His sacrifice is just one of many made for our freedom by hundreds of thousands of service men and women. What makes Scotty special was his mental choice to keep LIVING and not give up even when his world was shattered. Everyone will get something out of this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Captain Scotty Smiley, might not see things like we do, but it d

    Captain Scotty Smiley, might not see things like we do, but it doesn't mean he doesn't see what is important and how to live his life despite seemingly difficult circumstances. While serving in Mosul in Iraq he became the target of a suicide bomber and subsequently lost his eyesight. He could have dealt with things as most of us would have and simply come home and attempt to live a life as best as he could now being completely blind, but he didn't. He did things most of us only imagine. He scaled the heights of Mt. Rainer, served as the army's first action-duty blind officer and its first blind company commander.

    He continues to inspire countless numbers of people including myself to stop feeling sorry for what life has dealt you and instead move forward in the grace and strength that God has given us all. In each chapter, you see how difficult things are for Scotty to pick up the pieces and simply do what all of us with sight can do. Perhaps we are the ones who are truly blind and Scotty has been given a different set of eyes to see the possibilities in life, if we are only willing to take a step of faith and move forward. I truly believe that this book is a great inspirational story and the perfect gift for those facing their own set of unique circumstances that are attempting to hold them back. It will hopefully provide them with enough hope that they don't have to settle for anything less than what God has in store for them. The possibilities are truly endless.

    I received Hope Unseen by Captain Scotty Smiley compliments of Howard Books, a division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review. I truly value my gift of sight, and wouldn't know where to begin to do even some of the things that Scotty did. I could never imagine in my wildest dreams, taking on a mountain climb to a 14,000 foot summit, across endless ice bridges only strong enough to support one man, and knowing you must walk it alone with only words and a rope as your guide. Just closing my eyes and attempting to navigate a sidewalk is challenging enough for me. Scotty Smiley is a true inspiration to those of us that often wonder where the heroes are in this world. In my book, he is one of the greatest. I easily rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars and highly recommend this one if you are feeling with no hope in your life. Perhaps it might change how you "see" your life!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    strength and courage

    "hope unseen" is very hard to put down. the arthurs life story gives much hope to alot of peoples lifes who feel discouraged and have alot of doubts about the situations in there lifes that their going through or having to face. scotty smiley was a decorated soldier with a promising career until a terrorist car exploded in his face and caused him to lose his sight. however this brave soldier did not give up on his faith and courage and got a teaching position in the military were he teachs class`s on leadership and in this book he shows how you can make it through the dificult storms that you face with courage and faith this is a truly amazing book and would make a fine gift for a friend or family member

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    Truly an Inspiration

    Hope Unseen is a wonderful account of one man's faith in God through unexpected circumstances. Captain Smiley candidly shares his experiences, thoughts, trials, and triumphs with the reader. Scotty and Tiffany Smiley's lives are a testimony of God's faithfulness to His children and are an inspiration to others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Story of Courage, Determination and Faith

    You've graduated from The Military Academy at West Point and you've completed your Ranger Training, a required course for all First Lt.s. coming out of West Point, before you are allowed to lead soldiers in the field.

    You're also a newly wed and looking forward to living a full life with your bride. Your orders come in and you are heading to Iraq. Both your wife and you have been church going, praying and Bible reading Christians all of your lives. So, everything is going your way and a year long tour in Iraq is only going to be a small bump in your life's road.

    This was Scotty Smiley's life. While in Iraq he was leading a patrol searching out insurgents and evil doers, when a suicide bomber detonated an IED (Improvised Explosive Device), just meters away. This device sent shrapnel into Smiley's head, body and eyes, rendering him unconscious and blind.
    "Hope Unseen", is the true story of Captain Scotty Smiley, as told by him. This story is one of courage, spirit, determination and most of all Faith. Neither Scotty nor his wife, Tiffany, ever lose faith nor turn away from God on their perilous journey of rebuilding their lives and rehabilitation. It is the story of conquering obstacles both seen and unseen.

    Follow Scotty Smiley as he describes this unforgettable story. I commend Captain Smiley for his courage and dedication. This story should be in everyone's To Be Read List, and will undoubtedly become a Best Seller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Fabulous book

    This book is wonderful, inspirational and honest. It is refreshing to read something that isn't phoney or preachy. I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great read!

    Happened to see Captain Smiley on TV discussing his book. I was immediately captured by his incredible story and his wonderful wife. Reading this book is an incredible journey with Captain Smiley from his days at West Point to his war experiences to an amazing faith which sustained him in his difficult days. This book is difficult to put down and have recommended it to many people! Great patriot who lives what he believes!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    I am not usually a big fan of books about people who lived throu

    I am not usually a big fan of books about people who lived through a traumatic event, and I’ll tell you why. Some books tell readers everything about a person’s life, when really, we just want to know about the traumatic event and recovery, with enough backstory to make it meaningful. But please, don’t tell me about your sixth grade dance. Other books about traumatic events either don’t feel authentic, as in, the author doesn’t really let us see the ugly side of their journey because he/she doesn’t want to seem unspiritual. Still other books are interesting enough but fail to inspire because it’s difficult to translate the lessons into the reader’s life.

    None of the above were true of Unseen Hope. I truly loved this book. It’s well-written, to the point, and painfully, satisfyingly honest. What happens when a man of God loses his sight? Well, in Capt. Smiley’s case, he didn’t kumbayah-away the pain. He didn’t want to pray. He didn’t even want others to pray for him. This is tough stuff.

    But his journey didn’t end there. He overcame so much, it was just jaw-dropping mind-boggling to read about. His wife Tiffany played an incredible role in her husband’s life. They had been married sixteen months before his injury, only four months of which were spent together.

    In his book, Capt. Smiley says:

    “’The me who could see was used to climbing mountains and thanking God for coming along. The me who could not see was totally dependent. “You need to trust Me, Scotty,” I sensed God telling me “And you need to depend on others.” I can do all things. There is nothing in the Bible that qualifies that statement, nothing that says I need eyes. It says only that I need Christ. It was a truth that my blindness was going to help me see. My confidence was being moved away from self—from my own ability to see and control—to a new hope, a hope unseen.’” (p. 148)

    His story is truly inspirational. If you get a chance, read it. You’ll be so glad you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Amazing story of perseverance and faith.

    A true story that illustrates the sacrifices made by men and women who are defending our freedom around the world. The story provides an inside look at the battle many injured soldiers deal with when the return home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1