Customer Reviews for

Hopeless Magic

Average Rating 4.5
( 278 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(215)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Hopeless Magic

Enjoyable series. Kudos to authors who self-publish. You are brave. Judging from what is out there from major publishers, editors seem unable to choose works that appeal to the people outside of the big city! A few typos here and there but I find myself captured by the...
Enjoyable series. Kudos to authors who self-publish. You are brave. Judging from what is out there from major publishers, editors seem unable to choose works that appeal to the people outside of the big city! A few typos here and there but I find myself captured by the story and unable to stop reading. Also, I do not know this author I found the first book in the series while exploring with my Nook. Captivating storyline!

posted by Read_Through on February 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good story

Writing is pretty good but desperately needs an editor Would love to know rest of the story but cannot take the ridiculous punctuation

posted by 13484779 on February 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Anonymous

    Loved the second book, better than the first one. Already reading the third one. Must read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    More!!!!

    Moar!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Hopeless- Chapter 3

    (I'll try to make it longer, but please leave suggestions for later on. Thanks!) Where we left off: I looked over and sure enough there he was, right behind me. "Hey," Ashley said walking towards class, he waved as she passed. "H-hi," I said, surprised that he even knew where my locker was. "Hey, I uh.. just wanted to talk about what happened in the band room... That was completely unlike me, but I've had a major crush on you since around the 7th grade. You know how many girls that have asked me out and I've turned down? A ton." He said looking in my eyes. I bit my lower lip wanting another kiss. He saw and was about to lean down when the 5 minute bell rang. "Sorry, I have to go," I said gently, closing my locker. "Ok, I'll catch you later then." He said stepping back. "Yeah... See ya," I said. As I rounded the corner Ashley was standing there. "Were you spying on us?" I demanded. "What? Phss. No," was her reply, I stared at her, "Ok, ok, yes I was. Now quite staring at me and let's get to class." I rolled my eyes and started down the hall. I froze, trying to figure a way through what was about 20 kids in the hall. As I marked the best route I walked, avoiding touching anyone. We made it to class just as the final bell rang. I sat down and noticed a note on my desk. 'Meet me here at lunch -Someone'. I looked around at everyone trying to figure out who wrote this. I shrugged and put it in my sweatshirt pocket. "Ok, class open your books to page 458," Mr. Szucs said. When lunch came around I grabbed my Ipod, headphones, phone, and lunch. I was about to go down the stairs then remembered the note. I detoured and headed towards the psychology classroom. As I went in I didn't see anyone. I put my lunchbox on the counter, then heard someone clear their throat behind me. My heart felt like it lept into my throat when I turned and saw that it was Kyle, the hottest guy in school. He had the perfect brown hair, amazing blue eyes, 5'9, and had amazing muscles. He was in track, football, basketball, and tennis. The typical school girls dream. "Hey," he said leaning in the doorway. I stared in amazement. 'Why had he asked me here?' I wondered. "H-h-hi," I stumbled. He walked in and shut the door locking it. At this point my heart was beating really fast. "Wh.. what did you want?" I asked a little freaked out. He walked over and put his hands on my waist and leaned down. "I've got to admit. I've liked you for a while." He whispered in my ear. He then picked me up and sat me on a desk, he leaned in and kissed me lightly on my lips. To be continued....... (Remember to give me suggestions for later on and comments.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Recommended - Interesting sci-fi/fantasy story line

    Am enjoying this series as evidenced by the fact I am now on the third book of the series. However, I wish the author or editor did a better job of proofing the writing. There are many missing or miss-used words throughout and it seems to get worse the further into the story I get. However, I would still recommend the book to anyone who likes this type of literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Great Read

    These books are an entertaing read for people of any age. Each book leaves you wanting more.Eden's struggle to try and remain loyal to Avalon and Amory's cause while falling hopelessly in love with Kiran gets pretty intense at times since her heart tells her that Kiran is different from the rest of his bloodline, but the Resistance's evidence always seems to prove otherwise. Things get further complicated when she is conflicted about her forbidden love for Kiran, and the confused feelings she has for Jericho. Though i dont agree with him sneaking around on Seraphina, who is completely evil, i really wanted Kiran to prove his love for Eden by standing up to his father, but instead he made a dirty deal with Lucan who had his own sick agendas. As a result ,it ended with his ultimate
    betrayal of Eden. Some things are just unforgivable and trading her brother Avalon to Lucan in exchange for her definitely belongs at the top of the list. Kiran's actions were the fuel for the fire/war againt the monarchy Eden hoped she would never become a part of. Although she obviouy still loves him , i believe that any hope they have for a future will be forever tainted by his previous actions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Could nit put this series down!

    Loved the plot, it aleays kept you on edge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    i enjoyed this book. i'll try not to give out too much. well lil

    i enjoyed this book. i'll try not to give out too much. well lilly has returned home after eden runs off to romania in the first book to save her. her romance with kiran is stronger. she's the strongest - weakest person i've read about (if that makes any sense). she was able to defeat assassins that were after her and over come a sickness (her being strong), but all this girl does is cries (her being weak). i mean come on, yes shedding a few tears are okay but almost every chapter is a little old. she ends up getting betrayed by someone close to her (no i won't mention who). her relationship with jericho is questioned. i for one, is rooting for jericho (i like him so much more). so we shall see what continues in the next books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    highly recommended

    great series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Great Read

    Great Read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Very Good!

    Other than typos, and a little bit awkward writing of the dialogue,this book would get 5 stars. The story and characters are too good to let that stopme from reading it or buying the next book. Better than the first book, which seemed a bit slow at times. This is more exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    AWESOME!

    This series is so intresting and ingaging it's really intresting and it catches you off guard it really makes wierd twist and turns that make the series really intresting.


    Abby118:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Great read!

    Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Great series

    I really love the first three books. I can't wait for the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3