Customer Reviews for

Hope in a Jar

Average Rating 3.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ready For a Walk Down Memory Lane?

Hope in a Jar was a fun book to read. The chapters alternated between present day and the old school days for Allie and Olivia. The chapters of school days were fun to read as a lot of my memories are similar to that of Allie. From the posters hanging on the wall to the...
Hope in a Jar was a fun book to read. The chapters alternated between present day and the old school days for Allie and Olivia. The chapters of school days were fun to read as a lot of my memories are similar to that of Allie. From the posters hanging on the wall to the trips to Woolsworths (are there any Woolsworths left these days?) it was a fun read. Allie and Olivia are both enjoyable characters and I could see myself being friends with them, both in school and in present day. If you are in a need of a walk down memory lane, this is the perfect book for you!

posted by charlottesweb93 on March 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed Reader

I liked the Shoe Addicts Anonymous books by her but this story was mundane and repetitive. I had just read Jennifer Weiner's Best Friends Forever, which has a similar plot but is much more engaging and a much better read. Let's hope Harbison delivers a better one next...
I liked the Shoe Addicts Anonymous books by her but this story was mundane and repetitive. I had just read Jennifer Weiner's Best Friends Forever, which has a similar plot but is much more engaging and a much better read. Let's hope Harbison delivers a better one next time around.

posted by ILgirl07 on February 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ready For a Walk Down Memory Lane?

    Hope in a Jar was a fun book to read. The chapters alternated between present day and the old school days for Allie and Olivia. The chapters of school days were fun to read as a lot of my memories are similar to that of Allie. From the posters hanging on the wall to the trips to Woolsworths (are there any Woolsworths left these days?) it was a fun read. Allie and Olivia are both enjoyable characters and I could see myself being friends with them, both in school and in present day. If you are in a need of a walk down memory lane, this is the perfect book for you!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    Highly recommended

    This book was wonderfully light and easy to read! A nice break from the "real world" stresses.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed Reader

    I liked the Shoe Addicts Anonymous books by her but this story was mundane and repetitive. I had just read Jennifer Weiner's Best Friends Forever, which has a similar plot but is much more engaging and a much better read. Let's hope Harbison delivers a better one next time around.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2010

    one-sitting read

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book! A great beach, rainy day, or feel good book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Dylan

    Waits for cats.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    <3 this book

    Love this book....could not put it down!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THE PICK OF CHICK LIT

    Happily for chick lit fans Beth Harbison (Secrets of a Shoe Addict, Shoe Addicts Anonymous) penned a third tale that both tickles and touches, Hope A Jar. Outside of selling well and sharing the same author these three titles have one more thing in common - they're all read by the delightful Orlagh Cassidy.
    Credited with timing and delivery perfection, it has been said that Cassidy makes an audio even more fun than the print edition. Hear for yourselves in this story of friendship.
    Remember your best friend in high school? Hope that friendship didn't end as was the case with Allie and Olivia. You know what they say, opposites attract. Allie Denby was pretty, very pretty, and popular. Olivia Pelham had brains (a quality not too often appreciated by high schoolers.) They were best pals.
    However, the two had a serious parting of the ways and wrote fini to their friendship. Then, some 20 years later there is their high school reunion. Much has taken place in two decades. Allie is divorced, not too fond of her appearance, and feels on life's sidelines. Olivia has enjoyed a career as a high powered magazine editor in NYC. But, that has lost its luster.
    At the reunion Noah announces that he's going to marry Vickie (high school baddie). Wonder what can be done about this and what can repair a friendship. Beth Harbison has the answers, and you'll enjoy hearing them as read by Orlagh Cassidy.

    - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    A fun read.  A bit predictable.  I would recommend!

    A fun read.  A bit predictable.  I would recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    I got this when it was on sale as the Nook Deal of the Day--it w

    I got this when it was on sale as the Nook Deal of the Day--it was okay. Predictable, but charming in its own way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    Hope in a Jar by Beth Harbison

    A better-than-average "light" read. Great summer, leisurely, beach book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Perfect story of life after high school

    Loved this story, makes you feel good and know that its how you deal with things in life that make you who you are. Also that true friends will always be there even after years of nit speaking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Great read.

    This was a good, easy read. Really enjoyed it, and had a great ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Fun read....

    Great read. Could do without the traumatic incident from the past.... otherwise, upbeat and fast-paced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    good read

    entertaining quick read. i liked shoe addict books by the same author as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hope in a Jar

    Very disappointing novel. Beth's previous two books were page turners - this was boring although I read the whole thing hoping it would get better. If it hadn't been written by Beth - I would have given up on it about page 50! Hope her other books come up to the standards we've learned to expect from her. Normally I can't wait to read one of her books and buy it as soon as it comes out. Hope she gets back to normal! Wouldn't recommend this book - just skip it and you'll be ahead!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    Trite!

    Not worth the time or effort. A "cookie-cutter" story. Too many good Chic Lits out there to waste time with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    No good....

    couldn't finish the book since I lost interest I think before i hit page 50.
    skip the purchase of this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    Romantic

    This book had a few surprises and was easy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Okay But Nothing Special

    I enjoyed Harbison's previous 2 Shoe Addicts books - this one I felt was very predictable and ho-hum. I did just finish reading Jennifer Weiner's Best Friends Forever and there were a lot of similarities - maybe if I hadn't just finished that novel, I would have liked this one more. I did like the references to DC as I live just outside of the city. Definitely looking forward to her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4