Customer Reviews for

Hope to Die (Matthew Scudder Series #15)

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2004

    Hope to Die

    I was pondering on weather I should read another Matthew Scudder novel, seeing as I had not enjoyed the previous one. When my friend had convinced me it was a great book I finally gave in and read it. I am still thanking him today, I couldn't put the book down. It is a must-read for all people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2004

    What a Thriller!!!

    I will admit, at first I was a little skeptical on weather I should read this book seeing that I didnt really enjoy the last Scudder book. Then when People called this the 'page-turner of the week,' I thought I might as well read it. And was I greatful because this is arguably the best Scudder book of them all. I absolutely loved this book. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2004

    Block does it again

    Block comes back with another superb Scudder crime book! This book takes you through the eyes of a private eye on a crime that was cleverly thought up. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2004

    Hope to Die

    WOW! There is nothing more you can say about this novel than WOW! This novel is beautifully written and depicts the story so well that I felt as if I was actually there. This book was exceptional

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2002

    Block's still got his touch

    With "Hope to Die" Lawrence Block shows that he has not lost his touch. The prose is sharp, witty, and spectacular. The plot is plausible and highly entertaining. Matt Scudder is still one of the best heroes in contemporary mystery fiction. As you probably know, it's been a while since Lawrence Block's last Scudder novel and this one was surely a good comeback. Kudos, Mr. Block. To those who haven't read any of Lawrence Block's Matt Scudder novels, I recommend that you do so as soon as humanly possible, if not sooner. Lawrence Block is a superb writer and the Matt Scudder books are good, unforgettable reads. Amongst the best ones are A Ticket to the Boneyard, A Walk Among the Tombstones, Everybody Dies, and this, his most recent, Hope to Die. Hope this review helps and I hope you have yourself countless good reads and a good life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2001

    Compelling and hard to put down!

    Matthew Scudder is back in Lawrence Block¿s latest novel, Hope to Die. As is to be expected, the unlicensed private investigator finds himself drawn into the middle of a horrible and violent murder case that was considered solved and closed by the New York police. <br><br>Upon returning home from a night at the theater, a prominent and wealthy couple is surprised to find burglars ransacking their half-million dollar brownstone. The thieves viciously torture and murder the couple and flee with pillowcases full of stolen treasures. The case is immediately solved when the bodies of the burglars are discovered, in a murder-suicide fashion. Open and closed. Nice and neat.<br><br>Except what if there was a third thief, a mastermind behind the entire scheme? What if pillowcases full of stolen treasures was not the motive for the crime? What if the wealthy dead couple had a daughter who stood to inherit millions? Or a close-to-the-family niece who would be in better financial standing if an accident happened to her cousin?<br><br>What it? What if? Leave it to Lawrence Block to compile and dump on the reader an array of `what if¿s¿ to keep you guessing and keep you turning pages. Leave it to Block to come up with a well thought out and carefully plotted thriller that is nothing short of classic Scudder. The host of characters Block creates are lively and real. Dialogue is crisp and believable. As always the mystery is full of puzzle pieces to sift through. It is no wonder Lawrence Block is an award-winning novelist. Hope to Die is fast and complete and I enjoyed every chapter.<br>--Phillip Tomasso III, author of Third Ring and Tenth House

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting Scudder tale

    In Manhattan someone brutally kills Byrne and Susan Hollander in their home with their daughter Kristin finding the bodies. A few days later the Brooklyn police investigate a bad odor emanating from an apartment only to find two male Caucasian corpses and the Hollander loot. To NYPD both cases close as the apparent Brooklyn suicide-murder event resolves the Manhattan crime. <P>Though he knew the Hollanders and actually attended the same dinner concert as the victims did on that fatal night, Matthew Scudder has no reason to discount the police conclusion. However, his assistant TJ introduces him to the niece of the Hollanders, Columbia student and wannabe writer Lia Parkman. She believes her cousin arranged the murders of her own parents to inherit a fortune. Unable to resist, Matt begins to investigate, and quickly concludes Kristin is innocent, but someone else arranged the homicides and is not finished with the killings. <P> The mystery of HOPE TO DIE is as strong as any urban detective story is even though Scudder has lost some of his street edge and is showing his age as a member of the geriatric set. Still that fails to impede him from touring the town looking for clues or interfere with his ability to interpret the evidence. References to past novels add a nostalgic feeling to those long time fans of Scudder. Though the ending leaves an obvious sequel, Lawrence Block furbishes readers with a strong edition of his hard-boiled detective. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1