Customer Reviews for

A Hopeless Romantic

Average Rating 4
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I work at a barnes and noble and i read a lot of books and i'd just like to say that this book has become my favorite! Harriet Evens did a wonderful job on writing hopeless romantic. Her characters are very strong and realistic. Throughout Lauras experience in london an...
I work at a barnes and noble and i read a lot of books and i'd just like to say that this book has become my favorite! Harriet Evens did a wonderful job on writing hopeless romantic. Her characters are very strong and realistic. Throughout Lauras experience in london and on holiday you can visualize every bar, house and character that she described. I stayed up till 430 in the morning trying to get to the end to see what happens. You will NOT be able to put this book down, its toxic 'but in a good way!'.

posted by Anonymous on July 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Eh

Read quite a few reviews and was excited to read this book. But i was pretty dissapointed actually. It was super predictable and it was really hard to keep my interest. Started this book and kept setting it down to read another instead. Finally finished it today so that...
Read quite a few reviews and was excited to read this book. But i was pretty dissapointed actually. It was super predictable and it was really hard to keep my interest. Started this book and kept setting it down to read another instead. Finally finished it today so that I didn't feel like I wasted my money.

posted by kimberlyx06 on December 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    I work at a barnes and noble and i read a lot of books and i'd just like to say that this book has become my favorite! Harriet Evens did a wonderful job on writing hopeless romantic. Her characters are very strong and realistic. Throughout Lauras experience in london and on holiday you can visualize every bar, house and character that she described. I stayed up till 430 in the morning trying to get to the end to see what happens. You will NOT be able to put this book down, its toxic 'but in a good way!'.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2008

    Brilliant!

    I loved this book. I adore this book. This book was brilliant. It's a big, fat, juicy read. It's smart, and clever, and full of interesting characters. It was by far the best book in my recent list of reads. As I was alerted to the fact this morning by the person on the other side of the pillow mountain that it was 1 am and I was still up, I announced, 'I know!' and went back to reading. Laura is a romantic to beat all. She sees the good in everyone, to the point of it being an almost fatal flaw. Her current relationship ends in ruins, she almost gets fired, and she loses her chance to go on holiday. Instead, she embarks on a mild adventure with her parents in honor of her grandmother's eighty fifth birthday celebration. Amidst stuffy conversation, she's bored out of her mind, until she meets Nick one fateful day. The pace is great, there are no loose ends, the characters are well developed, and I was in tears by the end. I got this copy from the library, but it is one I would consider owning to loan out to girlfriends in need! If you like Brit-chick lit, you'll love this one! A +++++++++

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    To the post below

    If you like a girl tell her. If you love a girl show her. If you want to know if a girl likes you... ask her... girls are so easy to talk to. Ask us anything and well pour out an answer. It take 20 seconds of insane courage to change your life. Dont miss that chance.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    Fantastic!!

    I absolutely adored this book. It is the perfect book for any chick-lit lover. I tore through the 500 pages in a couple of days and only wish it was longer. Her characters are very well developed and you can't help but fall in love with Laura, the main character. Evans' other book Going Home is equally as fantastic.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Great book!

    This was the first book I ever read by this author and I LOVED it!!!!!!! Highly reccomended!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    a hopeless romantic

    This book was just amazing. I loved it and just couldn't put it down. Laura realizes herself as a hopeless romantic and as her most recent relationship fails, she later decides to give up romance. But soon she meets Nick, who may be her very own Prince charming, but can't find herself believing in love again and opening up her heart to someone else. This is a book where you'' find yourself in tears, laughing, and enjoying every minute of it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    What kind of ending was that!?

    At best, this book was okay.

    There were some parts I liked, but not enough to give the book two stars (I mean it wasn't a terrible book). The heroine is annoying and so freaking stupid. I'm sure the author tried to give the heroine some depth to her character. An unsuccessful task in my opinion. Heck, I'm not even sure the heroine LEARNED anything by the end of the book. And speaking of the ending - utterly disappointing. If you're a fan of well written endings, do not read this book. You will be sorely let down.

    I don't know what the author was thinking when she wrote this. Like, WTFUDGE?! Not only was the last couple of pages rushed, it was like, hero and heroine separate for a little while then BAM! I won't spoil it for prospective readers. I had a ton of questions that never got answered. I know absence makes the heart grow fonder but sheesh. The romance/love in this book is not to die for; in fact, I can hardly call it love.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Eh

    Read quite a few reviews and was excited to read this book. But i was pretty dissapointed actually. It was super predictable and it was really hard to keep my interest. Started this book and kept setting it down to read another instead. Finally finished it today so that I didn't feel like I wasted my money.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Awesome

    This book is just amazing. The words and the plot of the story took me by surprise. I absolutly would reas this again, no doubt!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Ginny

    The bookis an amazing book and i'm only fifteen

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    TJD

    Amazing! I like how you made it longer and added some teen romance. Continue please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Epicness

    Great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Love!

    &heart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Yay!

    I lurv it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    TMS

    Nice!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Yay!

    Writer of Frobidden.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Hopeless- Chapter 2

    (Sorry about the long wait, went on vaca and had no wifi.) Sam lifted my chin up and I stared into his soft brown eyes as he stared into mine. He leaned closer and kissed me lightly on the lips. As he broke the kiss I stared, not knowing what to do. "What? Surprised that I like you?" He asked playfully, all I could do was nod. He smiled the same smile when I met him. I smiled back and put my arms around his neck, pulling him down for another kiss. As we broke the kiss we heard girls giggling in the hallway. I motioned for him to stay and went to see who had seen us. When I opened the door I saw 2 of my friends, Sara and Ashley. I don't see them much because they're the most popular girls, so they're too busy to hang with me. I stared, wondering how much they had overheard or seen. When they noticed me they stopped giggling and only smiled the all-knowing-smile that everyone with something to hide fears. I opened the door the rest of the way and let them enter. When I got back to sit down I was still blushing and noticed Sam was too. That's when people started coming in. After roll-call I moved my chair closer to Sam, and shared his stand. I looked up a few times to see Sara and Ashley trying not to giggle, they were both clarinet players and sat next to each other. I ignored them the rest of the time. After band was psychology for me and Ashley. On our way to class we stopped at my locker. "So what's up with you and Sam?" She asked. "Nothing," I replied quickly. "It didn't look like nothing," she said trying to get all the details from me. "Look, I'm not gonna say anything about it until I get another chance to talk to him about what happened in the band room." I said firmly. "Well looks like you won't have to wait too long, here he is now," she said starting to giggle. I looked over and sure enough there he was, right behind me. (Please leave comments on how I could improve and or leave suggestions for later on. Thanks)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Awesome keeit upp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Interesting take on love

    As a hopeless romantic myself I can relate a lot to the main character, Laura. This book shows her growth in the aspect of love and life. We can all learn from this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Frustrating main character but thank goodness for some character development

    You will hate the main character for at least the first 100 pages. I get she's a hopeless romantic but she comes across as dense and a hair away from wearing the men she falls for skin as a dress, at least at the start. After the fallout with the guy she thought was the one, super ridiculous , it gets a lot better. The ending was rushed but the book was a good read, but you will be yelling at laura to stop being blind for a few portions. Her and the guy she ends up with are adorable, and I wish we got a bit more with them together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5