Customer Reviews for

Hope to Die (Matthew Scudder Series #15)

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2004

    Hope to Die

    I was pondering on weather I should read another Matthew Scudder novel, seeing as I had not enjoyed the previous one. When my friend had convinced me it was a great book I finally gave in and read it. I am still thanking him today, I couldn't put the book down. It is a must-read for all people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2004

    What a Thriller!!!

    I will admit, at first I was a little skeptical on weather I should read this book seeing that I didnt really enjoy the last Scudder book. Then when People called this the 'page-turner of the week,' I thought I might as well read it. And was I greatful because this is arguably the best Scudder book of them all. I absolutely loved this book. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2004

    Block does it again

    Block comes back with another superb Scudder crime book! This book takes you through the eyes of a private eye on a crime that was cleverly thought up. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2004

    Hope to Die

    WOW! There is nothing more you can say about this novel than WOW! This novel is beautifully written and depicts the story so well that I felt as if I was actually there. This book was exceptional

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2003

    Not Recommended

    This is the first novel of his I've read and it was VERY disappointing. I don't know if I'll read anymore of this sort. I thought this was utterly boring if I must say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2003

    My first and probably last Scudder

    This was my first Block novel and it will probably be my last. The Scudder character drove me nuts. First of all, everything he did was subject to his reviewing it in his mind and endlessly hashing it out. If I had done this then this might have happened and if that had happened then this might have happened ... and on and on and on. Secondly, I could not really see what Scudder did to solve the mystery .. if he had never existed... the result would have pretty much been the same. All he did was comment on each death scene that was revealed. I would much rather read a Ridley Pearson novel. I felt like reading this book was a chore rather than an enjoyment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2002

    Block's Scudder in top form

    Another excellent outing from the authors reliably entertaining Matthew Scudder. hard to believe that mr. scudder is in his 60's. this is a tight storyline with suprises galore. a must for scudder fans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2002

    Block's still got his touch

    With "Hope to Die" Lawrence Block shows that he has not lost his touch. The prose is sharp, witty, and spectacular. The plot is plausible and highly entertaining. Matt Scudder is still one of the best heroes in contemporary mystery fiction. As you probably know, it's been a while since Lawrence Block's last Scudder novel and this one was surely a good comeback. Kudos, Mr. Block. To those who haven't read any of Lawrence Block's Matt Scudder novels, I recommend that you do so as soon as humanly possible, if not sooner. Lawrence Block is a superb writer and the Matt Scudder books are good, unforgettable reads. Amongst the best ones are A Ticket to the Boneyard, A Walk Among the Tombstones, Everybody Dies, and this, his most recent, Hope to Die. Hope this review helps and I hope you have yourself countless good reads and a good life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2001

    Compelling and hard to put down!

    Matthew Scudder is back in Lawrence Block¿s latest novel, Hope to Die. As is to be expected, the unlicensed private investigator finds himself drawn into the middle of a horrible and violent murder case that was considered solved and closed by the New York police. <br><br>Upon returning home from a night at the theater, a prominent and wealthy couple is surprised to find burglars ransacking their half-million dollar brownstone. The thieves viciously torture and murder the couple and flee with pillowcases full of stolen treasures. The case is immediately solved when the bodies of the burglars are discovered, in a murder-suicide fashion. Open and closed. Nice and neat.<br><br>Except what if there was a third thief, a mastermind behind the entire scheme? What if pillowcases full of stolen treasures was not the motive for the crime? What if the wealthy dead couple had a daughter who stood to inherit millions? Or a close-to-the-family niece who would be in better financial standing if an accident happened to her cousin?<br><br>What it? What if? Leave it to Lawrence Block to compile and dump on the reader an array of `what if¿s¿ to keep you guessing and keep you turning pages. Leave it to Block to come up with a well thought out and carefully plotted thriller that is nothing short of classic Scudder. The host of characters Block creates are lively and real. Dialogue is crisp and believable. As always the mystery is full of puzzle pieces to sift through. It is no wonder Lawrence Block is an award-winning novelist. Hope to Die is fast and complete and I enjoyed every chapter.<br>--Phillip Tomasso III, author of Third Ring and Tenth House

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting Scudder tale

    In Manhattan someone brutally kills Byrne and Susan Hollander in their home with their daughter Kristin finding the bodies. A few days later the Brooklyn police investigate a bad odor emanating from an apartment only to find two male Caucasian corpses and the Hollander loot. To NYPD both cases close as the apparent Brooklyn suicide-murder event resolves the Manhattan crime. <P>Though he knew the Hollanders and actually attended the same dinner concert as the victims did on that fatal night, Matthew Scudder has no reason to discount the police conclusion. However, his assistant TJ introduces him to the niece of the Hollanders, Columbia student and wannabe writer Lia Parkman. She believes her cousin arranged the murders of her own parents to inherit a fortune. Unable to resist, Matt begins to investigate, and quickly concludes Kristin is innocent, but someone else arranged the homicides and is not finished with the killings. <P> The mystery of HOPE TO DIE is as strong as any urban detective story is even though Scudder has lost some of his street edge and is showing his age as a member of the geriatric set. Still that fails to impede him from touring the town looking for clues or interfere with his ability to interpret the evidence. References to past novels add a nostalgic feeling to those long time fans of Scudder. Though the ending leaves an obvious sequel, Lawrence Block furbishes readers with a strong edition of his hard-boiled detective. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2001

    THIS NOVEL MADE ME FEEL ANCIENT!

    I¿ve been a fan of the ¿Matthew Scudder¿ series by Lawrence Block for about eight years (thank you, Mark, for turning me on to Block, Robert Crais, James Lee Burke, Stuart Woods, and Jeremiah Healy¿I owe you!). The earlier books in the series were so-so, but good enough to keep me coming back. Then, I read A TICKET TO THE BONEYARD, A DANCE AT THE SLAUGHTERHOUSE, and A WALK AMONG THE TOMBSTONES and was blown away by the darkness, the violence, the intensity of the storyline, and the strong character development. In other words, I was hooked! For awhile, I began to think that maybe Andrew Vachss had taken over the series from Mr. Block, and then the novels began to gradually tone down and find a nice balance. They were never again as dark as the above three titles; but, by that time, I¿d become friends with Matthew Scudder and simply enjoyed hanging out with him whenever a new book came out. In HOPE TO DIE, the newest novel in the series, Scudder is now 62 years of age (it made me realize how old I¿m getting), but still going strong. He and Elaine are happily married and are financially set for life¿due to her investments¿so that neither of them has to work again, unless they choose to. On a particular Monday night, both the Hollanders and the Scudders are attending a dinner and concert at the Lincoln Center. After the concert is over, the Hollanders return home (they live less than a mile from Matthew and Elaine) and are brutally murdered by two burglars. The next day when the news of the murders hits the streets, the Scudders are as shocked as the other people who attended the concert that night. Both of the killers are found dead a few days later, locked in an apartment. The police rule it a murder and a suicide, and quickly close the case so that everything can return to normal. Matthew Scudder, however, is drawn to the closed case for some unknown reason, feeling the urge to dig a little and to see what he comes up with. Some of the things in the case don¿t add up for him, and it isn¿t long before he begins to suspect that there was a third person behind the scenes, controlling the crime from beginning to end. With the help of his partner, T.J., Scudder digs even deeper, trying to find someone who might¿ve profited from the death of the Hollanders. The Hollanders¿ daughter and niece are possible suspects, but it doesn¿t feel right to him. He senses that the killer is a male who¿s highly intelligent and utterly diabolical. Scudder also thinks that the killer might strike again. The only question is whether or not our New York P.I. can solve the case before the next murder takes place. HOPE TO DIE is a good, old fashion mystery with well-established characters carrying the storyline to its completion. The author gives us a detailed look at New York City, introduces us to some new characters that may be popping up again in future books, and writes part of the novel from the killer¿s point of view. Neither the killer nor the story is as dark and intense the three novels I listed above. Still, I found HOPE TO DIE to be a fun read. I liked the majority of characters in it and had a good time trying to guess whom the killer really was. With at least fifty novels to his credit, Lawrence Block has certainly mastered the art of writing fiction, and fans of Matthew Scudder will find this novel to a pleasurable addition to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2001

    NOT UP TO PAR

    I've read all the Scudder novels and found each to be enjoyable. But this one is a clunker and for only one main reason: It is improbable how Scudder gets into this thru TJ. It just doesn't work. There is a disconnect and it's jarring. It's uninspired and really not up to par.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1