BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hopeless

Average Rating 4.5
( 1604 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1226)

4 Star

(237)

3 Star

(77)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

137 out of 151 people found this review helpful.

WOW!

Holy hell, this is an AMAZING book. As an avid reader, almost obsessively so, I find myself bored by a lot of the books I read. They just don't provoke any emotions from the reader. Not this book though. Yes, it is heavy and intense and heartbreaking, but it is also a s...
Holy hell, this is an AMAZING book. As an avid reader, almost obsessively so, I find myself bored by a lot of the books I read. They just don't provoke any emotions from the reader. Not this book though. Yes, it is heavy and intense and heartbreaking, but it is also a story about strength, love, faith and Hope. There are so many words of wisdom throughout this book that can be applied to everyone, not just those who have struggled with horrific events and tragedy. I loved Slammed and Point of Retreat, so I had a feeling that I would not be disappointed by Hoover's newest book. This book ranks among the top 10 books I have read this year and according to Goodreads, I have read and rated 312 books since August. (Like I said, I love to read!) Do NOT pass the opportunity to read Hopeless. This is the very first book I have ever written a review on, but I felt it almost a responsibility to inform all readers out there what an absolute must read this book is. From the writing style, the grammar, the plot, the length of the book; 264 pages, but not a quick read, everything about Hopeless is truly incredible.

posted by 15880556 on December 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

79 out of 130 people found this review helpful.

Abuse

Main character relives memories of rape/incest. If you have trouble with this subject manner you should skip this one.

posted by 14067534 on January 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1605 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 81
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    i tried this book after reading reviews.after trying 93 pages i

    i tried this book after reading reviews.after trying 93 pages i have come to the conclusion that the auther and her friends wrote bthe reviews. this is mindless so draged reading i gave up.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Wonderful Book 5 Stars

    Sometimes people's reviews make me question if they ever read a really good book before.

    This book lives up to the reviews.. I read the book in one day, I couldn't put it down..

    This book will go on my top favorite list..(and I have read 100's of books)

    Congratulations to Colleen Hover for note being like every other author, and writing a wonderful novel.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Wordy

    This book rambles with hopeless inane dialog for 100 too many pages

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Tough subject matter, but I still couldn't bring myself to get a

    Tough subject matter, but I still couldn't bring myself to get attached to the characters.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Just eh

    To mushy for my taste. Maybe i am jaded but no man acts like this guy. The big mysteries where predictable after the first one was revailed. I liked slammed by this author. Point of retreat was ok. This book was just ok.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Jk

    This book is good, but a bit drug out. There's too much fluff, I had to make myself keep reading. The story didn't start getting good until about page 170, maybe a little more or less.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    I just want to take the time out to say that I NEVER do book rev

    I just want to take the time out to say that I NEVER do book reviews. I've read many books of different genre's throughout my life but none of them have ever touched me as much as this one. This riveting book is not only a story about the amazing connection of two people but it's also a book about life, hope, and dreams. This book has the capability to change your life. The writing was so pure and emotional that I felt every single emotion that the characters felt. Good and bad. I laughed, I cried, I screamed, and I shivered. Not many books have the ability to reach into your soul and touch your heart like this one has for me. Words cannot describe how fantastic of a book this is. My advice is to quit reading these reviews and start reading this book. You will be everything but disappointed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Good enough

    A bit over the top. These teenagers were more eloquent in speech and thought than the most mature people I have encountered. The blindness of the main character, who had the same clues I had, got annoying at times. Some of the side characters were pointless or nearly. But it was a nice little sophistacated soap opera romance. I would recommend Slammed over Hopeless though.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Anonymous

    Great book. Could not put it down! Loved all of her books!!i

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    I really didn't know what I was in for when I started Hopeless b

    I really didn't know what I was in for when I started Hopeless but WOW, I am so glad I picked this book up. Sky is an amazingly strong woman and doesn't realize it. There are so many layers to who she is and how she acts. The way Colleen Hoover crafted this story and revealed all the intricacies that made up Sky was phenomenal. Holder, what do you say about a guy that just wants to take care of those he loves but feels he let down the 2 most important people in his life. I love that he gets to find hope again and realize that he didn't fail. When Sky and Holder are together, well, who doesn't love a snarky comment and they seem to be the best at it with each other. Be prepared to laugh, cry and hope as you take this journey with Sky and Holder ... is it really Hopeless?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Hopeless

    Did not care for this book. I thought it was too predictable and kind of boring

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    LOVED it!!! Can't wait for the book from Holder's POV.

    LOVED it!!! Can't wait for the book from Holder's POV.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    It is one of those books that you start reading and suddenly you

    It is one of those books that you start reading and suddenly you realize that sleeping is not an option until the book is finished! I read it all in one day. The main characters Sky and Holder share a very sweet love story which I found so endearing and genuine. They seem to be wiser and more appreciative in the significance of their feelings then one might think someone of their young age would typically be. The story was so well written and thought out that it constantly had me trying to imagine the possibilities and explain what answers might lie ahead. Of course I was blown away when the answers finally came as they were not at all what I expected – much more profound than I had imagined and definitely left you feeling ….hopeless. It tugged at my heart to see/feel the love these characters have for each other to see them through such emotional situations. I absolutely loved this book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Slow to start

    But wow! Once you get into it... what a great story!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    This book will make your heart swell!

    This book will give anyone 'hope' that this world consists of true, passionate, selfless love and friendship.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Hopeless

    Loved the characters in this book and i thought they were very well developed. The dialogue seemed very real and at times had me laughing out loud. Easy read and powerful message..def worth the read. Something i would read all over again!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    slow start

    I found it to be a page turner but it took so long to move past the annoying teenager flirting, i almost gave up on it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    WOW! I agree with the previous reviews, this is an AMAZING book!

    WOW! I agree with the previous reviews, this is an AMAZING book! Fantastic story line that grabs you and won't let go. So much love between the two characters that you fall in love as well, so much passion and such a roller coaster. The author really makes you feel like you are a part of the story and you don't want it to end but you want to know the conclusion at the same time.
    READ THIS! You won't regret it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Great story!

    Story was unique and I loved every bit of it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    ABSOLUTELY BREATHTAKING!

    Honestly this is one of the best books I've ever read. You will hands down fall in love with Holder! It took my breath away! Read this book, you won't be sorry!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1605 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 81