Customer Reviews for

Hornet's Nest (Andy Brazil Series #1)

Average Rating 3
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Cornwell shows her sense of humour!

The trick with this and 'Southern Cross', is not to expect a 'Kay Scarpetta' type novel. It is a very funny and also touching story with three superb main characters. It also helps to know that Cornwell gives us a huge insite to her time in collage, (Verginia's characte...
The trick with this and 'Southern Cross', is not to expect a 'Kay Scarpetta' type novel. It is a very funny and also touching story with three superb main characters. It also helps to know that Cornwell gives us a huge insite to her time in collage, (Verginia's character)and her time as a crime reporter in Brazil's character. I found the plot both entertianing and believable and as usual I couldn't put it down till I had finnished it. I can't wait for the third book in the series, 'Isle of Dogs', which I believe is due out in July, 2001.

posted by Anonymous on February 17, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

BORING, BORING, BORING

I usually enjoy her books, can't put them down when I start reading. This is the worse book I have ever read - so boring, couldn't even finish it.

posted by Anonymous on April 12, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2001

    Cornwell shows her sense of humour!

    The trick with this and 'Southern Cross', is not to expect a 'Kay Scarpetta' type novel. It is a very funny and also touching story with three superb main characters. It also helps to know that Cornwell gives us a huge insite to her time in collage, (Verginia's character)and her time as a crime reporter in Brazil's character. I found the plot both entertianing and believable and as usual I couldn't put it down till I had finnished it. I can't wait for the third book in the series, 'Isle of Dogs', which I believe is due out in July, 2001.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2005

    BORING, BORING, BORING

    I usually enjoy her books, can't put them down when I start reading. This is the worse book I have ever read - so boring, couldn't even finish it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2005

    This is no Kay Scarpetta series

    As a huge fan of the Kay Scarpetta series, I have to say I am hugely disappointed by the Judy Hammer/Virginia West/Andy Brazil series. I find myself skimming & skipping through pages of meaningless descriptions and boring dialogue. I read this book and am now trying to get through Southern Cross, but find the series uninteresting and completely anti-climactic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2004

    You've got to be kidding!

    This book is terrible, what was she thinking when she wrote this? I put it down after the first 100 pages and never will think about it again. I loved her Scarpetta novel's, hated this one. I will not read this series' two follow ups either. What is going on????

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2014

    When you read Cornwell's Scarpetta novels you think you are real

    When you read Cornwell's Scarpetta novels you think you are really where the action is. In the first Andy Brazil novel, I kept asking my self: "Is this a Cornwell novel?" The character development of the main character, Andy Brazil, is extremely weak. The plot is almost non-existent. I think she stick with Scarpetta novels and "take Andy Brazil off of the shelf."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Hornet's Nest is action packed. This novel is a very easy read,

    Hornet's Nest is action packed.
    This novel is a very easy read, as the energy and excitement never subside.
    Much like Patricia's "Scarpetta" series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Good start to a new Police Mystery Series

    Good introduction to journalist Andy Brazil, & policewomen West & Hammer. This 1st novel in the Series is set in Charlette, NC. I recommend this book & author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Annonymous

    Loved it! Loved all the characters and a nice break from Kay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2006

    Stick to Dr. Kay

    I usually LOVE Patricia Cornwell's book. BUT....At Risk was basically dumb! She needs to stick to Dr. Kay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2005

    Best Book I ever hated

    I bought several Cornwell books at a used bookstore. I have been reading the Scarpetta books in order. I thought this was one of them. Overall I hated this book, but I couldn't put it down. She is still a great writer and I can't blame her for expirementing a bit, there were good moments, but overall BLAH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2004

    Well-written

    This was my first police procedural, and while I knew I'd miss Scarpetta, I had to read it being such a huge Cornwell fan. It was a lot better than I'd expected. I loved the interaction between the characters (and that subtle little Scarpetta aside wasn't lost on me either!) and the crimes were masterful and well-plotted. I loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2001

    Book great/delivery poor

    The book, though great Cornwell as always, was very hard to listen to, due to the 'choppiness' of Sarandon's performance. He needs to learn to speak sentences fully. His character vocalizations were good, but his delivery was just too erratic to enjoy. Please have someone else re-record this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2000

    Read Her Others Instead

    Having read many of her other books, I recommend that you read Scarpetta books instead. this is a slow, uninteresting book with almost no ending.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2000

    Interesting change of pace for Cornwell

    After completing Southern Cross a few weeks ago, I wanted to read the first in that series. I found it both interesting and a welcome change to the forensic setting of most of the Cornwell books. These appear to be real people , with flaws and mistakes. Would recommend this book to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2000

    It was okay

    This was the first book I read of hers. This book lack substance. It showed the real people that had flaws and the daily life they live and the danger they faced. I would recommend to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2000

    Waste of time.

    This is the first book that I have read last by Patricia Cornwell and it will be the last. The story is disjointed. It lacks realism and sexual content is added purely for sensationalism. It in no way depicts the actual life of a reserve police office, nor any command officer that I ever met. Fiction should follow some semblance of realism, unless it is stated as Science Fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2