Customer Reviews for

A Hopeful Heart

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Strog spiritual Strong spiratual applicatioon Stroong belief Goood story Good

    Thank you kim

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fresh take on attempt to populate the Old West

    Put your bonnet on, climb up into the buckboard and take a trip to the Wyatt Herdsman School in Barnett, Kansas. Tressa Neill travels west at her Aunt Gretchen's demands for a second chance at gaining a husband and family. The west is long on men and short on women. The small town of Barnett is all stirred up because Hattie Wyatt had concocted a plan to train women brought from the east everything they need to know about being a rancher's wife. The fun part will be matching them up with unmarried ranchers when they've graduated. We wander amongst these young women as they brand calves, make butter, learn to keep a ranch house clean all the while anticipate being sparked by the ranchers.

    Tressa, flawed by the inability to forgive, eventually undercovers a secret, which gives her an opportunity to grow. Adam, soured on God for all the losses in his life and preoccupied with a ranch that barely sustains itself, resists marriage. Will his heart forever be held prisoner? Especially endearing is prayerful "Aunt" Hattie, who, not blessed with children of her own, is full of hope about her house of young students. She is determined to teach them riding, roping, milking, gardening, canning and any other rancher's wife duty she can come up with, all in preparation for preparing them for their duties as ranch wives. Hattie, too, eventually finds love.

    A Hopeful Heart will immediately plunk you into its characters' lives and make you feel a part of the wide-open prairie. Using Abel's ranch as a place to teach her girls about birthing calves is a snappy plot twist. The dialogue reflects the time and culture perfectly. This book is a fascinating take on an experimental program to help populate the west. The story is original and the writing smooth and easy on the eyes. We learn that holding onto grudges helps no one. Forgive as God has forgiven us is hard for some, but not impossible. Highly recommended to those who love a subtle romance set the west when our country was young. Reviewed by Holly Weiss, author of Crestmont

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Heartwarming Tale

    Kim Vogel Sawyer created a delightful cast of characters with whom I enjoyed spending time. Six young Eastern women head to Kansas to attend a special school, one designed to teach them how to become successful rancher's wives. While the focus is on reserved Tressa and rugged rancher Abel Samms, the reader gets to experience added fun as multiple matches are made under the watchful eye of the school's founder, Aunt Hattie, a warmhearted woman who adds much to the story. Sawyer is a gifted storyteller, and I savored every moment my nose was buried between the pages of A Hopeful Heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Hopeful Heart - A Good Read

    In A Hopeful Heart, Kim Vogel Sawyer intertwines a good fiction story with a little know historical fact. Set in Kansas in 1888, six young women arrive at Hattie Wyatt's ranch to enter her herdsman school to learn how to be the wife of a rancher. Her aunt and uncle force Tressa Neill to leave her home in the east and join the group. Shy, afraid, and easily intimidated, she endeavors to succeed in this foreign environment. Abel Samms, a bachelor rancher, who wants nothing to do with these 'eastern' girls, does what he can to avoid them.

    Sawyer, author of 14 novels, has written an intriguing and enjoyable tale. Full of humor, suspense, and plot twists, this story is full of interesting characters. The interweaving of the characters' beliefs and sometimes struggles with God is well done. I found this to be a satisfying read. I look forward to the next novel from Kim Vogel Sawyer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    Fantastic faith-filled romance

    A Hopeful Heart by Kim Vogel Sawyer is a delightful romance full of faith and charm. Tressa Neill is one of the first students at Hattie Wyatt's herdsman school for girls. Rejected by her aunt and uncle, she wants to learn how to be a good wife on a ranch in hopes of finding a husband, just like the rest of the women in the school. Abel Samms doesn't have much faith in the school or the women, he just wants to figure out who has been rustling his cattle in such quantities that he's being forced to consider selling his ranch to his wealthy neighbor. Sawyer is a talented writer, and I've read several of her other books, but this may just be her best one yet. I absolutely adored this novel! Tressa is a delightful heroine who is initially unsure of herself but learns from Hattie to learn to trust herself and the Lord. I love books like this where the reader knows from the first page that everything is going to end happily, but the journey there is so much fun. Sawyer has created a vibrant group of characters here, and I hope that the Wyatt Herdsman School isn't through. There are more stories to be told! If you're looking for a sweet romance, you couldn't do any better than this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    A Hopeful Read

    Kim Vogel Sawyer hits all the right notes in her latest historical romance, A HOPEFUL HEART, Bethany House. With her trademark heartwarming style, Sawyer treats readers to the story of Tressa Neill, a dowryless Easterner sent to the Wyatt Herdsman School in Barnett, Kansas, with the hope of finding a husband, a family, and a life of her own. Tressa's mistakes and misadventures and her valiant efforts to fit in to her new Western community will touch readers' hearts. Sawyer has a gift for transporting readers to another time and place, and they are sure to enjoy this trip to 1880s Kansas in her skillful hands.
    Marta Perry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Sweet Historical Romance

    I very much enjoyed this book, A Hopeful Heart, which is the story of Tressa, an Eastern girl whose parents died a few years ago and left her to live with an aunt and uncle who didn't love her or want her. They send her west, to a school that will teach Tressa to be a good wife to a rancher, as there are lots of eligible ranchers in the area but few prospects for wives.

    I was drawn in by Tressa's plight. She's shy and rather incompetent at tasks she'd never had to learn while in her wealthy relatives' home. I could sympathize with her not wanting to be thrust upon some man she barely knew to be his wife, feeling almost like she was being auctioned off. But she had little choice. She had to marry because she had no family or means to support herself. Such was the plight of many women of that time.

    Kim Sawyer writes gentle love stories with tons of heart and true-to-life characters. I enjoyed this book very much and recommend it to fans of sweet historical romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    A Sweet Romance with a Dash of Adventure

    When I first read the premise of this book, I knew I had to read it. I had never heard of a herdsman school, but what a wonderful idea! I love historical romance, and so many times I'd wondered what it would be like to travel back in time. Well, if I ever did, I would definitely make Aunt Hattie's school my first stop. Teaching ignorant town women like me how to cook on an iron stove, tend a garden, milk a cow, drive a wagon - all essentials for surviving and finding a mate in the world of Kansas ranchers.

    This sweet story is full of characters that are easy to relate to and ones who stir your heart...and your suspicions. The leisurely pace at the beginning picks up about halfway through, and the adventure really takes off. I flew through the second half of this book. I cheered for Tressa as she battled her insecurities to become a self-assured woman who depends on God for strength. And the reluctant Abel captured my heart as well. Try as he might to avoid it, love still comes knocking on his door.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this story and would recommend it to fans of Christian fiction who enjoy sweet romances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    A Winner!

    What a wonderful book! Take six Eastern women, transport them to Kansas and put them in a herdsman's school. (What's a herdsman's school? A place where women learn the skills needed to be true helpmeets to ranchers.) Add in more than six prospective grooms, along with a man who's convinced that he's not ready to marry. And then, as if that weren't enough to guarantee a delightful story, toss in a bit of trouble . or more than a bit of it. It all adds up to one of Kim's best books yet, one that will keep you up late, because you have to read 'just one more chapter.' I highly recommend A Hopeful Heart to anyone who enjoys stories of love and faith and real people facing real problems. It's a winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The BEST Prairie Romance I Have Read!!

    I have always loved a good prairie romance. A HOPEFUL HEART goes beyond good and into great!
    A group of eastern girls being taught on the open prairie how to be good prairie wives-- that alone snagged my attention, but once getting into the book you are opened to a world beyond the setting. The characters are real and alive, worming their way into my heart. Tressa, the heroine is a young woman searching for her place in the world and through each circumstance she must learn to stand strong in God. I loved her journey on all counts.
    I can think of nothing I did not like about this book. I truly believe it is the best book by this author to date. The setting was vividly described, bringing me right there. The characters danced upon the screen of my imagination with a real life persona and the love story was sweet and complete with a lovely sigh from this reader when the book was closed.
    Even the secondary characters were vivid in their portrayal and I hope to someday rejoin a few of them in another book. Please?
    A HOPEFUL HEART will definitely be going on my best books list for a long time to come and is highly recommended!!
    Thanks the publishers through CFBA for my copy to review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2