Customer Reviews for

The Horse and His Boy (Chronicles of Narnia Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 304 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(172)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A CLASSIC! I LOVED IT!

Although the beginning is somewhat boring, I loved this story. C.S. Lewis does an excellent job combining wit, humor, and adventure in one book! I loved the Magician's Nephew and The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe but, The Horse and His Boy is probably my favorite! I...
Although the beginning is somewhat boring, I loved this story. C.S. Lewis does an excellent job combining wit, humor, and adventure in one book! I loved the Magician's Nephew and The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe but, The Horse and His Boy is probably my favorite! I loved the ending and how Lewis creates a futuristic image at the end of each book in the Chronicles of Narnia! Talking Beasts and Animals, Kings and Queens, and smart-alecky wit and humor make The Horse and His Boy and the Chronicles of Narnia a classic hit!

posted by Anonymous on July 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Horse and His Boy? Pass.

I read the Magician's Boy and The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, they were good. But this one? Boring. The book goes way to slowly, and Lucy, Edmund, Susan, and Peter are hardly in it. I wish the series forcused just on the four Penseive kids, instead of focusin...
I read the Magician's Boy and The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, they were good. But this one? Boring. The book goes way to slowly, and Lucy, Edmund, Susan, and Peter are hardly in it. I wish the series forcused just on the four Penseive kids, instead of focusing on Narnia, and the people who happen to be in it at the time. I think the series would have been better if they stayed kids throughout the series, instead of being adults in some and kids in the other.

posted by Gu14 on January 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 305 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    A CLASSIC! I LOVED IT!

    Although the beginning is somewhat boring, I loved this story. C.S. Lewis does an excellent job combining wit, humor, and adventure in one book! I loved the Magician's Nephew and The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe but, The Horse and His Boy is probably my favorite! I loved the ending and how Lewis creates a futuristic image at the end of each book in the Chronicles of Narnia! Talking Beasts and Animals, Kings and Queens, and smart-alecky wit and humor make The Horse and His Boy and the Chronicles of Narnia a classic hit!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    amazing

    i know its not much but i truly recomend this book.it is one of my favorites.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    I WOULD recommend this book because it nice . It is

    I WOULD recommend this book because it nice . It is exicitihg when they get to the tombs Shasta rides on a horse he has an adventure and he meets Arvais. By Mia

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2007

    Katelyn's opinion

    The Horse and His Boy is one of the most well-written books I have ever read! It is funny, serious, and always keeps you on end! The beginning is about how a boy is growing up as a slave, but he feels as if there is something more to his life. Throughout the book, the boy goes on a journey north to see who he really is. The way C.S. Lewis portrays his companions and describes the happenings as the boy goes along is unbelievable. The descriptions of how he feels when he rides a horse for the first time are very accurate to reality. Phrases like 'the wind in his hair' and 'his sore legs from the saddle' can help any reader to picture the story in their own imagination. Although very interesting and exciting, this book was only slightly boring on a few pages. There is a saying that goes, 'less talk more action'. I believe that quote could be applied here. He doesn't need to explain all the things happening as 'they rode along in the night, silently'. We as young readers, enjoy movement and we like to be kept in suspense. He could elaborate a little less and 'speed it up to the part about the battle'. I would reccomend this book to anyone the age of nine years or older because I enjoyed it and all of C.S. Lewis's books excellent for all ages too.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2008

    by far my favorite!

    like most other children, i was raised on the chronicles of narnia. over the years i've slowly distanced myself from them in place of the typical teenage fantasy smut and shallow sci-fi adventures, but with the release of prince caspian just a few weeks ago i brought myself back into the world of narnia. the horse and his boy is, by far, my absolute favorite--but make sure to read these books in the TRUE sequence! (the lion, the witch, and the wardrobe prince caspian the voyage of the dawn treader the silver chair the horse and his boy the magician's nephew the last battle) -- cs lewis wrote them in that order, so read them that way. (: the movies are following the right path, so follow that. good luck, and you'll LOVE them! it takes about one day to read each, if you go slowly.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    a reviewer

    This story is about a boy called Shasta running away from a fisherman who owns him to find his real family on a horse called Bree.But guess what adventures he awaits when he finds a companion who is also running away.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    a kid from room 206

    I¿ll give this book a four because it was a little slow at first, no action. Then the book would become faster but slow down at chapter seven. Chapter ten is when the book would speed up again. Other than that, it was a very interesting book. I would strongly suggest this book to sixth graders, maybe fifth graders but if you want to find the meaning or the message in the book, you will really have to think outside the box. If you¿re into a little mystery every now and then, then you should read this book. I am not into a mystery but I¿m into a surprise ending. If you¿re into something other than action, mystery, or science fiction, than don¿t read this book. Other than that, it was a very good book to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book

    My daughter read it and really enjoyed the characters and story!She is now reading Smitty's Cave Adventures and recommends it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Horse and His Boy? Pass.

    I read the Magician's Boy and The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, they were good. But this one? Boring. The book goes way to slowly, and Lucy, Edmund, Susan, and Peter are hardly in it. I wish the series forcused just on the four Penseive kids, instead of focusing on Narnia, and the people who happen to be in it at the time. I think the series would have been better if they stayed kids throughout the series, instead of being adults in some and kids in the other.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2006

    BLAH, BLAH, BLAH

    The Horse and his Boy was OK, but not a real attention-grabbing,epic story! Sure, some parts were great but others were ho-hum. The middle got very confusing when Shasha met up with Queen Susan and made a plan with Mr. Tumnus. If you read The Lion,the Witch and the wardrobe, you would probably like this book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2006

    Awesome storyline

    This book had a very good story and was therefore exciting. It kept me thinking what is happening. Even though the book was a little confusing it still made me want the book to keep on going.My favorite character is Peter even though he hardly appears in this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2006

    great book for action lovers

    It has lots of action,and a suprise around every bend. It has very little down time. the big battle at the end has nonstop action. It is every thing you would want in an action and more, with great back ground. It is geaat page tunner with a great twist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2006

    The Chronicles of Narnia, The Horse and His Boy

    This book is full of adventure. Al talking horse named Bree and a boy, Sshasta are on a journey to the magical land of Narnia. They meet a princess running away from her arranged marriage and even seeing the Kings and Queens of Narnia. The orincess was trying to find somewhere far from home so she went along with them. They all get separated trying to find each other in the crazy tow of Tashban. Shasta even gets mistaken for a prince, and Aravis (the princess) finds out he father in the same twon looking for her. Thay face much danger, worry and even was as tehy grow closer to their destination of freedom. This book is full of adventure like I said. It had a good story to it. C. S. Lewis explained everthing so well it put pitures in my mind. So I find it very descriptive, It's one of those books you can't stop reading, you can't just put it down. You want to know what happens, it keeps you wondering. I also thought that the characters here really good and funny. Overall I reaaly liked the book and I'm not much of a reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2006

    AWESOME BOOK!!!!!!!!!!

    I've read all the Narnian series, they're great, but this one is definitely my favorite one of the series. I love the plot and characters. I highly recommend this book. The Chronicles of Narnia are cool because they represent the story of God's love and His Plan, and Jesus' sacrifice(Lion, Witch, and Wardrobe, because of Aslan).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2006

    THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    my favorite book of all the narnia series. an outstanding book. this is a book that i would reccomend to anybody that loves fantasy. full of a lot of magic and talking animals.A story of a boy who is raised as a slave who runs away from home finding secrets of his past. read this if you like the Author C.S. lewis or the chronicles of narnia books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2006

    Another Hit by C.S. Lewis

    The Cronicles of Narnia, The Horse and His Boy by C.S. Lewis is a book full of adventure. A talking horse name Bree and a boy named Shasta are on a journey to the magical land of Narnia. The meet a Princess running away from her arranged marriage and even seeing the kings and queens of Narnia. The princess was trying to find somewhere far from home so she went along with Shasta and Bree. They all lose each other in the crazy town of Tashban. Shasta even gets mistaken for a prince and Aravis (the princess) finds out her father is in the same town looking for her. They face much danger, worry and even war as thy grow closer to their destination of freedom. This book is full of adventure, like I said. It had a good story to it. C.S. Lewis explained everything so well it puts pictures in your mind (well at least mine.) So I would say it was very descriptive. Its one of those books you just can't stop reading. You want to know what happens, it keeps you wondering. I also thought that the characters were really good and funny. Overall I really liked the book and I'm not much of a reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2005

    I loved this book!

    This is one of my favorites. I love the style that it was written in. Near the beginning it might go a little slow, but after the second chapter it's full of adventure. I loved the characters and the horses and I loved how in future books the characters in this book are historical figures. Read the first two books in the series before reading this one. These books are written so smoothly it makes you want to read the 4th book in the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2001

    Another Good One

    The Horse and His Boy is great book full of excitement. It is great for all ages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2000

    The Best Book Ever Writen

    Very good one of the best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2000

    Best of Narina and my favorite of them all!

    this book was so good. i loved all the books of Narina, but this was the best! you have to read this book! it starts out really good and it ends even better! i promise that you will love it. you will fall in love with all the people and creatures just like i did when i read it. i have read it at least 6 times and everytime i find something i missed, and everytime i finish it i wish i had the time to go back and visit Narina all over again. Shasta and Araivs were made for each other. i like books where the girl can kick butt, but doesnt show off or be controling. but dont get me wrong, that is only a little peice of the book! i wish it was longer. read it and you will agree with me, this book rocks!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 305 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16