BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Horse and His Boy (Chronicles of Narnia Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 309 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(177)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A CLASSIC! I LOVED IT!

Although the beginning is somewhat boring, I loved this story. C.S. Lewis does an excellent job combining wit, humor, and adventure in one book! I loved the Magician's Nephew and The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe but, The Horse and His Boy is probably my favorite! I...
Although the beginning is somewhat boring, I loved this story. C.S. Lewis does an excellent job combining wit, humor, and adventure in one book! I loved the Magician's Nephew and The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe but, The Horse and His Boy is probably my favorite! I loved the ending and how Lewis creates a futuristic image at the end of each book in the Chronicles of Narnia! Talking Beasts and Animals, Kings and Queens, and smart-alecky wit and humor make The Horse and His Boy and the Chronicles of Narnia a classic hit!

posted by Anonymous on July 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Horse and His Boy? Pass.

I read the Magician's Boy and The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, they were good. But this one? Boring. The book goes way to slowly, and Lucy, Edmund, Susan, and Peter are hardly in it. I wish the series forcused just on the four Penseive kids, instead of focusin...
I read the Magician's Boy and The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, they were good. But this one? Boring. The book goes way to slowly, and Lucy, Edmund, Susan, and Peter are hardly in it. I wish the series forcused just on the four Penseive kids, instead of focusing on Narnia, and the people who happen to be in it at the time. I think the series would have been better if they stayed kids throughout the series, instead of being adults in some and kids in the other.

posted by Gu14 on January 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2006

    BLAH, BLAH, BLAH

    The Horse and his Boy was OK, but not a real attention-grabbing,epic story! Sure, some parts were great but others were ho-hum. The middle got very confusing when Shasha met up with Queen Susan and made a plan with Mr. Tumnus. If you read The Lion,the Witch and the wardrobe, you would probably like this book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    It Was Ok

    i doesn't have to with much of Narnia and they really mention much in the other books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Third In The Series

    In this third book of C.S. Lewis's series, The Chronicles Of Narnia, the reader learns about the backstory of Prince Caspian, who will play a large part in later books. Caspian is a fisherman's boy, raised in poverty and ignorance, maltreated and unsure of where to go in life. This all changes the night a visitor demands shelter from his father and Caspian is thrown out to provide room. He listens to the visitor's conversation and it becomes evident that he is not the fisherman's son, but an orphan the fisherman found, and further, that the fisherman plans to sell him as a slave.


    Caspian escapes, and is aided by the visitor's horse. It turns out that the horse also has a backstory as he is a talking horse who was captured as a young colt in Narnia and forced to become a war-horse by his captors. Besides providing the means for Caspian to escape, he educates him about Narnia, the power structure, and everyday affairs of the various lands they ride through.


    We meet cruel rulers trying to overtake Narnia, a brave girl who is also running away from a family that doesn't treasure her and is trying to marry her off for political gain, and a first glimpse of Aslan, the great lion of Narnia. We hear more of the kings and queens of Narnia, who up to this point the reader knows only as the children who discovered Narnia when they stumbled through the wardrobe into a miraculous land. The reader also discovers the amazing story of Caspian's true background, and the part he will play in future books in the series.


    This book is recommended for readers of all ages, and is a great book for families to read together. It is slower than some of the other books in the series, as it spends a lot of time explaining some of the history and principles that the rest of the series is built around, but stands alone well as a tale of mystery and intrigue.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2003

    The second book is better

    The Horse and His Boy was a good book, but i wouldn't call it my favorite. I read it in a day, but only because it would leave you hanging. The book is basically about a boy and a talking horse that run away from their problems only to find themselves in the middle of a battle. To me, the book was well written, but i much rather liked The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    Looking for a realaxing book to read?

    Authors Name: C.S. Lewis Title: The Horse and His Boy Genre: Fantasy Shasta is a young boy who lives with his father, in Calormen. One day he hears his father and a man talking about selling him in to slavery! He is devastated. After hearing that news Shasta decides to leave. Feeling depressed he heads to the barn and finds comfort in a talking horse, named Bree. (Whom he never knew could talk!) After that the adventures begins, He meets many interesting people and many interesting things. He makes friends with a girl who is also running away, named Aravis although her reasons for leaving are quite different from his. If you have read ¿The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe¿ you will defiantly like this book because there are even more adventures and it is a bit of a different plot. Aslan returns in this book along with, Peter, Edmund, Lucy and Susan! (Although they are not the main focus.) If you are looking for some challenging and enriching literature, The Horse and His Boy is the book for you! I challenge anyone out there to read all eight books in, ¿The Chronicles of Narnia¿ By, C.S. Lewis. You don¿t even have too read them in order since C.S. Lewis has written them so well. So, Get in your favorite chair, gather some blankets and pillows grab some popcorn and settle down with whichever book you choose to read in ¿The Chronicles of Narnia¿ and enjoy a very relaxing afternoon of fantasy! While I read the book, ¿The Horse and His Boy¿ I could make many connections to myself. Shasta and Aravis are struggling with what is going on in the `Real World,¿ and so am I. I hate hearing about biological, chemical and nuclear weapons, quite frankly it scares me and I wish we could just get rid of it all. Shasta and Aravis don¿t like what is going on around them so they decide to leave. Unlike me they leave to a fantasy world. I can¿t leave so I think I¿ll just stick and deal with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2