Customer Reviews for

The Hope of Refuge (Ada's House Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!

    Cara felt like she had been on the run with her daughter forever. But now that Mike had found her again, and this time knew her daughter's name and school - she needed to really get lost. Unfortunately Cara had been "lost" her whole life. Her mother died when she was 8 and her father left her at a bus stop and told her to wait for someone named Emma Riehl who was going to come and get her. Emma never showed up and Cara ended up in foster care. It was while she was here that she met Mike. As a teenager she had tried to go to the police about him, but they did not believe her. She married when she was 17 to get protection from him. When her husband died a few years later, she was left to raise their daughter Lori alone. Mike soon found out and began to stalk her again.

    Discovering an address in a journal that her mother Malinda had kept, Cara sets out with Lori with little money and just the clothes on their backs. They are headed to Dry Lake, Pennsylvania, an Amish community. Cara has not been able to trust anyone for so long, that when she shows up in Dry Lake she hides out in a barn with her daughter. She feels as if she knows this place though, but doesn't know how or why. They attend a local auction with the hopes of finding some food when Cara hears the name Emma Riehl again. She knows she must get some answers, but doesn't know what she is going to do for food and shelter in the meantime.

    Her stay in the barn does not last long as a local has called the police. They claim they have seen a drunken thief in the area and that she appears to be living in this barn. Before the police can take her away, Ephraim steps in and tells them that she and her daughter can stay with him. He is not quite sure why he has done this, as it will cause problems in the community. Especially if she is who he thinks she is - the daughter of Malinda Riehl, who was banished from the community many years before and left much hurt in her wake. He remembers playing with her for a week when he was a child and has never forgotten her.

    Cara's presence in Ephraim's household does indeed cause problems. He is shunned, more severely than normal. This means he is not allowed to speak to any other Amish person, nor sit with them at a table, nor take something from their hands or hand them something. He has also been banished from working at his cabinetry business. In spite of all this, he hears "Be Me to her" when he is having his greatest doubts and feels deep inside that he is doing the right thing. He has no clue how all this will end though.

    My thoughts: This was really my first "Amish" book - and I know there are a lot out there right now! I really enjoyed it though, and it gave me a look into a world that I did not know anything about. On one hand, I don't know how people live without electricity, cars, TV, etc - but on the other hand life would be so simple! I am not sure that I would be happy like that forever though. I believe in the same God that they believe in, but I am not sure that if you are not born Amish that his would be a society that you would ever truly belong to. This says it is an Ada House novel, so I am hoping that there are more to come. There were a lot of background characters - Deborah (Ephraim's sister), Mahlon (Deborah's fiance), Ada (Mahlon's mom) and Anna Mary (Ephraim's girlfriend) that I would like to learn more about. I have a feeling that there will be some good stories there!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    The author write exceedingly well. I was drawn into the story wi

    The author write exceedingly well. I was drawn into the story within the first 12 pages. Just as I was predicting the outcome of a chapter the book took a turn I was hooked into reading more. I had a hard time putting my nook down...only to recharge. although the character of Cara was unusual for Amish fiction, it worked in well with the story line and scripture from 2Corinthians, chapter 1 verse 3-4...that WE may be able to comfort others because God has comforted us. Cara is able to comfort Deborah and Ada for their loss because of her losses. I can't wait to read the next in the Ada hose series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Is There Hope of Refuge?

    Cindy Woodsmall has the unique ability to quickly grab your attention, emotions, and curiosity to whisk you into a wondrous world of her making. This is not your typical Amish story. Her main character Cara is a hard working waitress, a single mom who addicted to cigarettes and always looking over her shoulder to flee from a violent stalker. Cara does her best to survive in New York and care for her young daughter Lori, who is her world.

    What I love about Cindy's books is the fact that she talks about universal truths and lies some believe- things that we all struggle with from time to time-such as feeling abandoned, or a desperate need to be loved and be a part of a community so we can live our life to the fullest. Cara wants answers about her past so that she can figure out which path to take in the future.

    Cindy has an uncanny way of letting you feel like you're a fly on the wall and sensing that nothings being altered because you're hanging around! She allows you to capture every detail of the drama unfolding in her story, up-close and personal. Ada, an Amish woman, says to Cara (who can't figure out why anyone would want to be Amish), "We all submit to something. Athletes submit to the rules of their game. Lawyers and judges submit to the laws. The highest court in the land submits to the Constitution..The Amish choose to submit to the Ordnung in order to be strong against desires that want no boundaries."

    Cindy lifts the veil and allows you to peak into the Amish way of life. The Hope of Refuge is the beginning of an amazing tale, with believable characters you'd like to meet. I can't wait to sit down to read Cindy's next book, and find out where these special characters end up. The author leaves you with a satisfying ending and a desire to know what happens next. Thanks, Cindy for taking us on another exciting adventure in and out of the Amish community.

    Finding Hope Through Fiction
    www.psalm516.blogspot.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Forest area 2

    Forms the middle ring between the outer forest and inner forest. Trees here are less dense, but also taller. Has a river that curves to make an o shaped ring that stays completely inside this section of the forest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Wonderful Story

    Great writing, great story. I enjoyed this book so much that when I sat down after dinner I read the complete book. Very much looking forward to book 2 and 3. Love this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    terriffic book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Repetitive and a bit unrealistic, but enjoyable and long.

    This book was kind of a split down the middle for me between loving it and hating it. Like my title said, it was repetitive with Cara getting scared and hiding her feelings, Ephriam pulling her feelings back into the light, Ephriam getting into trouble for pulling out her feelings, and then he doesn't tell Cara he's in trouble, so when she finds out she hides her feelings again. It just kept going in a loop for me. And l don't believe Cara would ever get along living Aimsh so it seems highly unrealistic. Th story is enjoyable, however, and l really do feel like l know the characters. It's also very long, which makes it worth the mon.ey for me. Overall, l recommend it, but l have to give it three stars just because l wasn't completely loving it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Last week while visiting the Amish country in Lancaster, PA, I p

    Last week while visiting the Amish country in Lancaster, PA, I purchased this book. I enjoyed every page, and am anxious to get the next ones in the Ada's House series. This is the fourth book that I've read of Cindy Woodsmall's - everyone of them as enjoyable as the one prior. Ms. Woodsmall brings the characters to life, and you feel as though you know each of them personally. I hated for it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    The Hope of Refuge (Ada's House Series #1)

    Great and easy read. I didn't want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    Highly recommended - Thoroughly enjoyable and engaging.

    "House of Refuge" is an excellent and engaging work. Cindy Woodsmall does a marvelous job with both characterization and plot development. I place this book and those that follow in the Series "Ada's House" among the best I've read of Amish fiction. I found myself caught up with all major characters and eager to see the story unfold. Hated to see the book end and was eager to read the second book in the series. Woodamall rivals Beverly Lewis in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Very Good

    I really enjoyed this book and also Book 2 of the series. I did not want to put them down. Starting Book 3 today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    OUTSTANDING

    This book kept me on the edge of my seat from start to finish, Written beautifully, this is 1 of 3 books, I have the other 2 books sitting on my shelp, this one I got for my Nook... GReat reading and highly reccomended for all to enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    great

    hearfelt i couldnt put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    WONDERFUL STORY

    This is a wonderful book.It captured my interest from the first page and has kept me on edge thoughout the entire book. Great story, great characters. This would make a wonderful movie. I love all of Woodsmall's books - great writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Ada House series

    Very Good, can't wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A True Look at Modern Amish Life.

    It took me a little while to get all the characters straight with this one. There were so many being introduced in the beginning that I started to get a little confused. Once I got a few chapters in things all started to fall into place and I was able to keep track of who was who.

    The dialogue in this book was very easy to follow (for some reason I get lost easily in dialogue). I didn't have to keep going back and re-reading to try and figure out who was saying what. I REALLY liked that.

    The story was pretty decent. It didn't blow me away but it was still pretty good. There were parts that were a little suspenseful, and there were some really touching parts. It had a little bit of everything.

    What I liked most about this was that it was a look into how modern Amish people live. Even though they stay true to their beliefs modern culture does leave its mark on the Amish. I'm glad this book showed that. In the past books that I've read about the Amish are very biased and stereotypical. I liked that the author was able to use her real-life connections to give a true glimpse into Amish life.

    This one was a pretty quick read. Although it didn't draw me in and keep me totally captivated the writing was well done and I didn't have to labor to finish it.

    It was a decent book, not something I loved but I definitely liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    First in Ada's House series rates above and beyond most Amish lit

    The Hope of Refuge by Cindy Woodsmall is the first book in the Ada's House series about the Amish community of Dry Lake, Pennsylvania. Cara Moore is on the run with her daughter Lori from New York City and the stalker who has haunted her life for years. With fragments of a memory from her childhood and an address in her mother's diary, she makes her way to an Amish community hoping that she will find safety and a chance to start over with her little girl. Instead she stumbles into secrets and wounds forty years old with only Ephraim Mast willing to stand up for her at the expense of his position within the community and his family. I thoroughly enjoyed this Amish lit novel because it refuses to be cliched. The Amish, well-known for their forgiveness, are not portrayed as flawless, but as real humans struggling with the consequences of living in a strictly structured society. While much of the story revolves around Cara and Ephraim, Deborah,Mahlon , and Ada are also introduced adding rich texture to this novel and building a foundation for future books in the series. I will definitely be looking forward to the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3