Customer Reviews for

Hope for Animals and Their World: How Endangered Species Are Being Rescued from the Brink

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Great Read that Everyone Should Pick Up!

No matter who you are, this is a book you should choose next time you go to your library or bookstore. Some people may argue that only zoo keepers and politicians should look into a book like this. Well, I don't care if you're the United States president, a lawyer, or s...
No matter who you are, this is a book you should choose next time you go to your library or bookstore. Some people may argue that only zoo keepers and politicians should look into a book like this. Well, I don't care if you're the United States president, a lawyer, or some random plumber from Wisconsin, we all can have a way to help endangered species like the ones mentioned in this book. This book gives you insight on the fact that animals need our help, and i doesn't say it with the bland, dry tone a newspaper or magazine article does. This book exposes you to the feelings of triumph and care when endangered animal species are saved from extinction, and does it with the insight Jane Goodall possesses. This book makes you want to take a stand for animals by providing specific animal species and their success stories. Plus, although you may call me biased since I live in Cincinnati, Thane Maynard's contributions to the book were very interesting and yet, very relateable to the average person due to the language of his words. He made all of his writing very understandable and not as intimidating as other scientific writing pieces are. Please trust me on this, for I know that even seventh graders are capable of understanding this book! If you need a little push to get you into helping animals, this book is the way to go!

posted by Katie32 on January 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Inspiring "Hope for Animals and Their World"

Rather than read every word in this book, I found myself jumping around reading about various species, which you can do and still get some benefit from this book. The stories of involved people in saving endangered species, or finding species thought to be extinct, are...
Rather than read every word in this book, I found myself jumping around reading about various species, which you can do and still get some benefit from this book. The stories of involved people in saving endangered species, or finding species thought to be extinct, are inspiring. One drawback is the fact that the author tells you almost constantly throughout the book to check out the book's website for more or additional information. At 400+ pages, it must have been difficult to select stories to publish. To include more of them, would have resulted in a gigantic, heavy book. The appendix includes things that you can do to help save our fellow creatures on Earth. Jane Goodall's heart and soul are manifested in her words and endless energy. Other than being a nonfiction book one reads page by page, "Hope for Animals and Their World" will serve the reader best as a reference or guide.

posted by MAK-Attack on September 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    A Great Read that Everyone Should Pick Up!

    No matter who you are, this is a book you should choose next time you go to your library or bookstore. Some people may argue that only zoo keepers and politicians should look into a book like this. Well, I don't care if you're the United States president, a lawyer, or some random plumber from Wisconsin, we all can have a way to help endangered species like the ones mentioned in this book. This book gives you insight on the fact that animals need our help, and i doesn't say it with the bland, dry tone a newspaper or magazine article does. This book exposes you to the feelings of triumph and care when endangered animal species are saved from extinction, and does it with the insight Jane Goodall possesses. This book makes you want to take a stand for animals by providing specific animal species and their success stories. Plus, although you may call me biased since I live in Cincinnati, Thane Maynard's contributions to the book were very interesting and yet, very relateable to the average person due to the language of his words. He made all of his writing very understandable and not as intimidating as other scientific writing pieces are. Please trust me on this, for I know that even seventh graders are capable of understanding this book! If you need a little push to get you into helping animals, this book is the way to go!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Inspiring "Hope for Animals and Their World"

    Rather than read every word in this book, I found myself jumping around reading about various species, which you can do and still get some benefit from this book. The stories of involved people in saving endangered species, or finding species thought to be extinct, are inspiring. One drawback is the fact that the author tells you almost constantly throughout the book to check out the book's website for more or additional information. At 400+ pages, it must have been difficult to select stories to publish. To include more of them, would have resulted in a gigantic, heavy book. The appendix includes things that you can do to help save our fellow creatures on Earth. Jane Goodall's heart and soul are manifested in her words and endless energy. Other than being a nonfiction book one reads page by page, "Hope for Animals and Their World" will serve the reader best as a reference or guide.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Awesome

    This book is awesome i love jane goodall and i love the message this book brings to the reader

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    best book ever.

    even if you dont read this book front to back, it is still a great book to just read different random sections in because it teaches many great things.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Hope

    HOPE. Is a strong word. Always have and use it. NEVER give up hope or any thing els.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Deadly beauty

    I thought it gave a good messeage HOPE is a beautiful thing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    Great eye-opener!

    I purchased this audiobook after hearing about the author in one of my Anthropology classes. This book is definitely an eye-opener as to HOW involved one can be in nature and how "easy" it could be to reverse the effects of our "footprint"...if only we would try... It is a good read (listen) for all that are interested in the topic, conservation of our wildlife, and in Anthropology in general.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    HOPE is a great title.

    This book gives hope that many different types of endangered species can be brought back from the brink with not just effort but heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    This is a book for anyone who is interested in the survival of the planet. We are all connected, from the lowliest earthworm, to the majestic eagle. Read Dr. Goodall's book and be a part of the solution!

    Dr. Goodall's book speaks not only to animal activists and environmentalists, but everyone and anyone who has an interest in the planet's survival. She writes in a friendly, easy to understand manner, and makes us realize that we can all help. Her chapters are set up in such a way that you become a part of the effort to save the particular species. She makes you feel, as a reader and bystander that you are living in that moment. Her book, if nothing else, opens awareness and most importatnly, hope. Dr. Goodall's smooth writing style and easy to read chapters make the book go quickly. You feel as if she might in fact be your neighbor, easily accesable and open.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    If you care about the worlds' animals this is a must read.

    Jane Goodall is one of my favorite authors of 'need to know' facts regarding the world condition of food, animals and our planet. This book is very informative with a broad scope of resources. It gives us hope because there are people/groups of people out there who care about the various species under attack from our mismanagement of our planet and resources.
    Jane is hopeful and inspires ~~ I truly hope she's right!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1